We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Romantic and Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have been to Venice before and have traveled extensively in Italy. This hotel is outstanding. My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of June/beginning of July. It was a late honeymoon. This hotel was perfect! We had a beautiful room overlooking the canal. The staff was friendly and helped us with everything from directions to train tickets. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed it every morning on a balcony over the grand canal. I miss it already! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Dogaressa Suite is perfect for a honeymoon! Romantic and it is a corner room with two sides fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missH2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,689
    297
    36
    6
    1
See reviews for
341
1,371
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Some of the other reviews mentioned dated rooms, but we got a brand new room (located in the building a bit further back from the canal) with very fine furnishings, exceptional decor, and very clean. Used a touch-card entry system to get in building and into room. The area in and around the hotel felt very safe at all times. The room was gorgeous, even a big indulgent, perfect for a romantic anniversary trip. Complimentary breakfast included a reasonable assortment. You could eat out on the deck right over the canal (but watch out for scavenging birds!) or inside in a very nice dining area. The staff was very helpful -- in fact, I've never had such an extremely informative receptionist who gave exactly the detail we wanted on arrival to make our trip successful.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Boutique hotel. Staff and service were excellent. Spotless lobby and rooms. Rooms like many in Europe a little small. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit, assorted meat and cheeses, hard boiled eggs, fresh vegetables and assorted coffees and teas. Would recommend this hotel. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywootten100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very pleasant. Room overlooking canal. Staff very nice and communicative. Even helped with a random request for scissors and tape. Yes, very random.

Staff more than willing to offer recommendations on places to eat or places to visit.

Also, the main picture is outdated as they have added a dock and patio in front of the hotel. Technically one could arrive directly by private boat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Gaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I realize this is Venice and all the buildings are very old...that is a large part of Venice's charm. That being said, the rooms/interior of the hotel could have used quite a bit of updating and cleaning. The staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was bare bones, mostly just pastries. The location is not central, you can take a ferry bus nearby to Rialto or San Marcos but that that takes quite a long time and is so crowded that it is difficult to enjoy the views. A much better option would have been to book the Best Western between the Rialto and San Marcos for much less than what I spent on the Grande Hotel or to book a more expensive hotel in a more central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I love venice, it's one of my favourite cities and this hotel definitely adds to the experience. The staff couldn't be faulted, genuinely friendly, helpful & attentive. The rooms were luxuriously decorated & great views. The location is perfect. We arrived by taxi boat to the hotels private dock so were able to enjoy the grand canal as we arrived. The hotel itself is a walk from the Rialto area but it's peaceful & away form the crowds. Walking the back streets is part of the venice experience anyway! Don't miss sitting on the small terrace with a drink & watching it all go by, breakfast was a treat too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenA1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great experience! Staff was so friendly and helpful during our stay providing us directions, recommendations and helpful hints about Venice! Rooms were very nice and the location was beautifully situated right on the canal amazing views! Thanks to a great staff!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VSWATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,906 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,676 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 385 in Venice
714 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing