We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Service...”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked our hotel online from reviews and pictures but you can never be sure what you will actually get. We could not have been more delighted. This hotel is right on the canal and has a small deck on the water where you can sip a glass of wine and view the gondolas in the canal. It was a little difficult to find being we were on foot haven taken the bus from the airport. I would recommend that by the way as the Hotel Grande is on the northern side of Venice and not too far a walk after you get off the bus. It was wonderful to venture on the water buses down to San Marco Square and then be able to get to a more serene location for night time activities. By far the BEST thing at the Grande was the service. Everyone speaks English and makes you feel so welcomed and very special. Rooms were quintessential Italy and I loved that. Our room was in the back building so you might want to request main hotel if available although we enjoyed the quiet and privacy. It was a little small but plenty of space for what we needed. You WILL NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: They have a main building and a back building that you have to go outside to reach the main lobby. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NanaToGage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 2,157 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely Hotel ... Staff very friendly and helpful ... Room was really nice lots of space and beautifully decorated....Good Location for water bus to go site seeing and walking about....Breakfast nice ....A great place to stay if visiting Venice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debs76Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We just arrived back from 3 nights at the Hotel Canal Grande. Good location, a good 25 min walk to Rialto Bridge & San Marco Square, but that is fine as you need the adventure of roaming the streets and canals. Overall I loved this hotel it was just right, not too big and you were made to feel very welcome and special.

It is only 10 min walk from Bus Station at Piazza Romanle, which is ideal as we got bus from Marco Polo airport. We were greeted by the lovely Juliavanni, she was very welcoming and made us feel special, and being our 10th wedding anniversary she upgraded us to the top attic room (Casanova), it was small but so quaint and lovely, we had our little dorma window looking right over the Grande Canal and it was lovely.

The hotel staff were always friendly and very helpful, every time you went out the hotel they greeted you and offered help with where you were going. Had some lovely restaurant referrals off them as well. The hotel has direct frontage onto the Canal but it is not real hustle/bustle as it is just off a side street, which I liked. You can even have your morning coffee right on the small veranda and just watch all the boats go by which is lovely.

We were offered welcome drink which we had on our first night on our way out, lovely glass of prosecco, and once again made to feel special. The breakfast was fine, you don't want too much if you plan to take advantage of the lovely food on offer in Venice, so the pastries, coffee, croissants, cold meats, cereals, yogurts is just right, of course I wouldn't deny some free scrambled eggs would've gone a treat but you have to pay extra for hot breakfasts. They even let you have free Tea in the afternoons, nice touch when you come back from long day out.

Overall would definitely recommended this hotel and would return, it is good value and the staff make it and should be very proud, I would be if I owned it. Well done Hotel Canal Grande x

Room Tip: Stay in main building, feels better and of course always try to get view on Grande Canal otherwise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilChambers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel during honeymoon. Sorry for late review..several yrs ago..the view was amazing overlooking the canal. Watching the canal rise was a little scary as they had just had flooding but that was part of the adventure. What a beautiful and classy place! The room was a little small but perfect for the occasion. The breakfast was just ok but the dining area was nicely appointed. The bathroom shower was luxurius along with the amenities. Even though it has been several years...we still have the lotions and slippers as souvenirs of our stay. It is a little pricey...but we saved for it. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose room with view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel in any way. Staff were polite, professional and very friendly. Location was excellent. Hotel was quality. Breakfast was efficient and of excellent quality. Would definitely return. Loved it. A very special birthday "50th" treat. Was not disappointed in any way. On leaving when asked if they could improve in any way we replied "perfecto"!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently stayed for a long week-end in Venice. The outstanding memory of our visit was the hotel staff who could not do enough for us without being in any way imposing. They arranged dinner reservations explained the transport system and where to go, were delightful and attentive at all times even when their patience was tried to breaking point with a laptop which would not communicate with their printer. The location is superb only minutes walk from the bus and rail stations, no lugging your case half way round Venice. We arrived by shared water taxi from the airport to the front door. Not the cheapest option but definately worth it on a short visit to get the Venetian atmosphere. The room, in the hotel annex was very well appointed and wonderfully quiet. It was hoever the customer service which singled this hotel out we spoke to 5 or 6 different staff and each one was as delightful and helpful as their collegues. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pluscarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed here in February 2014 with my husband, mother and 15yr old daughter. I asked for adjoining rooms which they gave us- along with an upgrade to a junior suite. The hotel staff were so helpful- we drank hot chocolate with complimentary snacks on the terrace on the Grand Canal in the evening- it was lovely. Everything was lovely. Thanks to everyone at Hotel Canal Grande and thanks to trip advisor users for the referral.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,876 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,603 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £113 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing