We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Ranked #49 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for two nights April 2014. The hotel is convenient to the rail and bus stations (about ten minutes walk even with suitcases). As the hotel is beside the natural history museum it is easy to find, following the yellow signs once you cross the bridge from the station. The hotel is family run, small and lovely. Staff very friendly, although facilities are limited. The hotel is a five minute walk from a water bus stop, and a twenty walk to St Mark's Square (which means the hotel is in a quieter district, with more affordable restaurants). Free wi-fi available.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank John1965_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our 10 day stay at Al Duca di Vinecia was wonderful. The care received from Michelle, Antoinette and the other staff, under the watchful eye of Caterina was faultless. The hotel is an easy 800 metre walk from the railway station and only metres from the water taxi and Grand Canal. The hotel is in a quieter area whilst still being close to the best Venice has to offer. We loved relaxing in the piazza with local families We highly recommend the hotel and will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Be aware there are very different sized rooms and I am told some have bathrooms separate from your h...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights from April 10 to the 14 2014 renting one of the hotel apartments, a two bedroom with one kitchen and one bathroom.
We would say that this is a wonderful place that deserve 5 stars mostly because of the location, cleanness, and customer service. A lot of good restaurants all around easy access either via vaporetto or water taxi or just walking. The director of the hotel is a great leader and made our stay even easier and more joyful organizing excursions and dinners for us.
The apartment is very cozy and let us feel like in our small home...
Only things that I would recommend the management is to improve Internet speed inside the apartment indeed the router is far away from where users will catch the wifi....
Thanks for the wonderful stay

Giuseppe and Alma

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Giuseppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We organised a family stay at 'Hotel Al Duca' after a number of enjoyable stays in the past and once again we had a fantastic and relaxed break with our son, daughter and partners. Please see my past reviews as I don't like to keep repeating how nice and friendly this hotel continues to be.
Caterina and all her staff are tops when it comes to genuine hospitality and helpfulness during a stay. We booked three superior rooms and all had the 'wow' factor. This was a first visit to Venice for my son and daughter and they loved exploring the quieter areas of the city.
We booked the group stay direct with the Hotel and everything was so easily organised, and on arrival we were warmly greeted by Caterina.
If your looking for a quiet, excellent quality hotel that prides itself on customer care this hotel is definitely one to choose.
Thank you Caterina and we'll see you again soon.

Room Tip: Book direct with the Hotel via its' website for better room rates if they are available. All roo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a wonderful small hotel in a perfectly located part of Venice. Only a ten minute walk away from the train station over a few bridges or one bridge away from a vaporetto stop, despite this, the hotel itself is in a quiet area of the city which is very welcoming after you've spent the day wandering around some of more busy areas, there are also restaurants nearby which are much cheaper than some of the other touristy places in other areas. In the hotel itself, we were greeted by very friendly staff who were polite and welcoming and helpful considering we had arrived before the scheduled check in time. The room itself was large and wonderfully decorated in true venitian style, the only criticism would be that the air freshener plug in was slightly overpowering but we just unplugged it, no big deal. One thing about venice is that you will notice that once it gets dark, the streets are filled with lost tourists and their maps trying to find their hotels, this hotel is so easy to find you will not have that problem (even though it is quite fun to wander venice with no idea where you are actually going!). This hotel is very small and deserves every good review it gets so don't be put off by lack of reviews, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I decided it was time that i took my wife away for a nice weekend in venice. I also decided that it would be nice if i gave my daughter and her significant other a nice belated christmas present and took them as well.

We booked this hotel based on its ratings on Trip adviser and were not disappointed one bit! We were lucky enough to get one of the headline rooms (all red) and it was superb. well finished and not tacky at all. it was stylish without going over the top. this room was on the second floor which was accessed by a lift from just off reception. My daughter room was on the upper floor and whilst not as big, ahas equally well finished and appointed in a cream and gold finish.

Hotel staff were efficient, knowledgable and most welcoming. Breakfast which was included in our deal was excellent and consisted of a typical continental breakfast with meats, cheeses, cakes and croissants. asking from more coffee was greeted with a smile and prompt service.

Locally there were lots of restaurants for the evening meals. I wouldn't take the offer of the local restaurant that the hotel recommends as we found this very expensive, unfriendly and not that good. there are plenty to choose from.

Location is good for this hotel and is only 2-300 m from the vapperato stop. PS is you are visiting Venice for the first time get a vappereto pass (water bus) you can choose from 24/48/72 hours and so on and we used ours all the time. 72 hours was 36 euros, but a 7 euros a journey, we really got our moneys worth. these tickets will also get you over to Murano and Burano. both islands are with a look.

Note to all. If you have an incapacity (difficulty in walking of climbing stairs) you should seriously consider if this location is good for you. it is a truly taxing location for the less flexible amongst us.

When you visit venice, you are going back in time.

This hotel offers a great base from which to explore Venice.

Room Tip: ask for one of the red rooms! they are al super quiet as there is no local noise whatsoever.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dario1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent two nights in late September before embarking on a cruise and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a short walk (with only one small bridge to cross!) from a Grand Canal vaporetto stop and in a quiet location. There is an excellent elevator to the second floor. We booked the room with the external bathroom and the room itself was gorgeous, beautifully furnished and the largest I ever have enjoyed in Venice. It also was spotless and well maintained.

The bathroom indeed inconveniently was up two flights of steps, plus through several doors across an outside roof enclosed with canvas, but we knew this in advance, it was private, and I never ran into anybody on the way to and fro. We also enjoyed a great room rate in compensation for the inconvenience.

We had a short lovely stroll to the restaurants just to the south and west of the San Stae vaporetto stop so enjoyed our return meal at La Zucca which the hotel booked for us. Breakfast was copious and there were several small rooms to choose from to enjoy it. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I definitely would return to this charming hotel.

Room Tip: If you do not mind climbing up to a bathroom, the room itself is gorgeous and a wonderful value.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinti attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#53 of 384 in Venice
837 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#36 of 384 in Venice
1,578 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,737 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#63 of 384 in Venice
1,070 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 384 in Venice
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £94 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing