We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic and personal Italian elegance right on the Grand Canal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Classic and personal Italian elegance right on the Grand Canal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

This is indeed an excellent hotel and it starts even before you arrive. If you arrive via Piazzale Roma (where bus transfers from the airports arrive), it is only a 10 minute walk on the bank of the Grand Canal to the hotel. Very convenient. The check in is great. Front desk is manned by Giovanna, a wonderful woman who is always helpful, most knowledgeable, and always ready with a smile. She has excellent English with the most charming Italian inflection! The hotel has a wonderful location. We were paying Euro 290 per night for a double (not a low rate if you ask me) but luckily for us, Giovanna upgraded up to a double room which also included a beautiful outdoor terrace with a view of the Grand Canal. The size of the terrace was 50% the size of the room! The room was spotlessly clean, elegantly decorated, but quite small compared to other hotel rooms we'd pay a similar price for in other cities, and the bathroom, although also spotless and brand new in terms of design and fixtures, was also narrow and small (i.e. only one person could be in it at a time). So, now you realize how expensive Venice is and what you have to pay! By the way, eating in Venice is likely 50% more expensive than in the rest of Italy. So, choose your restaurant's wisely and spend a little more to get something truly memorable.

The hotel is located just opposite, by a bridge, to the Vaporetto water bus service, where for Euro 6.50 per person, you can travel anywhere on the Grand Canal and beyond. It takes 40 minutes or so to San Marco on the "local" water bus with all the stops. But do it since every minute on the Grand Canal is breathtaking.

The breakfast was very nice and of good quality. Nice cold cuts, fresh croissants, choices of yougurts, hard boiled eggs, and more! They have friendly serving people there including a nice Russian lady as well who speaks great Italian also.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. A wonderful place. Even more wonderful if you can get a lower price for your room! I gave 4 stars on value given the price we paid for the rather smallish room, although with the upgrade including the terrace, we felt the price was more or less reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    285
    35
    6
    1
See reviews for
310
1,296
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

You will not be disappointed should you choose this hotel. My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights over the Easter weekend and it was everything that we had hoped for. We were booked in the Antonio Canova room, which I think is the ONLY hotel room in all of Venice with its own terrace (2nd floor). It had a great view of the canal, was lavishly decorated, and a welcome retreat after a long day schleping the streets of Venice. The staff were most accommodating and gracious. Breakfast consisted of good, strong coffee, yogurt, boiled eggs, cold meats/cheeses, cereals, fruit, croissants/breads, juices. They even made coffee for me to take up to the room before the breakfast station opened. They have a computer to use free of charge. The hotel recommended a nearby restaurant for a late evening dinner (Ostaria al Vecio Pozzo) which we visited more than once. They had great anti-pasti, pasta, pizza, and wine for a reasonable price. We visited San Marco Square (very busy), Murano Glass Factory (interesting, but not a must-see place), and toured the old Jewish Ghetto (very quiet compared to the rest of Venice). We did the water taxi ride from San Marco back to the hotel (90 Euro) but it's a great way to see the city. The gelato in Venice is OUT OF THIS WORLD. We had it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Because it was Easter weekend, Venice was extremely busy and we were sick of the tourists by day 4. It reminded us somewhat of Niagara Falls on a long weekend with a different water feature. It is, however, unlike any other city in the world. No matter how detailed your map is, you will get lost, but that's part of the fun. We had an early (6:50 am) flight out of Marco Polo Airport when we left. A word to the wise, the Number 5 bus is the most cost efficient way to get to the airport from Venice. It cost 3 Euro per person versus 120 Euro for an off-hour water taxi. We did a trial run out to the airport by bus the day before we left just to see what we would be in for. The bus station is less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel and you cross 3 small bridges (not the Scalzi bridge) on the south side of the canal. The Marco Polo Airport is a whole other story. On our trip, we hit 7 airports (including Russian airports) and the only one we had any trouble with was Marco Polo. Wrong boarding passes leaving Venice and then a 3-hour strike on our return visit which laid us over for another day. At least we got out before the Pope and 300,000 fans arrived. But don't miss the HOTEL CANAL GRANDE...definitely worth staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Antonio Canova room, has a balcony/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitby_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Arrived early on Friday and despite being early for check-in time our room was ready for us. We were offered an upgrade on our room for another 40 euros per night but declined as we were more than happy with the room allocated. Our room was not in the main part of the Hotel but this was not a problem for us. Our room and all common areas were spotlessly clean and we found the bed sheets particularly fresh and crisp. Breakfast was plentiful and staff attentative. A big thank you to all the staff who were very friendly and helpful, a real credit to the Hotel. The location of the hotel was good, not on the main touristy part, but easily accessable to the vaporetto stops. Our only minor negative would be that we heard the guests above us but we can't really blame the hotel for inconsiderate guests. Overall a great find, we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and if ever we return, would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyFamily49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

This was the best hotel we stayed in on our 3 week adventure across Italy. Upon checking in, my friend and I were asked if we'd like to upgrade to a bigger room for no charge, because apparently a 'double' room on Otel.com means a honeymoon-type suite with only a double bed. Our room wasn't in the main part of the hotel, but actually in the next building, which I was a little apprehensive about, but it turns out to be the most beautiful hotel room I've ever seen in Italy. We still had canal views if we poked our heads out the window a bit and we looked out over a nice little courtyard. The breakfast each morning was really quite good and the staff are always eager to make a specialty coffee for you, although they also provide self-serve coffee with the breakfast which was really good too. In the evenings before dinner we often drank wine on the small hotel terrace which overhangs the grand canal and would sit and watch the sunset and the passing boats. It was truly beautiful. The location was fabulous; a short walk to the train station and the main parking area of Venice (where you arrive by bus or taxi from the mainland). It's not the most touristy area of Venice, which is a bonus in my opinion, but lots of great restaurants in the area for better prices than you'll find in San Marco. The hotel offers a free boat ride to Murano if you want to go see the glass making factory, which was kind of interesting to see, but the prices are insanely ridiculous.! You can find WAY cheaper Murano blown glass anywhere in Venice. If you don't have a lot of time, I wouldn't waste it going to Murano. I would definitely stay at Hotel Canal Grande again and would recommend it to anyone. I got a superb deal on Otel.com too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeannaLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

The Hotel Canal Grande is exactly as it is described and shown on their website! Which is a good thing! We arrived late evening and were shown to our room. The rooms are spacious and our room looked out to the Grand Canal which was fantastic! The hotel is just over the bridge from the train station. The rooms are very nice. My only complaint is that for me the sheets seemed itchy, but that could just be me.

We stayed here for 3 nights; 1 evening we enjoyed wine and some salami we bought right no the deck over the canal, it was awesome! The staff is pretty helpful. We only made it down to breakfast once, but wish we had made down everyday, as it was great! Plenty of food to choose from!

I loved Venice, definitely once of my favorite places!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amandi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We booked a room at the Antiche Figure (3*), but on arrival were offered a free upgrade to their sister hotel, the Hotel Canal Grande (4*). The hotel is on a quiet square located on the Grand Canal within walking distance of the train station. This is a convenient location, close to a vaporetto station that can save an expensive water taxi rides to/from your hotel. Some rooms have a canal view, but ours fronted on a quiet square. The room was very well equipped and comfortable - and quite luxurious - especially the bathroom. The breakfasts were of very high quality, and the staff was very helpful. Wireless internet was provided free of charge. We're glad we stayed there.

Room Tip: Ask when you book if you want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We're so pleased that we moved our travel date in order to get into their Elegant Suite for a few days. Hotel Canal Grande has a great location which is closed to the water shuttle, train station and bus station. We've seen many tourists have to drag their bags for long distance in order to get to their hotel but we're lucky it only took us 10 mins pleasant walk from the bus station to the hotel. We even managed to take a day trip to Milan by taking the train just a cross the bridge from the hotel. Even though the hotel is closed to everything, it has a private location so it is not crowded or noisy around it.

The hotel is petite but nicely decorated. The Elegant Suite is spacious and well equipped. Staffs are friendly and helpful. The trip to Murano included with our room is good too. Breakfast is plenty and food is in good quality.

The only thing we would complain about is the quietness of the room. We don't mind hearing the traffic on the Grand Canal but the rooms are probably not so well sound proofed. Every morning, we could hear people upstairs walking around the room, talking or flushing the toilet. Sometimes it happened quite early in the morning so that surely affected our sleep quality. So maybe if you book a room at the top floor, it will help.

We love Venice and think April is the best time for visit. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to any friends and families who are planning to go to Venice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angieyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing