We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #10 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Hotel Canal Grande and it is truly lovely. We had a ground floor room that also had facilities in the en-suite that allowed for disabled access. The decor is stunning, and we had a large super king sized bed which was very comfortable. The breakfast selection was lovely: very fresh and plentiful with a very wide choice of cakes, breads, cereals, fruits, yogurts,cold meats and cheeses, even salads, pickles and olives. It was also possible to pay for an omelette if you wished.
The staff are so friendly and kind, nothing is too much trouble for them. When we had a query with our room they came to help immediately. When we asked if they could take a photo of us on the waterfront balcony it turned into a mini photo-shoot to make sure we got a really lovely photo.
Finding the hotel was a little tricky. From the bus terminal Piazzale Roma look for the trees, and walk through them and across the little stone bridge, then turn left along the canal side, following the path round and all the way along to the next large stone bridge (the Scalzi bridge) but don't cross it. Burger King and the Mephisto shoe shop are the shops to your right, and there's a path between them that you need to walk along. Then take the next left, follow it over another bridge, past a church until the path goes under a short covered walkway. You are now in the square where you will see the hotel bordering the canal.
If all else fails and you're completely lost, go back to the bus terminal, cross over the new glass & metal bridge (lots of steps), walk straight ahead, past the railway station which is on your left. Walk to the first bridge (Scalzi bridge), cross over it to the Mephisto shoe shop, straight ahead up the side of the shoe shop, then first left and keep walking over a little bridge, past the church to the covered walkway which is the square where the hotel is.
Don't bother buying a map of Venice: reception provided us with the most comprehensive map as soon as we arrived.
This really was the loveliest hotel, and in a great part of town. The shops and restaurants were plentiful and cheaper than those around St Mark's Square. Easy to get around, either by foot or by Vaporetto or water taxi. We would definitely recommend this hotel, and we look forward to going there again.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view, but it really didn't matter. I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel has to be the place to stay whilst in Venice. On arrival at the front desk the staff were friendly and welcoming, everything had a personal touch... which is refreshing in the corporate domineering world that we live in today.

The rooms were spotless and definitely grand. On our first evening when we arrived back from our evening out, we were welcomed back with opened doors, greeted by staff who were interested in our evening.

There is nothing I could mark this hotel down on and I would recommend to anyone going to Venice. The hotel was superb, the rooms were superb, the staff superb and the breakfasts in the morning... superb too. Fantastic!!! We spent a long time booking our trip to Venice and we definitely hit the jackpot with this hotel. I think the reviews speak for themselves.

Room Tip: We had the canal grande room which had a private terrace.. great for afternoon wine and olives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LukeA_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, our first time in Venice, and we were really impressed!

The hotel is situated right on the Grand Canal but in one of the quieter spots so there certainly isn't a noise issue to worry about. It's also extremely easy to find; we got the Aerobus from Marco Polo Airport to the Piazzale Roma, which is right on the Western edge of Venice, and the hotel is literally no more than 5 minutes walk away (though be prepared to haul your luggage over a bridge to get to it).

The rooms are very decorative and evoke a traditional, more regal period of history with padded wallpaper and ornate furniture. We didn't have any sort of view from our room as we were inwards facing, but overall the room was comfortable for the short amount of time we spent in it. The only very slight issue was a lack of storage space; just one wardrobe and a desk drawer.

In other aspects; the staff were polite and helpful at all times, the breakfast provided a good range of options from fresh fruit to bacon & eggs, and the hotel overall was very clean and tidy. I would also recommend the hotel's terrace bar; while the prices may not be particularly cheap, the views are great and it's extremely relaxing to sit up there and watch the sun come down over the horizon.

Highly recommended, and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Inside facing rooms will be quieter than those facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Words can't describe this hotel. It's right on the Grand Canal by the train station. Vaporetto stop nearby. The room was stunning and well decorated. The tv is in the mirror. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very accommodating. They recommended a great local restaurant for us. I felt like royalty staying there. Each room is named and there is a picture of that person in your room. Definitely worth it.....just for the views.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for evening piece and quiet while still being on the Grand Canal. The hotel staff is friendly, polite, and helpful. Although Venice looks imposing on a map you can walk just about anywhere in 30 minutes. It is easily accessed by vaporetto from the Rive de Basio stop if you have heavy baggage and do not want to walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akaTeddyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Beautiful hotel , stunning room , wonderful Grand Canal view , staff polite and helpful . Couldn't ask for a better Hotel. Venice speaks for itself , this hotel is in a quiet area but just a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Venice .

Room Tip: Chosen for us by Planet Rail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a room for three, and it was gorgeous.

The bathroom was huge with a tub/shower combo and two sinks.

It was so convenient to have free WiFi, and the breakfast was wonderful (nice selection of breads, pastries, fruit, meat, cheese.)

The front desk concierge recommended a great restaurant right around the corner called Antica Bistecca and called to make a reservation for us. It was fantastic!

The hotel is really close to the train station (Directions: as you leave the train station, make a left and go over the large white bridge. Stay left but continue walking straight down the little alleyway of shops. Before you hit the end of the alleyway, make a left. You'll see a mask shop and a leather bag shop. Go over the little bridge. You'll see a small white church. Go left around the church and you'll be under a little patio that spits out onto a plaza. Walk toward the Grande Canal and the hotel is on the right.)

It takes about 30-40 minutes to walk to St. Mark's, and it's really cool to wander through Venice. There are directions to the major landmarks (like the train station) painted high on the sides of buildings, so it's hard to get lost. The water taxi is a good option too. There is a place to buy tickets right outside of the train station (be sure to watch the direction of the water taxi so that you don't get on one going the long way to St. Mark's.)

We loved everything about Hotel Canal Grande and would highly recommend it for singles, couples and families of three.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank PHXtoCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,837 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,441 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,590 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £122 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing