We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family-friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Ranked #48 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice family-friendly hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was our first stop of our Italian tour. The hotel is a short 1.5 blocks from the closest water taxi which is nice when pulling luggage with kids. The hotel is in a quiet area, although after 7pm, there isn't much noise in Venice.

There is a bakery a block or so away that is good for a quick sandwich or pizza and a gelato shop across the street. Decent breakfast and filling to start the day.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful recommending where to go and more importantly, time required. Since travel is by foot or water taxi, it is important to know how long trips anywhere will take.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms have shutters and I don't think there would be any "bad" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    291
    49
    6
    13
See reviews for
213
682
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wow, what a great hotel! I don’t know where to start with the praise. The location is very convenient for anything you would evener nees to see and do in Venice. The décor itself is as Venetian as it gets. The place is spacious, clean and inviting.
We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel, also thanks to the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. I couldn’t have asked for more professional and knowledgeable service. Also, the breakfast was filling and offered a great choice of food.
Please book directly with the hotel for best rates.

Room Tip: We were a party of 4 adults and 1 child and stayed in room 102, which had plenty of space to accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysSpeakOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This property is perfectly located to get around Venice. Helpful staff, location within an easy walk to a boat dock and good breakfasts are all pluses. Wi-fi was a little funky in the evening when it tended to get heavy use. The staff is helpful and made a great restaurant recommendation for us. I would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KRL_swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel...perfectly placed. Decor lovely and dally located for walking round Venice. Only drawbacks were a slight walk from station and a small breakfast room. But that would not detract me from giving it 5 stars!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The apartment we rented was nice, but the best part about the stay was the staff. They were the most helpful and friendly staff we encountered on our trip. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends based purely on the staffing, they're great!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay. Hotel staff so friendly and helpful and great location . We were lucky enough to have one of the gorgeous apartments ... Loads of character and loved the traditional Italian decor . Would definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kccustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Many people going to Venice stay in the outer Islands because it is less expensive, but spend half of their holiday travelling back and forwards to the main Island. The Hotel Al Duca di Venezia is a superb high quality hotel, on the main Island, but at a bargain price. The rooms are excellent, the staff friendly and the location perfect. Breakfasts are excellent and overall I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. This is the second time we have stayed here and on both occasions, it was been excellent. highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#55 of 385 in Venice
829 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 385 in Venice
859 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#43 of 385 in Venice
216 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#35 of 385 in Venice
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Property: Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing