We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals we had in Italy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agli Artisti da Piero

Agli Artisti da Piero
Ranked #1,089 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Castello
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Yes, this is a 'tourist' restaurant. Nevertheless, we had a great meal and a very pleasant evening there. We walked by on our first day in Venice. As is our practice, we scanned the menus and interiors of restaurants as we strolled. Of course, there always was someone standing by the menu who would 'invite' us in ... for a meal, for a drink, for a snack, whatever. We had no problem at all ignoring those entreaties. But something about this restaurant caught my wife's eye. It was the glassware on the table. So we looked inside and liked the ambiance. We wanted a fish/seafood restaurant. The menu seemed to indicate that was a specialty of the restaurant. So we told the 'host' that we'd be back for dinner. (I'm sure he thought it was just a touristy brush-off.) But we did go back, and had an excellent meal. I had a whole roasted branzino covered with tomatoes, olives, and artichokes. It was delicious. Our server was polite and helpful. We loved the décor. All-in-all, we had no complaints. We even considered coming back the next night, but in the end, we did not.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KriksPicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    58
    36
    42
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
183 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

A charming Resturant where we had lunch from a set menu. The setting of the Resturant is charming and the food was tasty. The service was god and the waiters were helpful. We enjoyed it

Helpful?
Thank Falsaqri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere of the restaurant is very good, but the waiter was rude, and we couldn't order one pizza, because it isn't legal. What?!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lovingtravell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were greeted by the server while walking down the street . He was very engaging and we decided to come back for dinner. We had a mixed seafood platter for an appetizer and many other things. The seafood was fresh and cooked to perfection. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We were very surprised that this restaurant did not already have a great tripadvisor rating. Hopefully many more will follow. This restaurant is not to be missed

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank europa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This restaurant has a cozy, charming atmosphere .... its food is good, well-served ... the waiters are attentive ... but what keeps it from receiving five-star reviews?

Probably the not so honest practice of charging their clients both coperto AND an outrageous 12% service fee. Really? Paying a service fee is not the norm in Italy ... everyone knows that ...

This restaurant is a tourist trap. Beware.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank André F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agli Artisti da Piero also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Agli Artisti da Piero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing