We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/21
Expedia.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/21
Trip.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/21
PricelineUS$93
Hotels.comUS$84
TravelocityUS$84
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,253)
Filter reviews
1,253 results
Traveller rating
834
340
54
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
834
340
54
10
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,253 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2019

This hotel is a bit out of the way, but that is what makes it quiet and charming. Rooms are good size, bathrooms are awesome and all the hotel staff are friendly and professional. We had 3 rooms and one of the rooms at the end of the hallway had a bathroom that was a bit weird - low entrance and kind of small, but had all the necessary amenities. You will need to walk approximately 20 minutes to St. Mark's Basilica.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank LoveLuxuryTravel2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterina B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Duca di Venezia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel.

We are so glad you found our hotel a good place to stay, and that you appreciated our facilities and services.
We are very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant.

This hotel is an ancient Venetian building so all rooms have different sizes and are of different shapes including the bathrooms.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Staff Hotel Al Duca Di Venezia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room and amenities are nice. The bathroom was awesome apart from slightly limited supply of hot water at night. one of the main reasons why I'm giving this hotel a 5 star rating is the staff!, everyone's been so friendly and helpful. They even organised a water taxi for us when we left. Even the kitchen staff are super nice and welcoming. The only critique I could give this hotel is, around the way they store the guests' luggage, it'll be good if they can place the bags in a more secure less exposed area. Otherwise, we had a great stay in this hotel. Will definitely recommend to our friends here in New Zealand

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RyanCaravana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterina B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Duca di Venezia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your valuable comments after recent stay at Hotel Al Duca Di Venezia.
It is very encouraging to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you well.
We are all working very hard to make sure that all our guests have a great time and we are encouraged by your positive comments.

Regarding the Hot water issue unfortunately being in Venice most hotels and houses are equipped with boiler tanks that provide water to the whole building. Most probably the reason why you didn't get very hot water during the night is because most guests tend to shower at that time so it takes a little while for the water to reach the maximum temperature.

An extra service that we offer all our guests from the very beginning since we opened our hotel is luggage storage before check in or after check out free of charge.
Up to date we have never lost any of our clients luggage or valuables and we always inform our guests where the luggage will be stored, so in case they prefer a safer space they can choose to store it somewhere else outside the hotel by paying an extra charge.

We hope to see you again for your next trip to Venice.

Thank you and Best Regards,
Staff Hotel Al Duca Di Venezia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2019

A week before my arrival i got a very suspicious emails offering me " an upgrade of a room in the hotel for no extra cost". I politely turned down the offer as I wanted to stay in the more expensive apartment I booked (€275 per night). On arrival i was told there was a heating issue and could not have the apartment i booked. The manager would not let me speak was extremely defensive and bombarded me with all her knock on hotel issues. She made us (my child and i) feel lucky to have a room at all and was more concerned about how the situation was affecting her and complaints from future guests. I ended up in a room i did not want to be in despite her upselling and with no compensation. The furniture had been sprayed with this very strong perfume. I explained my young daughter had asthma and that the room was unsuitable. Her response was dismissive and defensive, that this was my issue and not that of other guests. Finally I got to move into the apartment the second day (I'd only booked for 2 nights). Interestingly I was told i couldn't move until after 2pm after housekeeping had been, as check out is at 12 pm. We were happy to get into the apartment, however, the annex was unusable as it was dirty and the paving was covered in algae, a safety issue. Also the cups were tea stained. On our stay we never had the opportunity to settle in, even unpack, and take advantage of perks of an apartment stay ie buy nice food from the markets and cook, sit outside etc, which is the reason I booked it. It was a huge expense for me but I love Venice and wanted my first holiday there with my daughter to be special. From the stress of this I became sick within hours and and am now off work. I also saw the manager be extremely rude to another family with 2 young children at breakfast time. They rightly ignored her and carried on. As a result of this experience i do not recommend thos hotel and in truth will he glad not to return to Venice for a long time.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank LimerickCity123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterina B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Duca di Venezia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2019

Dear Guest,

We are really sorry and apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.

We would like to begin replying to your review by explaining what exactly happened with your reservation for the apartment.

A couple of weeks before you checked in we had some serious issues with the apartment you had booked and , to avoid complains such as yours, we offered all our guests checking in during the week of your stay free upgrades to our rooms In the main building, which was emailed to you as well. Once you refused the free upgrade, we did our very best to solve the problem in the apartment before you checked in but unfortunately not depending on us , there was nothing that we could personally do to handle the situation without exterior assistance in such a short while.

We understand that the rates you were paying could be considered quite expensive but we are referring to the period of the beginning of the Biennale which is considered high season due to the extended requests. If you want to make sure whether the option offered to you was really an upgrade , you can check our prices online for any periods of the year and will notice that our superior family rooms ( which is the accommodation offered to you ) is always more expensive than the apartment for two.

Regarding the smell in the room, we always use products that do not cause allergies and in case of guests with special needs ( in your case your daughter suffering from asthma ) it is always up to you to inform any hotel of special requests because the hotel cannot be aware of these details if not informed in advance. All our rooms including the apartments are sprayed with this special disinfectant to sanitize the environment and it is specifically made to not cause discomfort. We are once again sorry that this as well caused you annoyance and apologize for not being able to satisfy your needs.

The second day of your stay we were able to accommodate you in another apartment.
Obviously we could not change your room immediately at 12 pm as it takes time to clean and disinfect the apartment which is why our check in time is always at 2 pm, that is the reason why , we kindly requested you to leave all your luggage in the room you were staying in and we personally transferred all your luggage to the new accommodation.

We did our very best in this situation to try to help you enjoy your stay but, what we noticed unfortunately is that whatever we would have done wouldn’t have been enough for you and that you would anyway have had something to complain about.

We kindly request that you do not complain on behalf of other guests not knowing exactly what happened with these guests before your stay began because you could be missing very important bits and pieces of information that honestly do not concern your stay.

Ending this review, we would like to thank you for your kindness with all our other staff members and once again apologize for all the inconveniences and discomfort we caused you during your short stay with us.

We wish you all the best and hope you change your mind about our beautiful city.

Kindest Regards
Staff Hotel Al Duca Di Venezia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019

We've stayed at this hotel several times now, and are on a mission to sample all the different room types! Why do we keep coming back? Well, the location is perfect, for a start. It's near San Stae vaporetto stop (Alilaguna from the airport also stops here), and not far from the railway station or indeed Piazzale Roma. Despite this, it is blissfully quiet, in an area that feels 'local' rather than 'tourist trap'.
Rooms are spacious and luxurious, in a typically Venetian style. Staff are cheerful and efficient. Breakfast is a relatively simple continental affair. Cheese and ham could be a bit less industrial perhaps, but the breads and pastries are very good - and the almond cake is fabulous!
We have recommended the hotel (and its apartments) to several friends now, all of whom have been delighted. I'm sure we'll be back.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank G_M_NGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterina B, Direttore at Hotel Al Duca di Venezia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your valuable time to place this review, much appreciated.
Your comments and feedback are a great way to continue to motivate the team to provide great service and hospitality.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Staff Al Duca Di Venezia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019

This delightful hotel is situated in a quiet street alongside the Natural History Museum. The street in one direction leads down the edge of the Grand Canal and in the other direction is to Campo San Giacomo dell'Orio. This area of Venice has a very local feel and has some good restaurants and bars. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The bathroom was spacious and well-equipped.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jonessb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterina B, Direttore at Hotel Al Duca di Venezia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and review following your recent stay with us.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Manager
Caterina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews