We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Ranked #48 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Faultless Hotel”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband & I stayed here in the middle of November. I made them aware we were celebrating our wedding anniversary prior to arrival & so they had arranged a room upgrade & champagne on arrival. A lovely surprise for us both! The staff were excellent, extremely helpful & knowledgeable. They recommended a fabulous restaurant round the corner & booked ahead for us (booking ahead is a must!). In terms of location, it could not have been better. Tucked away from the tourist traps, right by a vaporetto stop & within walking distance to some fabulous & very well priced restaurants. I will be recommending this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    291
    49
    6
    13
See reviews for
213
682
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Hotel helped us a lot to arrange late night transfer from airport. Worked very smoothly. Close to water taxi stop, less close to Vaporetto. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly in planning our time in Venice. Breakfast was very good. Nice, quiet location, but fairly easy walk ( ca 20 minutes) to San Marco. Overall, a very good value for Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Perfectly Venetian! This was my first trip to Venice during my italian journey and the hotel didn't disappoint. Bonus was a lift within the building! Hot water obtained by asking hotel staff!
Location was misleading. Like most hotels in venice, involved walking abt 20 mins walk with luggage across 3 bridges and endless cobblestone paths! Part of venice charm..also breakfast was sufficient though not spectacular!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Venice is a complete nightmare, everywhere looks the same and I wouldn't rely on maps to find your way round you will get lost or go mad. I used the trip advisor city guide app point me there and it was spot on getting me to the hotel I don't work for them but it worked a treat and used it relentlessly whilst there. The hotel is amazing and everything you would expect Italy to be like. We had a classic room, room 105 and maybe not the largest but it was perfectly decorated which looked like it had been recently done and to a high standard and has its own bathroom. The bathroom again was spotless with a shower only which was a power shower. If you're over 6ft tall you may struggle or at least bang your head a few times. I'm not that fortunate. The bed was huge and comfortable and there is also a safe included in the room. When we arrived there was a nice alcoholic drink waiting on arrival and a birthday message for my wife. The reception staff were very helpful and the location we found to all attractions was very good in a quiet area. It took us about 10 mins walk to Saint Marks Square. I would definitely use this hotel again and recommend it for the true Italian feel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have travelled extensively this year from Turkey through Europe via Romania, Austria, Germany, France and Italy. Our reviews are based on these experiences in terms of facilities, locations and cost etc.
We booked 4 nights at this hotel via Booking.com having compared the reviews on TA. The hotel is situated approx 15 min walk from the station and there are 3 bridges to cross, which are a pain with luggage. If you have never been to Venice, the reason the bridges are a pain, is that they are stepped and not sloped, so you have to pick up your case, not drag it. It can make a difference. In hindsight, hotel is too far from station. It is 5 mins walk from vaporetto, but not easy to negotiate when you first get to Venice.
The building is next to the National History museum, and is in a beautiful location and is a beautiful building. It is very quiet but beware the doo poo, which i did not expect at all.
Reception informative and map provided. We were given room 206, which is advertised as having an external bathroom. We expected the bathroom to be down a corridor or outside the room, but were amazed when we were actually told where it is. You have to climb 2 flights of stairs to the third floor, there is a curtained door, which is not marked private. you enter this, which is an open corridor across the rooftop (covered by tarps) to another door, which then leads to another 2 doors. An unmarked one, which was locked but it became apparent that it obviously led somewhere. A door to the left which was our 'private bathroom'. This was like a school locker room and was bizarre. I have never taken photos but did so on this occcasion and will try to upload them to advise potential customers. We locked our door to the bathroom, but found it unlocked on numerous occasions. Initially, I thought that we had left it unlocked by mistake but then we realised that someone else was using the door and leaving it unlocked. We told the male receptionist about this, but still kept finding it unlocked. I could go on about this but the review by WANDANAVA dated 9/10 fully explains the situation and I could go on and on about this but don't want to bore you!!
Room 206 is a nice big, square room with comfy bed and dressing gowns provided - so that you can take the private walk to the non-private bathroom. Also, the largest gown they have is XL which is not so Xtra!
The TV is too small to watch from the bed and the selection is rubbish. No kettle in room. There is a fridge but it is located in the 1 wardrobe which is in there. This also houses the safe and the only drawer space, so storage is very limited. There is a 3 seater settee and chair in the room, but there are some very dodge stains on it. There is 1 bedside table but at the other side nothing, so I think people have been using the chair to put drinks on etc.
Location is quiet but with hindsight, i would have stayed closer to the station.
Breakfast, not bad, but you have to ask for the coffees and the first day, we waited 15 mins before we asked for coffee.
On check out we told the receptionist that we were not impressed with the room because of the bathroom, she said we should have said something earlier. we explained we had, but she just went on to the defensive and said things like:
1: no one else has complained, 2: the room is only used for gaining access to the photo copier paper 3: it is private no one else has a key 4: this is venice, it is expensive 5; you had such a lovely big room, you should be grateful 6; you only paid 160E PER NIGHT. She seemed rehearsed in her 'patter' which we obviously now know, this is not the first complaint.
Having said all that, Venice is beautiful and this experience did not ruin an excellent trip!
I definitely would not recommend nor would I return.

Room Tip: Do not book the external bathroom - 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cateburi, Direttore at Hotel Al Duca di Venezia, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest
Regarding how to get to our hotel we have all directions clearly indicated on our website and yes you may get lost along the way but it happens all around Venice because of the narrow streets and specially during the night because of the dark, in any case since Venice is full of bridges we always suggest our clients to take the public Vaporetto when arriving with heavy luggage so that they will only have to cross one small bridge to reach our hotel.
The room you had booked was the room n°206 which is the only room in our hotel with a private external bathroom, we are really sorry that there was a misunderstanding and from the description you may think the bathroom was on the same floor but we need to also specify that the room is just next to the stairs which lead to one floor up where you have the glass door that leads to your bathroom through the corridor and just to let other clients as well that the door next to your bathroom door is just our deposit room with and we never go there when we know someone is inside unless in case of emergency which happened referring to the other comment you spoke about but in your case we never entered your bathroom when you were around, we only did the daily cleaning and it may be in that moment that the housekeeping ladies forgot to shut the door closed with the key so we apologize for that.
The bathrobes provided are unfortunately standard sizes like also the tv which is a 20 inch flat screen. “We do not have kettles in the rooms but we do have a bar downstairs which is open 24hours if you needed anything and as in other hotels safety boxes are always kept with fridges inside the closet on a side but there is plenty of room to hang clothes as well, another thing that other rooms do not have is the sofà because your room was one of largest we have.
Unfortunately if you would have informed us earlier as soon as you checked it that you would have preferred to have another room we would have helped you changing rooms based on our availability if a difference of price of 30/50 € more because there are different types of rooms which are more expensive in fact this room is the most economic compared to others because of the bathroom,
Having answered all of your complains we would only like to specify that we work really hard and yes we may get some negative comments regarding this room but we also have quite a lot of really positive ones of the same room if you check the previous comments and also we will pay attention to your complaints and will modify the description better for other future clients.
We are really sorry to see such a bad complaint “BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL” and we do not think we deserve a 1/5 for all our service and we do not also deserve attacks for TVs, fridges and bathrobes which are all regular as other hotels in Venice and around the world for a 3 star hotel but we can also understand that it’s just your point of view and as all future clients can see we do have only a very few negative comments about our hotel and we are full of guests satisfied with our service as well,

Kind Regards,
Caterina
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Location is on a quiet little hard-to-find street in Venice (but aren't they all?) and not really convenient to anything. Hotel told us to take the vaporetto to San Stae and follow the signs....haha, there were no signs! Finally found it and then waited for Caterina to end a very long phone call and were shown to our pre-paid room. Ach! I felt like Alice in the rabbit hole...except for the king size bed, everything was miniature! (including the ceiling height.) We were on the top floor (room 301) and there was NO window, just a skylight...the toilet butted heads with the bidet (couldn't use one without bumping into the other) and I don't know how a person over 200# could fit into the mini-shower. Of course, we asked for another room but were told that they were totally booked, "otherwise, they would give us the best room in the house"...right. Breakfast buffet included in the price was ok. Bed and pillows were firm. Free Wi-fi sketchy in the room, ok in the lobby. Certainly not as large or elegant as pictured. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: 301 has no window, just a skylight in the very low ceiling. Very tiny room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days recently and were happy with our stay. Upon check in the front desk was helpful with directions and recommendations for dinner. This hotel is tucked away from the busy parts of Venice, however is a quick walk to wherever you wish to go. I do suggest following their advice by watching for the yellow "museum civico" signs to find your way to the hotel. They were kind in providing an anniversary treat for us at check in and accommodating when we needed to leave before breakfast was officially served. For the price, this was a great stay and I am glad we chose Al Duca di Venezia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#55 of 385 in Venice
829 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#28 of 385 in Venice
860 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#41 of 385 in Venice
216 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#35 of 385 in Venice
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Property: Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing