We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in quiet part of Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Ranked #47 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in quiet part of Venice”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a great option if you want to enjoy Venice and not be in the middle of the tourist crowds. The hotel is easy to get to walking either from the train station or Piazzale Roma bus station. The staff speak very good English and are very helpful throughout (with the exception of one night portier who was a little more dificult to communicate with). We'd like to mention the hotel manager who tirelessly helped everyone and answered every question we had during our stay. All restaurant reservations made for us by the manager were very good indeed. Try the Antica Besseta or the Trattoria Al Ponte del Megio, which are both nearby (less than 5 minutes walk). The hotel has a lovely ambiente with classical Murano lighting, high ceilings, exposed beams etc. We definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Venice.

Room Tip: We had one of the camere rosse on the first floor with a huge black Murano glass chandelier - beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanFreunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    288
    48
    6
    12
See reviews for
209
677
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights from 16th May 2014.
Very convenient location and close walking distance for water bus stop along with good pubs and places to eat close by.
Very good fresh buffet breakfasts and friendly staff.
Nice oldie world large rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed quiet but some better out looks than other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DouglasEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our goal in Venice was to locate a hotel and restaurants that were not overly saturated with tourists! Our other goal was to find a nice hotel, that would accommodate a family of four and that was within walking distance from the train station. One other quick piece of advice...if this is your first time travelling to Venice and especially if you are arriving by train, I would recommend NOT bringing large suitcases. It is so much easier to get around if you can arrive just with a backpack.

Arriving at the train station, we closely followed the hotel's instructions (on their website) for walking to the hotel. Even though Venice can be confusing on one's first arrival the instructions are excellent, have confidence in them and you will arrive!! We were greeted at the desk by Katarina and she was outstanding! Even though we arrived early, our room (yes the red room) was ready! It was clean and comfortable. It also fit a family of four, with one large bed and a pullout. The pullout bed was already made up for us! Perfect, thank you. With both beds made up, there is little room to walk around...but who cares..when you are in Venice, one should not be spending alot of time in the room.

Once we were settled we headed out to explore. First goal was to feed the children and find gelato. Approximately 200 m from the hotel (exit hotel and turn left) there is a small bridge, a small piazza, and several restaurants, a coop, and a gelateria! PErfect, we stopped at the first restaurant right at the bridge and had a fabulous lunch.

Katarina made us dinner reservations at Trattoria Antica Besseta! Best meal we had in Venice, outstanding quality and service, delicious gourmet "real" Italian food...and without the inflated tourist prices.

The other benefit of this hotel is that it is reasonable! So we were pleased to find a well reviewed, clean, comfortable hotel...close to the railway station (and very close to S.Stae vaporetto stop), that would accommodate four people for a fairly reasonable price!

Room Tip: The "red room" will sleep a family of four (two adults, two children)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our first stay in Europe during our honeymoon of April 2014.
Venice is beautiful but was very confusing to get around at first.
From the airport, we took a taxi boat, which dropped us off a few minutes from the hotel. We walked over a bridge and turned a few corners to get to this hotel. There weren’t clear enough signs except for writings on a brick wall of the buildings. Also, we were carrying x1 large, x1 medium, x1 small luggage for a month’s worth trip. It was difficult to carry & walk through uneven concrete & stairs.

When we got to the hotel, the lady at the front counter was very polite and friendly.
The elevator is very small – it barely fit 3 luggages and 2 ppl.

When we arrived in our room, we were welcomed with a bowl of chips and complimentary alcoholic drinks – which was a delight. The room was a bit warm upon arrival because you need the room key to turn the power on and off when you leave. The room was a perfect size and the bed was very comfortable. The pillows were a bit too soft for my liking.

We added the breakfast meal, which was well worth the 8 Euros (If you were to buy outside – It would be a lot more expensive for a meal). Breakfast came in a continental set up with cold cuts & cheeses.

We stayed in Venice for 2 days and it was definitely enough to see it all. We went during low season and everything seemed to close early by 9-10pm. It felt like we had the city to our selves late at night because no one was out! The Rialto Bridge is amazing! Photos don’t do it justice. I would definitely visit the city again and would stay at the hotel again.


Key Notes:
Make sure you get exact directions/instructions of where they drop you off to your hotel. Locals did not have proper instructions. Exmple of given direction: ‘Walk straight for 5 mins then turn left.’

I would recommend bringing a flashlight at night while walking in the city. It gets really dark and there are not much streetlight to guide the alleys and pathways.

The map provided by the hotel is printed very small. It was difficult to navigate.

There isn’t a lot of public washrooms available. They’re only available to customers.

Ensure you carry change. A lot of stores do not accept large bills nor carry enough change.

Recommend traveling lightly or backpacking in Europe!! Italy is not luggage-friendly due to the cobblestone and lack of elevators.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urban5oul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gazlyn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

One water bus trip from the airport gets you to Stan Stae where you area few minutes walk with luggage to this hotel
reception staff brilliant and a free cocktail was welcoming
rooms and en suite bathroom were a good size and well appointed
breakfast spread was wonderful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having read good reviews here we booked this hotel and so glad we did. It was away from the main hustle and bustle but still too far. We got the requested RED room and were not disappointed at all. Reception staff was very friendly and always helpful. Happy hour mimosa wasn't bad either. They recommended a local restaurant and the food was excellent.

My only negative would be that being Venice this hotel is not easy to find for a first timer and more so if you are carrying heavy luggage and are planning to walk from the station, there are a few bridges that need to be crossed, we used a porter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vdm_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in early May, and we stayed in a red room on the 1st floor (102 or 103, can't recall) that was decent sized, very romantically decorated with soft lighting, and a good sized bathroom (for Venice) with a predictably small shower. I will say the bed was a lot firmer than we are accustomed to, and the pillows were pretty flat. It was pretty hard to find the hotel, given we arrived at 10:30 at night, and were tired. But once there, it is a great place to explore the quaint and quiet Santa Croce area, and pretty close to a couple of vaporetto stops (Riva di Basio and St. Stae). And it was a lot of fun wandering around the area once we got our bearings (and weren't carrying our luggage).

The staff was wonderful though, very helpful with tips from restaurants, to offering to make us a breakfast to go on the day of our check-out since we were leaving earlier than their breakfast started. The breakfast was small, but had good croissants and pastries, juices, coffee, and meats and cheeses.

Overall though, this is a very nice place to stay, and a good value for Venice, especially since this was sort of a last-minute arrangement (only found out 2.5 weeks before we left that we were going).

Room Tip: Red room on the 1st floor was very romantic and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wade_Scheckla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cateburi, Direttore at Hotel Al Duca di Venezia, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Madam,

We thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel,

it was a real pleasure to have you as our guests and we are happy you enjoyed your stay here in Venice,

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future,

Best Regards
Staff Hotel Al Duca Di Venezia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#55 of 386 in Venice
824 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 386 in Venice
3,642 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 386 in Venice
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#31 of 386 in Venice
2,308 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#40 of 386 in Venice
210 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 386 in Venice
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Property: Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing