We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding hotel plus great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“outstanding hotel plus great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

spent three nights during May 2014. Excellent location on the grand canal and close to the train station. Convenient to all traditional sites within Venice. Staff was very attentive, friendly, and helpful. Hard to believe that all interactions with staff in a hotel are positive, but that is the case here.
Loved sitting on the deck overlooking the canal in the evening! Breakfast was good and catered to many different tastes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,561
    282
    35
    6
    1
See reviews for
299
1,282
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a great time in Venice thanks to the staff at this hotel. We had a fantastic room with a four poster bed which was beautifully and luxuriously decorated. The staff were friendly and helpful and made some very good restaurant recommendations. The one night we forgot to get a restaurant recommendation we certainly noticed the difference! The location was great and within easy access of the water bus service. Breakfast was good and early evening drinks overlooking the Canal Grande were wonderful. Thank you Hotel Canal Grande for a wonderful first trip to Venice we hope to return!

Room Tip: For a special occasion I recommend the Antonio Vivaldi Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windsurferdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went back for the third time in April and will go again.

We were given a beautiful room on the ground floor. Everything was perfect, as on our previous visits. Fantastic location, great staff, lovely breakfast.

That says it all. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazzjazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay to celebrate our anniversary. We could not have asked for more. Perfect quiet location. Clean, beautifully decorated room. Wonderful shower. Comfy bed! Most of all though, the staff. Nothing was too much trouble - breakfast delicious, helpful advice and directions, excellent recommendations for dinner spots. Thank you!

Room Tip: We had the small simple "Mercato Antico" room on the ground floor. No views but it was mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DLSSCLARKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Courteous. Speak English as well as Italian (obviously). Easy walk to train and bus station. Central location to most sites. Will arrange transport as you need. Mini bar in room. Yes you can hear canal but not bad. Great at recommending places to eat, things to see, directions. Nice simple breakfast. Smelled good! Bed was decently comfy but not super soft. Lovely view from room of canal. (stayed in one of the larger suites)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rockgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Canal Grande for three nights in May. The hotel overlooks the Grand Canal and is really close to the train and bus station by foot. There are two main boat (water bus) terminals within 60m and 5mins. We had a beautiful two level suite next to the hotel and everything is classical Venetian in decor. The staff were really helpful and the breakfast was traditional Italian. Very clean, excellently furnished and would recommend as an excellent Venice hotel.

Room Tip: Try the two level suite with the roof top terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just landed back in the states from amazing trip to Italy but by far of the many hotels we stayed in Hotel Canal Grande was above and beyond was the best!! Rooms we beautiful bathroom was outstanding and most of all the ENTIRE hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating. They were always happy and recommended some great places to eat. I cannot wait to back and will for sure be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing