We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Ranked #109 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hated it!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I hated this place so much. The only reason why I gave it two stars is because it was in a great part of Venice...Santa Croce....away from the tourist. Where to start....first you have lug your luggage up about 50 dirty rugged stairs, and when you're in Italy for two weeks, that can be a lot of stairs. second we were told breakfast wasn't served in this "hotel" it was suggested we have breakfast at a restaurant down the block. To find out that they did serve breakfast EVERY morning (I guess not for us to participate). third, the floor in the livingroom had a huge hole in it, the top of the bathroom door molding was missing, and there was a gap/hole above the bathroom door. The toilet had a crack on it. I'm sure people would say that's vintage Venice, I say this is just excuses for not having to fix anything. Fourth, we had to settle our bill the night before we checked out, like we were going to run out of there without paying our bill. Fifth, the manager/front desk clerk/owner, whatever, did say two words to us since we walked in this place.

It was the worst experience i've ever had at an hotel (maybe if we were a little lighter we would have received better service). I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank My2Cents15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micuz, Owner at Residence Palazzo Odoni, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Do you know what I do hate? People who lie, hidden by a nickname!
Why didn't you complain during your stay?
First, I personally helped you with your luggage - as I ALWYAS do - on the ANCIENT stairs dated 1490. Palazzo Odoni is a small building with few rooms and apartments. You chose the apartment with the kitchen and it was clearly told you that apartments have no breakfast included. The breakfast room is tiny and it is reserved for those clients staying in the rooms, while the apartments, once again, have the kitchen facilities. If you had told me, I should have moved you to the rooms.... But no... you didn't tell me anything.
There is even a telephone in the apartment with a direct line to reach me anytime, 24 h !!!
The "huge" hole you mentioned is a little crack because it is an ORIGINAL floor "alla veneziana"; of course, you can't understand the difference...
All the other lies really bother me: I use to speaking with people and sort all the problems out.
This is the way it works, face to face. I suggest you to try. You could be surprised about the result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    95
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
217
158
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Lovely, comfortable and clean apartment with everything you would need for a short stay in Venice. The decor is beautiful - as you would expect in a Palazzo. We chose an apartment with a canal view and were very pleased with it. In the evenings the courtyard entrance was lit by candlelight - it looked beautiful. The location could not have been better - very easy to get to all parts of Venice either on foot or on the vaporetti. A quiet area at night which is a definite plus, but short walking distances from good bars and restaurants. Michele is the perfect host, and the night porter who met us when we arrived was very helpful too. Have booked my return visit already.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a great stay here. The location is very convenient - the Residence is very atmospheric and Michael who owns and runs the place very professional and welcoming. Hopefully not out last trip to Venice and hopefully we'll return to Palazzo Odoni.

Room Tip: Our rooms had a great view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in an apartment at Residence Palazzo Odoni for 2 nights at the end of a 2 week trip in Italy. The apartment was fine, it looked as pictured on the web page. The bathroom was very nice with a jacuzzi tub, of which we took advantage to ease our sore muscles from 2 weeks of walking all over Italy. Michele was very helpful and was quick to answer our questions and help with our needs. Our big disappointment, and the reason for only 3 stars, is that the web page clearly advertised views of the canal, but there was absolutely no view. When we looked out our windows, we looked across a 10 foot alley into neighboring apartments. On the plus side, it was quiet, but we booked there because of the promise of a view.

Other than that our stay was nice, plenty of room, a clean apartment, comfortable beds. It would have been a nice touch to include a couple of bottles of water in the fridge. It also would be nice to have the option to have breakfast at the adjoining hotel. I would have been fine to pay for it, but that is not an option. It smelled awfully good as we set out to find breakfast elsewhere.

If you follow directions from the train station as they are written on the web page, be aware that when you cross the first big bridge at the station, the directions tell you to go to the end of the road then turn left, the end of the road is actually the next bridge you come to. The roads are not well marked And we continued over the next 2 bridges to the end, got lost, had to double back with our big suitcases. Our 10 minute walk turned into an hour. Bless Michele for carrying our bags up the stairs to our apartment, as we were totally spent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micuz, Owner at Residence Palazzo Odoni, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
I am very sorry about your disappointment but you should have told me about it once in Venice. I have 2 kind of apartments; with or without canal view and of course they have different prices.
You booked the apartment without canal view as expressly specified in the email we exchanged.
If you had told me that you wanted the apartment with the view, I would have been more than happy to meet your wishes. It's a real pity you did not mention your disappointment during your stay. You seemed instead very happy and these 3 stars are a very bad surprise now...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The suites are beautiful and the location is fine- a short walk to the major sites but in a less frenetic neighbourhood. I am surprised that there is no in house breakfast available for the suites. We used their recommended restaurant a few doors away where the breakfast was cheap (7 euros) and with good reason. Apart from that minor irritation I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: A suite overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here in September 2013 with my fiance, his parents and his aunt. The main selling point for us was that the hotel is conveniently located to Piazzale Roma (where the airport shuttle dropped us off) so when we arrived we didn't have to take our luggage too far long the cobbled streets. We didn't want to stay in the middle of Venice anyway as we wanted to take our time walking and discovering the little laneways.

The hotel itself was really lovely. The room we had was more like an apartment with a kitchen, living area, separate bedroom and bathroom. It was very spacious and comfortable. The decor was a bit dated but that's probably what they were going for anyway. The courtyard was quite pretty but there were stairs - lucky there was someone on hand to help carry our luggage up.

The hotel staff were friendly, helped us get a second room in the hotel after we had arrived, for our aunt who decided she wanted her own room. Her room had a split level with huge living area looking onto the canal - gorgeous!

All in all we had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I am one of a group of three ladies "of a certain age" who enjoyed our stay at Residence Palazzo Odoni and were charmed by the antiquity of the residence, as well as by the hospitality offered by its owner/manager, Michele. Yes, there are stairs to negotiate but we didn't regard them as overly daunting. Michele carried our bags up to our apartment on arrival, and downstairs on departure; very helpful, indeed. We chose to stay where we could absorb the character of the real Venice and were not disappointed. Also, the location is close to transport, a wonderful bakery, a smallgoods store, and eateries abound. Michele also made us aware of the existence of a porter to transport our luggage to the Terminus which was so much less expensive than the water taxi we used on arrival. A charming sojourn in Venice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#119 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Locanda Salieri
Hotel Locanda Salieri
#179 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Palazzo Odoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Odoni

Property: Residence Palazzo Odoni
Address: Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Venice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner, Mr Michele Giangreco, welcomes you to his prestigious XV century gothic Venetian Palace belonging to his family for 5 generations.Enjoy the true atmosphere of Venice in the luxury apartments still retaining a nostalgic charm.Feel home at Residence Palazzo Odoni...The real Venice awaits youWe offer a unique experience both for those that have already visited Venice, or for those visiting for the first time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Residence Palazzo Odoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Odoni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing