We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon Jan 2014”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent 5 days in Venice after first taking 5 days to see Florence, Italy in January 2014. As soon as we arrived relatively late in the evening we were treated as royalty. It's worth contacting the hotel beforehand with any specific info as because I had advised upon booking that this was our honeymoon, we found ourseleves greeted with a complimentary upgrade from a standard double room to a junior suite. Our suite was a few doors down from the main hotel but had a secure entrance (Reception could see the entrance on camera and buzz you into the building when you rang the bell). The main hotel reception was just a few steps away so breakfast was really easy to wander in to. The hotel does not have a restaurant and breakfasts were simple yet pleasant. However the service here is absolutely second to none and the team on reception are highly personable and the most helpful hotel staff I have ever encountered and I have stayed in plenty of 5* esclusive hotels on business before so that's saying something! If you ask on reception they will recommend good and not too pricey restaurants in the area and we would really suggest you visit these! Food in Venice is generally overpriced and low quality (my husband paid 14 Earos for a microwave lasagne that was still slightly frozen in the missle at one place), however I can honestly say that at the recommended restaurants the food was gorgeous! This hotel is very close to the train station....... close enough to be convenient but not in a dodgy area at all as it is across the canal. It is perhaps a 25min walk to St Marks but the hotels close to St Marks were all extortionaely priced and we would not have seen as much of Venic as we did had the hotel been further South! Location of this hotel is therefore GREAT!
It is the service that really makes the Hotel Canale Grande something special though, rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean (and I have OCD!) and staff are unfailingly helpful and friendly. On one evening our hot water was broken and we called reception to report it. They had it fixed immediately following breakfast the following day and we had a apology and a complimentary bottle of wine in our room when we returned at the end of our days sightseeing.
Venice is a place everyone should visit once and if we were ever to return I can guaruntee we would only ever stay at The HOtel Canale Grande!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaPugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 2,157 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend, and I found the hotel to be perfect. The staff were excellent, very attentive and determined for us to enjoy Venice. The location is on the opposite side of Venice from St Mark's Square, but I personally preferred this, as it gave you the perfect reason to explore more of Venice by foot, and within 15 minutes you were right in the heart of the tourist area (if you wanted to be).

Rooms are decorated perfectly for an authentic Venice feel, with everything you could need.

Only downside was that our room was in an adjoining building, so taking breakfast was more of a chore as you had to leave the building and enter the main one, so breakfast wasnt taken until the last day.

I will defintiely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

All the reviews are so very right. The hotel, location, rooms, breakfast, amenities are wonderful. The real stars are the staff who were so friendly, helpful and the perfect hosts from the start through to the end and throughout our stay, and nothing was too much trouble. Venice is wonderful with so much too do from the Grand Canal, Museums, Sights, Bars, Walking, plus, plus and of course Romance. We stayed for six nights and would recommend that you stay in the Hotel Canal Grande and love everything about Venice. Also buy the special vaperetto tickets for your whole stay and just hop on and off and enjoy the views and the whole experience. Would also recommend the La Zucca restaurant and the Wine bar near the Pungi Bridge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Well this hotel certainly lived up to its billing on TA not least due to the wonderful staff that work the reception desk. We visited here to celebrate our 10th wedding annivesary and got upgraded to one of the suites. The room was large enough with only the bathroom being a little on the small side. Breakfast is served each morning in the bar overlooking the canal. The usual continental fare is provided with bread rolls, eggs, pastries etc. and good coffee - no complaints here.

Location wise it is a little out of the way but I think thats why we liked it so much. We loved wandering through the streets back to the hotel after dinner and sight seeing.

I would definitely recommend the hotel. Keep up the good work!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Topper1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for one night during our trip to Venice. Located right on the Grand Canal across from the Train Station in Santa Croce. The staff was great from check in, answering questions on sites, restaurants, and provided great service during breakfast. Hotel is in a quiet area and away from the bustle in San Marcos Square.

Room was in the back area and was very spacious, clean, and provided free wifi. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SunsoutFunsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I booked this hotel by reading the positive reviews on this website. Easy access from the bus terminus or station but, in our case, romantic to arrive by water taxi on the small hotel landing stage and arrive theatrically in reception! Paid a little extra for the canal view and ended up in room 102 which is the one featured on the hotel website. Not a huge room but dominated by a wonderful canopied 4 poster bed and offering unrivaled views of the Grand Canal.....my wife was delighted! You can chose to be at the St Marks Square/Rialto end of the Grand Canal but this was away from the madding crowd and inflated prices but within walkable distance of everything if you are moderately fit. No dining room but plenty of restaurants locally and a simple but adequate breakfast offered each morning. For me the yardstick of any hotel experience is the quality of the staff and at the Hotel Grand Canal they were faultless. Nothing was too much trouble.....all manor of assistance offered including loaned wellington boots when needed due to the unusually high tides and flooding. Restaurant recommendations proved to be well founded, thank you. On site drinks in the modest bar very reasonable...two huge brandies supped on the landing stage12 euros 50c total. A little too many mentions of upgrades on here before I booked which unsettled me (we all like a bargain) but I don't believe they included the relatively few canal side rooms. If it is a special occasion, don't risk it, there is a world of difference. Last tip, walk the length of the city from the hotel past St Marks Square en route to the Arsenale, take the Vaporetto and sit at the back behind the main cabin all the way back for 7 Euros each, the length of the Grand Canal....wonderful! Romantic stay stay in a magical city only enhanced by our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Excellent staff, beautiful rooms, every aspect of this delightful hotel is top quality.

Staff are attentive but not intrusive. I made a couple of requests prior to arriving. Everything sorted without fuss and with discretion. We upgraded to the Canova room in the main building, small but beautifully furnished, great balcony with a view of the Grande Canal. Fantastic bathroom and shower. Comfy bed. Normal prestige room was really nice and would have more than suited our needs though, but took the upgrade as this was a celebratory trip. Excellent buffet breakfast, nice afternoon tea after a long day sightseeing. Top quality hotel, with top quality staff.

Special thank you to everyone for helping make this a very special and truly memorable holiday. Cannot recommend highly enough!! Will return to Venice and will return to this hotel.

Tip. Upgrade to the main building if you can, worth loads of brownie points with wife/girlfriend. Check out nearby Trattoria Pontini (see other Tripadvisor reviews) for great value, tasty food and local atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank afmorriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,876 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,602 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £112 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing