We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Cracking Hideaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto
Ranked #27 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Cracking Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The tour guide said it was 20 metres from the Vaporetto - we took that with a pinch of salt and ended up walking past it in the dark - it is actually literally 20m from the stop!

And what a lovely place, secure entry into a rose filled garden with secluded seating areas to sit and enjoy an Espresso in the morning before heading out to explore belle Venezia.

Being so close to the Vaporetto stop means that much of the rest of the area is very accessible, we came as a family of 4 and saw most of the big sights and also spent a day at the Lido, which was lovely, though of course very hot this time of year. Thankfully however getting home to the apartment was a treat, it was cool (great air conditioning) and the powerful shower and handy washing machine quickly washed away the sand accumulated after a hard days castle construction.

The apartment itself (we stayed in Loft Rosso) is spacious and well appointed and could comfortably sleep a family of 6 if your kids can share spacious double sofa beds. We had ample room with our two sons (ages 11 and 4) and didn't bother folding down the beds most nights as the sofas are massive. It is also well stocked, we found coffee, washing up liquid, ice bags and such like all in stock on arrival.

Our host was very welcoming, even offering us some beer when we arrived back late after a day of sightseeing. He also advised us of locations of good shops, the bakers, close pizza restaurant and timing for the Vaporetto.

All in all a great find and I would thoroughly recommend it if you are looking for a retreat a little of the beaten track to enjoy some chill out time after a day on the beach or sightseeing.

The only areas I would suggest to improve would be to fit "black-out" blinds on the high windows as it gets bright in the apartment quite early (though with young kids not such an issue!) and also supply some wine glasses.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosst3mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you want a quiet Venice or if you want to have a feel of how the Venetians live from day to day without being too far from the wonders of the city, then this is the place to stay. Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto is a quaint compound literally just a few steps away from a vaporetto stop. Now, how convenient is that? The "cottages" are located in a private compound in the Cannaregio area where wonderful restaurants and local shops abound.

The manager, Hossep, is a great host and will help you make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Prior to our trip, I bombarded him with questions and he replied quickly with an abundance on information. We stayed at the Rosso. My wife and 14 year old daughter quickly felt right at home. All the conveniences are here for our week long stay.

Feel like being a tourist? A short walk across 2 canals brings your right into the action. The sights of Venice are walkable - even in the cold of winter. Don't feel like taking a walk? A vaporetto stop takes you everywhere.

I highly recommend this apartment to those who have a few days to stay in Venice. A+!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AyiManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Our family of five (kids 15, 13, 10) stayed at Al Campanile for four days/three nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the "Nerro" apartment and found it a good size for the five of us. There are two double beds, a double sleeper sofa and a 1 1/2 chair that folds out in to a bed (Our 10 year old loved sleeping on it). There is a full and decently equipped kitchen, single bathroom (toiled, shower/tub) and washing machine/dryer combo.

This apartment is located off the beaten path, however, it is literally a 30 second walk to the Otro Vaporetto stop and from this stop it is approximately 10 minutes to the train station. It is also quite convenient to the outer islands (Murano, etc). There are several local shops within quick walking distance (bakery, small grocery, and wine shop) As a family, we prefer to be in the quieter/residential parts of cities. It's peaceful and much less "touristy" than the more centrally located hotels. If you want to be centrally located, this is not the place for you.

Hossep is the manager and is very helpful and friendly. He went out of his way to meet us at the apartment, even though we arrived two hours early. He gave us tips and advice on transiting the area and good local restaurants.

If I ever return to Venice with the family, I would definitely stay at Al Campanile again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRS96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

This was a wonderful apartment. We stayed there (4 adults, 2 children ages 9 & 11) and had plenty of room. The 4 adults slept in the 2 beds (apartment Beige) and the children slept on fold out chair beds (which they said were very comfy). The bathrooms are very high quality and the kitchen has everything basic that you will need. It is not in the "main" area of Venice, which is what we wanted. It took us about 15 minutes to get to main Venice walking at a very leisurely pace. The neighborhood is lovely with fantastic restaurants, grocery store, and bakeries within 5 minutes walk. Hossep was a pleasure to work with and gave us lots of great recommendations for food and shopping. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We and another couple rented Apartment Beige for 3 nights in September and this 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment, in a quiet neighborhood away from the tourist frenzy was perfect for us. It was exactly as pictured and described on this site, and was modern, bright, and pristine. The rose-lined courtyard was charming and Hossep was a very friendly and helpful host (when God forbid, we did not know how to use the italian Moka coffee maker!) We were literally steps away from a vaporetto stop. If we wanted to walk, it was a 20- 30 minute walk to get to the famous sites, but on our way we enjoyed walking through an area that appeared to be inhabited by local residents. We would highly recommend this wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnne82672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I was initially hesitant to book this place as the last review at the time of my booking was in 2011! However, travelling as a family of 5, with 3 kids, our options for accommodation in Venice were limited and expensive. I wanted a convenient place, from the airport where we were arriving from, walkable distance to the train station where we were departing from and yet spacious, new and comfortable for all of us. Al Campanile met and exceeded ALL my expectations. The apartments are well equipped and very new. My kids loved soaking in the bathtub with water jets. Hossep was a joy to deal with. Very prompt in replying to my email queries, very helpful and professional in giving advice, suggestions. The location is great! We loved the restaurants in Cannaregio, away from the crowds of Rialto and San Marco. Thank you, Hossep! We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

What an amazing place to stay, 10 meters yes 10 meters from vaporetto stop, lovely roses in the alleys, small group of apartments but very nice from inside just as u will see in the pictures, very comfortable all the amenities are there and very well furnished. U don't have to worry for anything, dishwasher is there, microwave is there washing machine is also there, breakfast is not included but u can make it on your own v easily and without hassle. Very close to the train station and bus stop so it makes it easy to travel around. Hossep is a great host. Gives u all the reqd information that is needed. Will I like to go there again, yes definitely.
Only one small glitch is that there is no housecleaning during the stay.
Otherwise all in all a pefect place to stay, a hidden gem in the expensive city of Venice !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aamir35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#49 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Oasis Lagoon & Residence
#20 of 210 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Giudecca
Al Redentore di Venezia
Al Redentore di Venezia
#3 of 210 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Suite in Venice Ai Carmini
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
#2 of 210 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Cannaregio
Residence Ca' degli Antichi Giardini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto

Property: Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto
Address: Cannaregio 3505/D, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful context and immersed in a charming garden, we present to you three spacious duplex apartments, each with a green private open air space, planned and projected to offer all comfort and the warmth of a family welcoming that you may desire for your vacation, in the beautiful Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Al Campanile Madonna Dell'Orto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing