We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem!”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

You must stay here! We stayed here for only 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer! Every single member of the staff was beyond amazing - making sure that you were satisfied in every way possible. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast consisting of pastries, toast, fruits and cold cuts, as well as from 3:30-5:30pm, they also offer complimentary tea. On our first full day in Venice we returned to the hotel late and the staff went out of their way to make sure we could have the tea as well - great service! In the mornings we recommend going on the patio/deck which is on the canal, with your coffee and enjoying the view - definitely something you cannot do if you stay in Mestre. While in the city we learned that many tourists are staying outside of the city to cut costs. If there is only one place to spend money on it is at this hotel!

Room Tip: The room with the terrace is an excellent choice for bringing your complimentary tea up from 3:30pm...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airfehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,073)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Canal Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Yes, fabulous, essentially, just like everyone else says! One small gripe however! Why only one room door 'key' card? And when we asked for a second card the response was not molto gentile! A bit disappointing, a bit. 2 cards per room would be more sensible and make things more convenient for everyone. Apart from that, well, I'm sure you've read the other essays posted here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrum_jetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked our hotel online from reviews and pictures but you can never be sure what you will actually get. We could not have been more delighted. This hotel is right on the canal and has a small deck on the water where you can sip a glass of wine and view the gondolas in the canal. It was a little difficult to find being we were on foot haven taken the bus from the airport. I would recommend that by the way as the Hotel Grande is on the northern side of Venice and not too far a walk after you get off the bus. It was wonderful to venture on the water buses down to San Marco Square and then be able to get to a more serene location for night time activities. By far the BEST thing at the Grande was the service. Everyone speaks English and makes you feel so welcomed and very special. Rooms were quintessential Italy and I loved that. Our room was in the back building so you might want to request main hotel if available although we enjoyed the quiet and privacy. It was a little small but plenty of space for what we needed. You WILL NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: They have a main building and a back building that you have to go outside to reach the main lobby. N...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NanaToGage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely Hotel ... Staff very friendly and helpful ... Room was really nice lots of space and beautifully decorated....Good Location for water bus to go site seeing and walking about....Breakfast nice ....A great place to stay if visiting Venice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debs76Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We just arrived back from 3 nights at the Hotel Canal Grande. Good location, a good 25 min walk to Rialto Bridge & San Marco Square, but that is fine as you need the adventure of roaming the streets and canals. Overall I loved this hotel it was just right, not too big and you were made to feel very welcome and special.

It is only 10 min walk from Bus Station at Piazza Romanle, which is ideal as we got bus from Marco Polo airport. We were greeted by the lovely Juliavanni, she was very welcoming and made us feel special, and being our 10th wedding anniversary she upgraded us to the top attic room (Casanova), it was small but so quaint and lovely, we had our little dorma window looking right over the Grande Canal and it was lovely.

The hotel staff were always friendly and very helpful, every time you went out the hotel they greeted you and offered help with where you were going. Had some lovely restaurant referrals off them as well. The hotel has direct frontage onto the Canal but it is not real hustle/bustle as it is just off a side street, which I liked. You can even have your morning coffee right on the small veranda and just watch all the boats go by which is lovely.

We were offered welcome drink which we had on our first night on our way out, lovely glass of prosecco, and once again made to feel special. The breakfast was fine, you don't want too much if you plan to take advantage of the lovely food on offer in Venice, so the pastries, coffee, croissants, cold meats, cereals, yogurts is just right, of course I wouldn't deny some free scrambled eggs would've gone a treat but you have to pay extra for hot breakfasts. They even let you have free Tea in the afternoons, nice touch when you come back from long day out.

Overall would definitely recommended this hotel and would return, it is good value and the staff make it and should be very proud, I would be if I owned it. Well done Hotel Canal Grande x

Room Tip: Stay in main building, feels better and of course always try to get view on Grande Canal otherwise y...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilChambers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel during honeymoon. Sorry for late review..several yrs ago..the view was amazing overlooking the canal. Watching the canal rise was a little scary as they had just had flooding but that was part of the adventure. What a beautiful and classy place! The room was a little small but perfect for the occasion. The breakfast was just ok but the dining area was nicely appointed. The bathroom shower was luxurius along with the amenities. Even though it has been several years...we still have the lotions and slippers as souvenirs of our stay. It is a little pricey...but we saved for it. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose room with view of the canal.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel in any way. Staff were polite, professional and very friendly. Location was excellent. Hotel was quality. Breakfast was efficient and of excellent quality. Would definitely return. Loved it. A very special birthday "50th" treat. Was not disappointed in any way. On leaving when asked if they could improve in any way we replied "perfecto"!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
1,927 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,737 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 384 in Venice
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £131 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing