We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and not so good surprises”
Review of Ca'Contarini 3026

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ca'Contarini 3026
Ranked #303 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good and not so good surprises”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the Ca' Contarini hostel from June 13 to 16 and had quite a good stay overall. The guy at the reception was very nice and helped us take our huge luggage up the stairs. Even though we had payed for a dormitory, we didn't have anyone else in our room for the night, which was a great surprise. At first we thought he was giving us a nicer room for the night and we'd have to change the next day, since our room only had a double bed. It was pretty comfortable, there was a huge dresser than we couldn't open I don't know why. A wooden chair, two desk tables and a sofa that converts into a bed.

Also, the rooms don't have any locker. There's always someone at the reception, 24/7, so they ''garantee'' you that they will keep and eye and that's why they don't give out keys... Even though we didn't get robbed, we weren't pleased with that at all.

The only two problems are that mosquitos fly EVERYWHERE and they are litteraly impossible to kill. Every morning we woke up with monstrous bites where our pajamas didn't protect us, especially in the face. Not nice. We tried closing the windows but it didn't do the trick. They must be flying in from somewhere else.

The ceiling cracks a lot too. So when people are walking on the floor above, you hear the ceiling crack and crack and crack. It wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't so loud and constant. It's like being in a haunted house.

The bathroom is a commune one, but it's fine except for the shower that floods the entire room. The drain doesn't do. If you can, put a towel on the floor.

The breakfast is the most disappointing ever. It is served until 8:30 a.m. which is very early and is consisted of a mini croissants, crackers and a small cup of nutella and jam. They have a coffee machine that can make tea, hot chocolate and moka, but it's the only good thing here. Everything is wrapped in plastic and it's so not consistent, even if you eat everything, which you don't. Very disapointing. You have to eat something else at a café absolutely to feel like you ate anything.

Other than that there was a good ambiance, the staff was nice, they offered us a map and a discount at a restaurant down the street. Don't go to the restaurant though, the food is terrible and not worth your money. The location of the hostel is incredible though, 10 minutes walk from the San Marco Square and the Accademia and Guggenheim. You can walk everywhere, even though Venice is a complete labyrinth.

Great stay in general except for: mosquitoes, breakfast and no lock on the rooms.

Room Tip: -Bring mosquitos repellent!!!!! -Breakfast not worth it, go eat somewhere else in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aneva651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    53
    50
    32
    28
See reviews for
7
131
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dillon, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Okay first of all - this is a hostel, you must know this before booking! The location is really great - you can easily walk to all attractions including San Marco's square. We even got a discount at a great cafe down the "street" because we stayed in this hotel.
The breakfast however is horrible - it is basically crakers with jam. Really, the most substance would be a cressant and nutella!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

What a shame. This hostel could have so much potential as it is in a great location and is in a wonderfully old building. However, the place is completely dive and awfully filthy. The showers are freezing cold and the rooms are tatty and uncomfortable. The worst thing is the service and I was verbally abused by Claudio (I asked his name in order to complain) on a number of occasions eg as he ordered us to pay upfront immediately and shouted when we enquired if our rooms could be located on the same floor. We spent as little time as possible in the hostel to avoid the threatening behaviour of this obtrusive man who is absolutely in the wrong industry.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have never been so disgusted at a stay in a hostel in my life. I have stayed in hostels all over the world and understand for a cheaper price you do pay for what you get. In hindsight, we could have stayed in a guesthouse for the same price which would have been so much better.

I was travelling with a group of 7 girls in our late 20s for my friend's birthday. Claudio, who seemed to be a kind of assistant manager was a rude, threatening bully who made us feel so uncomfortable that if it hadn't been for two days we would have left. Firstly all the facilities are false that they advertise on Hostel Bookers. The kitchen is only open 12-2pm so you are hardly allowed to use it. We were not given enough towels and the showers were cold. The place was absolutely filthy, there were dust balls under one of our beds and signs are placed all over the hostel telling you what to do and what you can't do eg 'Guests please mop the floor after a shower', as the ground floor shower floods when you use it.

Apart from the delapidated surroundings, the peeling paint, the broken light bulbs, broken showers, uncomfortable chicken wire beds, dirty walls, floors and beds, the service is the worst thing about this hostel. As soon as we arrived we were were threatened into paying for our whole stay immediately - with cash and all as one bill. The manner was so threatening that Claudio screamed up to stairs to one of my friends "Pay now". As a group of girls travelling alone this behaviour was very intimidating and she was extremely scared. My friend also asked what would be available for breakfast in the morning, as she is allergic to nuts which she explained, and he said there was meat and cheese. The next morning, to our horror, breakfast was a packaged croissant, crackers and...... nutella, which my friend found extremely upsetting as she believed it was some nasty joke. We avoided the hostel as much as possible due to Claudio's awful behaviour (one of our group found out his name in order to complain). However, on the last day we decided we would buy our own breakfast to eat in the communal area as it was my friend's birthday. We asked a member of staff for a knife and cutlery, they wouldn't let us have one as the kitchen was closed. Then after 10 mins, Claudio cornered one of my friends and told us we couldn't use the area as we were leaving that day. We then asked if we could leave our bags as we were leaving to our flight at 7.30pm. He said we could only leave them till 5pm. When we went back later to collect our bags, another man was at the reception and told us it would have been no problem to have left our bags until 7.30pm as it is a 24 hour reception.

The level of service in this hostel is disgusting as well as the whole hostel. Claudio should be investigated and ulitmately dismissed for his lewd, rude and threatening behaviour towards our group. I also witnesses him shouting at a poor French couple who had arrived and didn't understand the tourist tax. I have never ever felt more uncomfortable staying in a hostel and I hope the general manager reads this review and takes drastic action.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chloesouthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CACONTARINI, Manager at Ca'Contarini 3026, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
We are verry sory if you didnt enjoy your stay in our ca'contarini
we spooke with the employe as you said his name and he explain the situation about you girls
(7 girls) we ever treat our guests in bad way but if you arrive at night late 2: AM in the morning and all drunk making noise and didturbing all guests in the hostel shouting at night laughing we are sorry is the guy was rude with you after 15 min to make you calm and we beileve him not bcs hes our employe bcs the morning guy said the same to us so please do not write a wrong unhosnest review
bcs you disturb all the guests in that day and you make our guest angry any way we will take an action toward hes behave but please when you travel you should have more respect for the place that you sleep

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Very very bad trip...
We just come back from 5 days in that hostel and will never never never go back again.
The "manager" is a bad man, to him you are nothing as soon as you have paid.

He injured his employees and guests in front of us so much I would not do that to a a dog. He is a lier and some employees say to guests "If you are not happy I call the manager and you will see what happens to you !". Other employees are more gentle but seem very afraid of their manager who is a very bad man.

If you read Victor Hugo's book "Les Misérables", just think of "Mr Ténardier" and you will have a good idea of what you will get : if you are lucky you will be only cold and hungry, but most of the time you will also be humiliated, feeling robbed and prisonner of a kind of mafia...
We made many travels in our life in the past, but we have never seen such a bad reception, I have never felt so afraid of what could hapen to us with such bad people.

I don't go into details because there are many one here from other guests, everything is real.
In fact, each line of the description given when you book this hotel is a lie, except the good place of the hostel in the center of the city.

It is definitely the worst hostel I have ever seen, it is a pity because Venice city is so nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tib C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CACONTARINI, Owner at Ca'Contarini 3026, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Sir

We are sory that you wrote that offensive comment and not honest and nothing is true, in case something disturbed you or you didnt like in the hostel is enaugh i think to tell us we are here to help our guest to enjoy there stay.

i dont know in wish right you can comment something not true if you didnt use the kithen night and day because our rules said limitted hours that dont allowed you that we are bad hostel or bad owner i think if you go on line and look to othres sites you can even see alot of good comment about us.

so i deny all your comment about us and about the owner.

We are sory if you didnt enjoyed your stay with us

thank you for your unhonest comment

regards

the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My fiancé and I just left ca contarini, and we were pretty disgusted with the quality of service here. First off, the price is extremely high for a hostel, and then when you get there, they tack on additional fees out of nowhere, and weren't able to explain it when I asked about it. It was probably some type of local tax, but you've really got to tell people about that when they book.

Next, the room was filthy. It hadn't been cleaned in months, and had a film of dirt and grime on the floor. The blanket that was on the bed was paper thin, and also looked filthy. Luckily, the sheets were freshly washed and pressed, so we were able to sleep there. We stayed in winter here, and the outside temperatures were near or below freezing. We had two cold nights where we had to put on additional clothes because the in room radiator turned on and off at apparently random times.

Now for the bed and breakfast that they advertise. This is a hostel, and a very poor one. It should not be qualified as a bed and breakfast. The pre packaged toast, croissant, and crackers that forms the breakfast are combined worth maybe 50 cents. They do provide coffee, and have an espresso machine, but it's missing the portafilter, so don't expect to use it. They also have an electric kettle, which is also broken. You can only use the kitchen for an hour and a half in the morning from 7:30-9:00 (when breakfast is served), and again from 12-2 in the afternoon. This means you're eating out for dinner. Also, the dishes were filthy. This is probably the fault of other guests, but I ended up re washing everything, and was pissed off while doing it.

Contrary to their advertisement, there is no bar. Don't get your hopes up.

We shared a single bathroom with six other guests, and it was pretty clean, but constantly occupied.

The wifi is not usable. We could load a page about every ten minutes. Meanwhile, the guy working here is downstairs watching movies online and using up all of the bandwidth. If you use the wifi in the day, you will be able to check email, etc. but don't expect any images to load. It's too slow.

The final nail in the coffin for us was that they didn't provide curtains, and shrugged at me when I asked. There was a light directly out of our window that shined 24/7 that was quite bright. It kept us from sleeping properly, and we couldn't hang anything on the window because that would mean opening them put a towel or something on them. This would let the freezing air in all night (you have to see the windows for this to make sense).

I've stayed in probably about a hundred hostels around the world since I was a little boy. I'm used to the usual hostel feel, and am not new to it. I was primarily shocked by their lack of cleanliness, and also their complete misrepresentation online. The pictures they have of their rooms did not look anything like ours. They are not a bed and breakfast. They do not have a bar. They are not building a club. The attendant sat outside our door and smoked all day one day. It was not friendly, and lacked the basic honesty that I appreciate from most hostels.

In retrospect we wish we would have stayed in lido. If you care about shopping in San Marco, then this is in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OskyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We went to this bed and breakfast in the end of the october. Wheather in Venice was not that bad this time.

We read many reviews, and everywhere they said, that it is difficult to find that place (any hotel). It is because that´s Venice, there everything very difficult to find even with map! BUT with this one it was even more difficult, because there was no a big sign of the place (see pictures), the little sing (3x5cm) on the front doors made us sure, that is it. (We had to ask maaany locals, where it might be, and even they were not that sure)

Right, when we found the right place, there was a very nice and polite guy on the little (reception) desk. Little surprising, when we have been asked to pay an extra charge per person per night as any new law stuff or what - did not really get it, but we payed extra 12 euros (3euros per person/night). Nevermind, we just did not see anything on the website.

We got a room on the 4th floor, where we had to always make a little break on the 3rd, because that stairs were killing us (still do not understand, how we got up first day with our luggages lol)

There is a kitchen on the 3rd floor, open certain time a day for a tea and coffee. We saw some guys cooking in it, so probably it is allowed to.

We got quite spacious room, and shared only a bathroom with the other guys from the second room. But in the room was SO unbelievably cold, that first night we slept with our scarf and a hut on. We were lucky, and got an idea to ask for an aircondition remote -not like the other guys, because we woke up as someone in the other room said ´oh my god, it is so cold´. It took us half a day to heat the room up. Then it was ok. /You dont ask, you dont get - as always and everywhere/. (There was no heater in the bathroom.... brrr)

There was actually no ´internet´, but there was only a wifi - so if you do not have any phone or a laptop, you can forget about it. Ouh, and for wifi we had to go on the 3rd floor, cause on the 4th the connection was not perfect at all.

Breakfast.
Again - I have to say, that management was really nice, and were preparing a breakfast on the plate. I have to have a little complain though. Everything was prepacked, no fresh butter or bread. We really missed. Now, I understand, why everyone was complaining, that it was too sweet. IT ACTUALLY WAS. And another day the same story......

We are glad, we were in a very good location, and always VERY nice staff what is a huge bonus. But probably will never go to Venice any more.

Anyway...

Room Tip: Do not choose the room on the 4th floor, the last stairs are literally ´´ stairs to the heaven´´. Es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina_Tothova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#328 of 385 in Venice
356 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#270 of 385 in Venice
252 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#233 of 385 in Venice
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#151 of 385 in Venice
393 reviews
Al Piccolo Hotel
#267 of 385 in Venice
61 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ariel Silva
Hotel Ariel Silva
#334 of 385 in Venice
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca'Contarini 3026? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca'Contarini 3026

Property: Ca'Contarini 3026
Address: Calle dei Orbi, 3026 | Calle Del Stampador, San Marco-Accademia, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca'Contarini 3026 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management! Free coffee and tea on request! follow our Special offers mentioned in our home page. The Ca'Contarini 3026 is Located in the heart of one of Italy's most beautiful cities. Near by of dozens of wonderful bars, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Ca'Contarini 3026 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca`Contarini Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing