We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scam”
Review of Punta della Dogana

Punta della Dogana
Book In Advance
More Info
US$61.65*
and up
Venice off the Beaten Track Walking Tour and...
Ranked #41 of 814 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Preparation of the upcoming exhibition are currently underway at Palazzo Grassi and Punta della Dogana. From 9 April to 3 December, 2017, both museums will present the exhibition “Treasures from the Wreck of the Unbelievable”. Inaugurated in 2006 and 2009, Palazzo Grassi and Punta della Dogana are two contemporary art museums. Renovated by Japanese architect Tadao Ando they present personnal and collective exhibitions. Palazzo Grassi and Punta della Dogana aim to share with the public the extraordinary Pinault Collection and to strengthen the priviledged relationship the institution has developed with artists, especially thanks to works specifically conceived for its exhibition spaces. Since May 2013, the Teatrino di Palazzo Grassi complements this artistic and cultural programme. Conceived by Tadao Ando, this 225-seat auditorium offers a wide range of events - conferences, concerts, screenings - that underline the will to establish a dialogue with a Venetian and international public.
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

the most thing i feel guilty to pay for it it's the most thing you wasting your money their is nothing inside some modern furniture only 1 set of garden furniture and some rocks on the floor i want my money back

3  Thank claraaoun1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"damien hirst"
in 16 reviews
"contemporary art"
in 24 reviews
"old customs house"
in 8 reviews
"tadao ando"
in 8 reviews
"customs building"
in 8 reviews
"giudecca canal"
in 7 reviews
"golden ball"
in 3 reviews
"double height"
in 2 reviews
"great views of venice"
in 4 reviews
"pieces of art"
in 3 reviews
"salute church"
in 2 reviews
"combined ticket"
in 2 reviews
"art lovers"
in 4 reviews
"places in the world"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 5 reviews
"stunning building"
in 2 reviews
"different perspective"
in 3 reviews
Filter

114 - 118 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a fantastic building and so wonderfully renovated. Interesting modern art as well! A knock out visit.

1  Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Really modern museum with interesting contemporary art and the most beautiful view on Venice you can imagine. I prefered it by far to Academia and Guggenheim. The triangular-shaped Punta della Dogana separates the Grand Canal and the Giudecca Canal. As a center for contemporary art, the former customs house of the city presents exhibitions of works from the Pinault Collection, the institution that supported the transition of this masterpiece of architecture, so emblematic for the city, from its eminently commercial function to port of contemporary art and ideal venue to share it with the world.

1  Thank margriet1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was a highlight of venice for us as a family. We had deliberately visited this gallery to see a specific work of art. It is an amazing gallery with varied exhibits. The curators need congratulated as they have managed to curate the space so that it engages both adults and children. If you like art this place is a must. The cafe is also very good with very fine pasties, cakes and coffee. Children very welcome.

2  Thank drobo12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was thinking of using the title "not for ANYONE" for this review but art, after all, is a very personal experience. This museum is VERY OVERPRICED. The exhibition, I am sure, changes frequently (at least I hope it does.) The first room had a film which was exactly like the joke film in the movie Down And Out In Beverly Hills - if you saw that film you might remember the idiotic film that the son makes to tell his parents that he is transgender - well here it is celebrated as a work of art. ( Paul Mazursky should sue for plagiarism.) There were two or three artists' work that I really enjoyed but that was it. IMPORTANT NOTE - if you think that you'll be seeing contemporary art, a la the Peggy Guggenheim museum, YOU WON'T - this is what I consider Extreme Art. I would say that what I saw was more like simplistic commentaries on the times we live in rather than art at all. What I really hated were the poorly written, pretentious, descriptions of each work. Filled with run on sentences that tried desperately to elevate the work, they reminded me of my Philosophy 101 course. And, more often than not, the art work did not live up to it's descriptive narrative at all.

1  Thank Muzikboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punta della Dogana also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Punta della Dogana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing