We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went back for the third time”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Went back for the third time”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went back for the third time in April and will go again.

We were given a beautiful room on the ground floor. Everything was perfect, as on our previous visits. Fantastic location, great staff, lovely breakfast.

That says it all. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazzjazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,692
    297
    36
    6
    1
See reviews for
343
1,372
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay to celebrate our anniversary. We could not have asked for more. Perfect quiet location. Clean, beautifully decorated room. Wonderful shower. Comfy bed! Most of all though, the staff. Nothing was too much trouble - breakfast delicious, helpful advice and directions, excellent recommendations for dinner spots. Thank you!

Room Tip: We had the small simple "Mercato Antico" room on the ground floor. No views but it was mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DLSSCLARKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Courteous. Speak English as well as Italian (obviously). Easy walk to train and bus station. Central location to most sites. Will arrange transport as you need. Mini bar in room. Yes you can hear canal but not bad. Great at recommending places to eat, things to see, directions. Nice simple breakfast. Smelled good! Bed was decently comfy but not super soft. Lovely view from room of canal. (stayed in one of the larger suites)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Canal Grande for three nights in May. The hotel overlooks the Grand Canal and is really close to the train and bus station by foot. There are two main boat (water bus) terminals within 60m and 5mins. We had a beautiful two level suite next to the hotel and everything is classical Venetian in decor. The staff were really helpful and the breakfast was traditional Italian. Very clean, excellently furnished and would recommend as an excellent Venice hotel.

Room Tip: Try the two level suite with the roof top terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just landed back in the states from amazing trip to Italy but by far of the many hotels we stayed in Hotel Canal Grande was above and beyond was the best!! Rooms we beautiful bathroom was outstanding and most of all the ENTIRE hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating. They were always happy and recommended some great places to eat. I cannot wait to back and will for sure be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

First of all, you got to love Venice, and everything to do with it. I wanted a nice stay when we went to. Venice, and booked the Hotel Grande Canal three months in advance. We wanted a nice location and a nice view of the Canal, and was willing to pay a bit extra for that. When we checked in, they gave me ( I feel), the best room in the hotel, though I didn't see any others to compare too. We were on the top floor, with two windows that opened wide with full view of the Grande Canal, right in front of us, and as a bonus, on the other two windows in our room, opened to a small Piazza on the side of the building. Simply wonderful. I was nice watching the boats and taxis passing immediately in front of our room. At night we closed window and they were a nice insulated glass, not hearing any noise from the canal.
Location? Almost in view of the train station, so, it is on the top side of the canal, and a bit away from all the chaos near the Rialto and San Marco Piazza. Was this a problem with us? Absolutely not, in fact, with the train station so close, 4min. walk, we were able to hop a water bus, which we bought a 2 day pass to go anywhere, including the islands, or simply walk. Rialto was about a 20 min. walk.
Our room came with a great breakfast, with several juices, breads, pastries, meats and cheeses, yogurts, cold cereals.
The room was clean, in fact, very clean, including the bathroom, which gave me one of the best showers on my entire trip.
I think they thought of everything to give us a great stay: friendly employees, very comfortable beds, even stock the bathrooms with toothbrush and tooth paste.
I paid about 300 euro a night, but is got exactly what they said I would get. View, comfort, and great location.
If you are considering this hotel, and don't mind paying a 4 star price, go for it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Joekenny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Average priced hotel with good service for the couple nights we were there. Overlooks one of the many many Venice canals, so pretty good if you could ask for one of those canal-facing rooms in advance. For the price, this was quite decent. Would visit again.

Room Tip: ask for canal-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZackE18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AleForna, Direttore at Hotel Canal Grande, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Mr. Zack,
are you sure you are writing a review to the right hotel ???

Have you been to Hotel Canal Grande or Hotel Canal .....???

Our hotel overlooks the Grand Canal which is the main and nicest canal in Venice and it is not one of the many canals in the city ........

Was it Canal Regio the place where you have been ????

We please you to let us know asap if you wrote the review to the right hotel.

Always at your disposal,
best regards,
Thank you,
Alessandro Fornasier
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,909 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,680 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel L'Orologio
#21 of 385 in Venice
716 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing