We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves Every Accolade”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #12 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Marco Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Deserves Every Accolade”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The reviews of this hotel are so outstanding that it hardly seems important to add to them, but nevertheless, I heartily endorse all the others who have been so satisfied. Ours was a family vacation, strictly for pleasure, and the Canal Grande was a pleasure indeed. We had two of the most charming rooms one could imagine; our kids and their nine year old and five month old were in a large room overlooking the canal and we were in a double overlooking a side street. The rooms are lavish, in romantic Italian style, and are perfectly maintained and spotless. Our room was very small, but the furnishings and gorgeous bathroom made up for it. The public rooms are also delightful, the breakfast was more than adequate, and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manatee609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,670
    295
    35
    6
    2
See reviews for
332
1,362
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Out of 5 hotels my husband and I stayed at during our honeymoon in Italy, this one is tied for first place!

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. They also provide a free taxi to Murano with a tour of one of the glass factories where you get a demonstration of the glass blowing process. We had a very early flight out of Venice and they had no problems calling taxi to pick us up from the port at the hotel at 4 in the morning.

The rooms are also fun and uniquely decorated, and the bathroom was nice and large. Breakfast was great as well.

My only wish is that we could have gotten a room overlooking the Grand Canal. But they were booked up! Didn't matter really though, we still get the view when you step out of the hotel and we weren't in the room *that* much of the day!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaclynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My family and I (eleven adults in total) stayed at the Hotel Canal Grande for the first leg of our Italian vacation and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. They never seemed inconvenienced or annoyed by having to work around such a large group of us and were very helpful in scheduling trips to Murano and dinner reservations. The breakfast and coffee they provide is just the right thing to start your day before walking all around the city.

The hotel is located just across the bridge from the train station, Venezia Santa Lucia, but is still only a short walk over to Piazza San Marco. The close proximity to the train station made it very easy to carry our bags and catch our train on our final day in Venice. I think our only regret is not staying in Venice another day or two, as the city feels much more laid back and relaxing than Florence and Rome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just a short walk from Piazzale Roma (car park and bus station), on the opposite side of the Canal Grande from the railway station, this hotel is in a perfect location in Venice as it looks on the Canal but is accessed through a quiet pedestrian street which is not the main tourist route.

The hotel is very nicely decorated with antique and antique-style furniture, very cosy and spacious. The room has all necessary amenities and is beautifully furnished. The bed has a very matress, the child's bed was comfortable as well.

As we arrived far before the check-in time returning from the cruise, the hotel staff was bery kind and made us very comfortable by offering us free coffee and hot chocolate. As soon as they heard that we would like to visit Murano glass factories they offered us a water taxi ride to the island and back and a free excursion to one of the oldest Murano factories for free. We were very pleasantly surpised and happy as a water taxi is quite expensive in Venice. The taxi turned up in 10 minutes and came straight to the door to the Canal.

The breakfast was very sufficient and good quality, they also gave us some recommendations about some good local food restaurants off the tourist track which turned to be perfect.

I find this hotel perfetc in evry aspect, would highly recommend and will come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissmurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Rooms were beautiful and service was excellent.

However, the separation of the rooms in a junior suite makes one feel out of place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel0diz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARCELONA.SPAIN
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Canal Grande for 2 nights and really enjoyed my stay. Hotel was very clean, updated, the room big for Italy standards and the hotel front desk and staff were very helpful. Location is ideal; right on the grand canal (with a close stop for the vaporetto) and a short walk from the Santa Lucia train station where I arrived

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOSEANTONIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had booked with the sister hotel, Hotel Antiche Figure, but we were offered an upgrade to Canal Grande on arrival. We were taken to view two rooms at Canal Grande, both had beautiful Venetian decor. The first room was in the centre on the first floor with canal views (smallish windows, but was a generous size for Venice hotels), we ended up choosing the Antonio Canova room, which was smaller but had a lovely private terrace overlooking a little square, with views of the canal. We enjoyed watching the sunset from the terrace during our stay.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. They greeted us whenever we passed reception, gave good restaurant reservations, and asked questions about our adventures each day. (The staff at Anitche Figure were equally helpful in organising our transfer and moving our luggage)

The location is easily accesible from the main station and Ferrovia vaparetto stops (these water buses make it easier not to get lost!)

Breakfast was a great selection of fruit salad, yogurt, cold meats and cheese and lots of cakes! There is filter coffee, but the staff will offer to make you a coffee or tea at no extra charge. Everything was delicious and fresh each morning.

We also took advantage of the Murano tour - reception will organise a water taxi to take you across and have a tour of a glass blowing factory, and then return you to the north side of the main island at no extra cost. The journey takes about 25 mins each way and is certainly worth it to see the amazing creations.

I struggle to think of anything negative to say, but so that the review seems balanced, I would mention that the showers are very narrow (not an issue for us), and the champagne in the minibar was a bit pricey (but the bar downstairs had other options, and the other minibar options were very reasonable!) The Canal side rooms can be a bit noisy due to the boats going by, this was not an issue for us (worth a little noise for the views!), but may be for others.

Thank you Canal Grande for an excellent start to our honeymoon, we will heartily recommend you :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krizmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,638 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel L'Orologio
#24 of 385 in Venice
689 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing