We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Superb Hoterl at a Bargain price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Ranked #43 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Superb Hoterl at a Bargain price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Many people going to Venice stay in the outer Islands because it is less expensive, but spend half of their holiday travelling back and forwards to the main Island. The Hotel Al Duca di Venezia is a superb high quality hotel, on the main Island, but at a bargain price. The rooms are excellent, the staff friendly and the location perfect. Breakfasts are excellent and overall I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. This is the second time we have stayed here and on both occasions, it was been excellent. highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    279
    48
    5
    12
See reviews for
202
662
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel is easy to find - print map of hotel website. Easy walk to all attractions. Having a lift in the hotel was very good when travelling with big suitcases. Free wifi and friendly staff, comfortable room although was very red ( walls, curtains and bedspread). Will stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cath64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Al Duca di Venezia is a quaint and charming hotel in a quiet residential neighborhood not far from the main areas. A little difficult to find, but then again most places can be hard to find in Venice. (There is one advantage to find Al Duca, it is located near Natural History Museum of Venice or Museo di Storia Naturale, just follow the yellow signs)
We arrived at 12:00 am, concierge was helpful and friendly. Room was really pretty (smallish yet comfortable). Wifi was not that great in our room. In the morning a very friendly woman at the front desk helped us with places to visit.
We are orthodox Jews and observe shabbos, therefore there was a slight issue with the electronic doors. The management was extremely accommodating with our requests. There is a doorbell and electronic doors which we could not use. They kept the front door open and opened the electronic doors for us.
Overall, a great (and not too expensive) place to stay with friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pearl1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and this hotel could not be better. It is located in a quite part of town but not too far from the main tourist part in the centre. The room was very clean and the air conditioning worked well which was essential as the temperature was 35 degrees outside.
The staff were polite and very helpful.
The breakfast was a buffet with cheese, fresh fruit, cold meats and cereals which was adequate for us. You could pay extra for a cooked breakfast if you wanted.
The only problem was the WIFI in our room kept loosing connection so we couldn't communicate with friends and family back home as we did not have roaming on our phones.
The TV only had 1 English speaking channel which was not worth watching but this was not a problem as we only switched it on for an hour or so before going out in the evenings.
The river bus stop San Stae is 5 minute walk which was convenient for getting to and from the airport and around town.
There are a few restaurants nearby that were very good but I would recommend booking a table as they were busy from 7pm.
There is a small Co Op about a 2 minute walk away which was good for stocking up on water and other supplies.

Room Tip: If you like a dark room with character choose the red one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smeagol101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Venice is an interesting city to visit. Some will want to be in the middle of everything in the San Marcos area. Not us. This hotel is a short walk from that area, but easily accessible. Regardless, in the immediate area were charming restaurants, shops and some locals. We like the 'quieter side' and this where the hotel is, but not far from anything.

The room was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. Our particular room had a stand-up shower with only a curtain that was at the same level as the floor. It made water containment and entertaining challenge - ha. Our view was of a courtyard that didn't belong to the hotel, which means we saw locals hanging laundry - I liked that - it was Venice to me.

We were on the first floor, just 4 steps from the reception desk and never heard a peep. The biggest problem with the room was the mattress. Just to firm for my liking, very firm. I think we were in a Superior room. I'd say if you had a proper shower and a just slightly less firm mattress, this hotel easily gets a '4' from me.

With all of this, I will stay here again, because I loved the location and for the money, the hotel met my needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewonderdad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. It's a great location. Nicely based to branch out and see other landmarks.

Rooms are great and always kept well maintained and cleaned. Decent size bedrooms also.

Breakfast is okay but you are limited with the choices you have. There happy hour drinks between 6 and 8pm is nothing to get excited about. The hotel perhaps needs to rephrase their 'Happy Hour Drinks' to mimosa hour! The only drink they serve during this time is 'Mimosa' which comprises of orange juice, prosecco and white wine! Can get a little bland after a while...

Oh and the internet wifi is terrible. We encountered so many connection issues which was so annoying and frustrating. So don't expect too much with their wifi.

Overall hotel is great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rock Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in the apartment with six adults. It was very clean & had a great location. We walked there from the bus terminal in 15 minutes with luggage. The staff was amazing & went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The included breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galewro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#52 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#16 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#24 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#31 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Property: Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing