We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable lunch at reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria Bea Vita

Osteria Bea Vita
Ranked #110 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Cannaregio
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
267 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“enjoyable lunch at reasonable price”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This osteria was recommended in a local guidebook that I read while at our B&B, so my husband and I looked for it when walking in the Cannaregio area. They offered a fixed-price lunch of 3 courses (pasta, second, and side) for 13 euros, so we decided to try it. We sat at a canal-side table on a beautiful day and were greeted by a friendly waitress. For each course I think there were 3 choices. My husband had pasta with funghi, beef with curry sauce for the second, and a salad for the side. I had pasta with cuttlefish in ink (black sauce), prosciutto with cantaloupe for the second, and a salad for the side. The food was good to excellent (especially the pasta with cuttlefish in ink, which I'd never had) and the portions were very large--so large that we could not eat most of the salad because we were already full. (Also note that there is no "salad dressing" in most restaurants in Italy--they just give you olive oil and vinegar.) If you can't eat that much, you may be able to order a la carte--but the default menu seems to be the 3-course fixed-price one for lunch.
Although it would have been enough just to have pasta for lunch, it was an enjoyable experience overall. If we had more time in Venice, we probably would have returned there for dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    230
    57
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic, cheap Aperol Spritz and prosecco by the canal”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Aperol spritz and prosecco only 2.5 and 2.8 €, served with a smile at a nice table by the canal. We did not try any food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garfieldpbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston
2 reviews
“Nice night”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great food, good wine, canal side, beautiful sunset, need I say more. Came her with my daughter and we both really enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and reasonable prices...”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This restaurant is at a quite location closer to the Jewish ghetto. We had been here for lunch and had our table along the canal. The food here is excellent with good vegetarian options. The seafood served here is also great. In spite of the delicious food and very large portions, the food is moderately priced. The staff was very polite and helpful. We shall never miss this restaurant when we visit Venice again….

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stopped here and sat by the canal enjoying a Spritz late one afternoon. We admired the varied selection of appetising and very reasonably priced cichetti but did not try any. We stayed for dinner and shared the mussels in white sauce to start. The portion was very generous and the sauce very tasty although the tiny size of the mussels was a little worrying (overfishing?) My husband ordered pasta with mussels and clams in red sauce but they arrived in a white sauce, still delicious but would have liked a change. I had pasta with ground veal - or as it was explained to me ‘meat from a female cow who has not yet been pregnant!' Pretty good if a little bland. The house wines were very good and the white wine pleasantly chilled. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. We were offered and greatly enjoyed the complimentary grappa and limoncello at the end of our meal. We came here partly because of TripAdvisor recommendations and were not disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Bea Vita also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Bea Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing