We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, not expensive....a must!!!”
Review of Al Vecio Portal

Al Vecio Portal
Ranked #123 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Castello
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Excellent food, not expensive....a must!!!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a great time at Vecio Portal.

Excellent food reasonably priced.

Pino, the owner, is a great guy.

We will visit him again as soon as we land in Venice.

Toni

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToniCasteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    230
    76
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value - great service”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a good value meal here and the waiter we had was really excellent, attentive and friendly but not over the top. Venice has a lot of over priced places to eat. This was an enjoyable meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMSgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice garden, small portion”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were offered a table in the enclosed, umbrella covered garden, under the fig tree, which was nice. We ate here not long after they opened at 6.30pm as we had concert tickets for 8pm which meant we were the only ones there for a while. The host was pleasant and then service was passed to another waiter who was nice enough. We ate one of the specials, noodles (linguine) with artichokes and scallops (very little scallop to be found) but it was only €14 each, so not too bad.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllyM810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant Cafe”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I ate at Al Vecio Portal twice on my trip to Venice. One night I went to a competitor and regretted it! At first the staff didn't seem too welcoming to a solo diner, but they warmed up! On my second visit, my nice waiter welcomed me with a complimentay apertif, a spritz.The best dish I tried was the spaghetti with clams. The salad I had was very ordinary. I recommend this cafe to readers staying in the Castello area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Genuine, tasty, and warm service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We came to Al Vecio Portal by recommendation of our hotel, and we were not disappointed. During our 5 days in Venice we ate at this Trattoria 3 times. Recommend the sardines in onions, the wonderful Sicilian eggplant salad, and the ravioli. Even a side dish of spahetti with tomato sauce was plate-licking good! Desserts and ice cream are homemade.
The feel of the restaurant is genuine, home-run, and not a tourist trap (unlike some other places in town which charged more and gave less quality and poor sevice). Locals eat here, too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Vecio Portal also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Vecio Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing