We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant has no integrity, willingly tries to cheat tourists.”

Agli Artisti da Piero
Ranked #1,127 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Castello
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant has no integrity, willingly tries to cheat tourists.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Unfortunately did not check out this restaurant first, and our experience mirrors that of cptjetsetter and Olga J, and many others. This restaurant operates without any integrity. Beware that this restaurant's "suggestions" page are going to be charged by weight on the bill, which they do not bother to explain at the time of ordering. In fact, even though we pointed to the menu item and price (EUR 8) the waiter only nodded as if to confirm. The actual price by weight is deliberately obscured in Italian vernacular (the rest of the menu is conveniently translated). This means the seabass was EUR 62, as opposed to the expected price listed. Everything else in the menu is in the 10-15 euro range, and so one does not expect that the waiter is trying to sneak a EUR 62 piece of fish, which is ridiculous. Pasta with seafood was EUR 37.5 by weight (expected price EUR 9.5). Add an undeserved 12% cover charge on top of everything, and you can imaging how shocking the price quickly becomes.

This restaurant deserves 0 stars. Even if some of the time the food is okay and the bill is right for some of the other reviewers for other menu items, just the fact that this restaurant and the waiters willingly try to cheat whomever they can again and again, means that nobody at all should support them or give them any credit. No matter how many others have complained and fought with the restaurant and even involved police on occasion, the restaurant insists on continuing these deceptive practices. We are all tourists and should lower this rating as much as possible to prevent future victims.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    60
    36
    42
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Shocking. Huge tourist trap - AVOID”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Luca, the manager, recommended i try the seabass starter. On his recommendation I told the waiter i will have the seabass starter (EUR8) and my fiance will maybe have a bite but she is not that hungry. We ordered pizza and pasta as main. 20mins later he arrived with a whole seabass (approx 500grms). I was impressed with the portion as a starter and thought he maybe rung up 2 x starter (i.e. EUR16).

Long story short. After the meal (pizza pasta was good but not something to write home about) the bill came...EUR 12 for the pizza and 12 for pasta...EUR 56 for the fish starter. I could not believe it. the waiter said that it was per the gram and since it was a whole fish it was 700grm gross weight. I told the waiter he never mentioned this to me when i ordered and clearly i ordered it as a starter not a main, which he confirmed back to me when he took my order, fully aware it was a starter. Discussed this with Luca the manager and he said since i ate the fish i should pay it. Utterly disappointed we agreed on half price, being EUR 28 for the fish (from EUR 8 what i should've paid). They even rung up 1 extra water which we did not have AND 12% service charge, even AFTER they changed the bill!!!! Can't believe how shockingly poor this service was.

seems like they just want to score the extra Euro here and there. Couldnt care less about the customers experience. Avoid this at all cost!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cptjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in Italy”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Yes, this is a 'tourist' restaurant. Nevertheless, we had a great meal and a very pleasant evening there. We walked by on our first day in Venice. As is our practice, we scanned the menus and interiors of restaurants as we strolled. Of course, there always was someone standing by the menu who would 'invite' us in ... for a meal, for a drink, for a snack, whatever. We had no problem at all ignoring those entreaties. But something about this restaurant caught my wife's eye. It was the glassware on the table. So we looked inside and liked the ambiance. We wanted a fish/seafood restaurant. The menu seemed to indicate that was a specialty of the restaurant. So we told the 'host' that we'd be back for dinner. (I'm sure he thought it was just a touristy brush-off.) But we did go back, and had an excellent meal. I had a whole roasted branzino covered with tomatoes, olives, and artichokes. It was delicious. Our server was polite and helpful. We loved the décor. All-in-all, we had no complaints. We even considered coming back the next night, but in the end, we did not.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KriksPicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
183 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

A charming Resturant where we had lunch from a set menu. The setting of the Resturant is charming and the food was tasty. The service was god and the waiters were helpful. We enjoyed it

Helpful?
Thank Falsaqri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One pizza”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere of the restaurant is very good, but the waiter was rude, and we couldn't order one pizza, because it isn't legal. What?!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lovingtravell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agli Artisti da Piero also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Agli Artisti da Piero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing