We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant rooms with luxurious fabrics and murano glass.”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Convenient location to everything and easy to find. Make sure to print out directions to the hotel for your arrival. The rooms were elegant and comfortable. Nice breakfast in the morning. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. Our last night there our neighbours were noisy and vulgar, the staff did try and control the situation and more than compensated us the next day. Despite this we wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,073)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Canal Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,559 - 1,565 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2011

Would highly recommend this hotel, the staff are super, friendly,helpful. The rooms are excellent, clean and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perth_magpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We had a room with a beautiful canal view, only a 5 minute walk from the train station. The room was large by European standards, was very clean and quiet. Staff was especially courteous and helpful. Continental breakfast was varied, and unlike some hotels that only give you a two hour window, breakfast was from 7-10:30. Would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimandjohnny89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

just brilliant, can't spot one error. every need is looked after a bargain of a hotel and gr8 stuff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, and we got the room for a great deal via lastminute.com's secret hotels deal. Location is a great base from which to explore Venice by foot or by public transport - it is opposite Ferrovia, one of the main vaporetto (water bus) stations on the Grand Canal, and 5 minutes walk away from the main square where the airport shuttle drops you off. Rooms were excellent, as was the buffet breakfast. Really helpful staff, who humoured our poor Italian language skills (as well as speaking excellent English, alongside many other languages).

Overall, an excellent hotel, but probably not as cheap in high season as we have just experienced!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed at Hotel Canal Grande for three nights in December, and we loved it! We arrived in Venice at 9:00 am on Christmas morning. A quick bus ride and a short walk in the pouring rain, and we were at the hotel by 10:00 am. Thankfully we were allowed to check in immediately and change into dry clothes.

Our room was beautiful and everything still seemed very new. The bathroom was an excellent size - not always the case in Italian hotels. Our only complaint was trying to regulate the temperature. Most of the time it was too hot in our room, but that was easily solved by cracking a window. Breakfast selection was more than adequate. Everyone we dealt with on staff was very professional and always courteous. The location can't be beat.

We would definitely stay here again if we travel to Venice again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maestrette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We rode trains during our (2) week Italian holiday (Rome/Venice/Florence/Pisa). It was a very pleasant surprise when we arrived in Venice and could see the Hotel Grande Canal from the train station steps. However between the train station and the hotel was a very high bridge with lots of steps...there was a second smaller bridge a bit later. The bridges made it a bit difficult to transport our luggage but we made it eventually. My wife picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings and we weren't disappointed. We had a family suite overlooking the Grande Canal. The suite had (2) rooms with the master having a normal queen size bed and the Sitting room with a sleeper sofa queen. The sleeper sofa was acceptable but I would have preferred a normal queen. Both rooms were tastefully decorated with Murana glass sconces and flat screen TVs (although we didn't watch much TV). The only downside to having a Canal facing room is the diesel engined boat traffic that passed by at all hours. Suffering from jet lag, the noise from the boats was a bit annoying (not the hotel's fault though, the windows were insulated). The Continental breakfast was good and if you wished, you could special order eggs (for extra 4 euro). The WiFi connection was excellent, very, very fast. It is about a 30 minute walk to San Marcus Piazza (where the Doge palace is located). We spent three days in Venice and fell in love with the city...it really is a special place. The Hotel Canal Grande fits right in with the ambience of Venice, it is a cozy, intimate, and comfortable place to stay. We will be returning to Venice at some point in the future and will again make the Hotel Canal Grande our "home away from home". I should add the best pizza we had in all of Italy is a little restaurant about (5) minutes from the hotel...I forget the Italian name but in English it translates to "Antique Well". We ate at a lot of very average "tourist" restaurants during our holiday but the pizza at this place was truly outstanding...my favorite was the parma ham/artichoke pizza.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeijingDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
1,927 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,737 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 384 in Venice
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £130 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing