We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #38 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
ohio, us
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

A little out of the way, which can be an oasis after the frenzy of Rialto & San Marco, impeccabable service, from greetings staff at receptions, Gabriele et Co., luggage assistance, breakfast room Silvia, the best "uova strapazzate" are hers. Standard room lacked view, over roof tops but did not expect different, spacious, cleaned and sheets changed daily, evening turned down, bath room great, fab amenities, from AP complimentary slippers & zippered AP bag, Assistance with anything from Reception,concerts, appointment with hair sculptor, beautiful environment, made the three nights fly and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Great location, difficult to find first time, but with water taxi assistance from the reception, REC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    257
    45
    7
    1
See reviews for
213
763
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ascona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Following reviews, ratings and pictures on tripadvisor we selected this hotel and reserved a suite for 3 nights end of September. The hotel was just what we wanted a smaller boutique hotel with an excellent location and good service. The junior suite was very spacious and comfortable with a view on a narrow canal. The breakfast was delicious . The staff was VERY forthcoming. Although when the water is low the canal smells a bit, we did not feel it in the room nor in any other part of the hotel.

Room Tip: The only thing I would advise is that if you like to sleep until late you should prefer a room towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GranmaAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just got back from a 2 week vacation in Italy to celebrate our 2 year anniversary, and Venice was our first stop. I booked this hotel from the trip advisor ratings, pictures, and reviews. I was looking for a boutique and modern hotel and this hotel was just that. We stayed at the Aqua Palace for 2 nights and everything was just great. It took us a little while to find the hotel because of the alleys but once you know your way around, its very easy. The hotel is in a excellent location and very close to everything. I mentioned to the hotel that it was a our 2nd year annivesary and if they can give us a good room, and they did just that. The room was very spacious and clean and when you open up the windows your view is of the grand canal. The breakfast was great, it had some hot selections and a assortment of cheeses,bread,jams and spreads and anything else you want. The staff was great and friendly. The only thing that I would mention that I did not find great about the hotel is that when you check in they give you a list of services and tours they can book for you and one is a tour of the islands. They say it is free and you will have a taxi pick you up and take you there. We left around 11 am and the water taxi picked us up, and that was great because we could see more of venice from a boat, but when they drop you off at a glass factory they make you take a tour of the factory and they show you demonstrations of how to blow glass. That was great, but then afterwards I felt that they were very pushy and pressuring you to buy pieces (which were quite pricey!). And then when you were finished, instead of going on a private water taxi they send you back on the public transport. But other than that, everything was excellent and Aqua Palace made our stay in Venice memorable and I hope to return soon one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aafendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

I went for 3 days in Venice for a conference and stayed at Aqua Palace hotel in a junior suite with my wife. The hotel location is great at walking distance from Rialto and San Marco with direct access to a canal for motor boat and gondolas. The room was lovely with absolutely no bad smell in typical venitian style large enough with a magnificient view on a narrow canal and a large bathroom with a more than confortable shower . The morning breakfast was delicious a mix of english breakfast and italian espresso / cappuccino /brioche breakfast. Service was very friendly and professional.
But some glitches do not allow me to give maximum rating:
Entering in the lobby we where shocked by a very bad smell that persisted for the whole period of our stay
The breakfast menu lacked freshly squeezed orange juice which i consider a plus.
The staff is nice but not really focused on customer needs. In the morning of the first day I found out that i forgot my shaving kit and i was not very pleased to go to my morning meeting without shaving. I asked to the hotel staff but after some time they said that they could not find. So I had to go to the meeting without shaving. In the evening I had another meeting and i asked again but the answer was : we have ordeed it but still not delivered . Therefore I had to rush out and find (not easy in venice) a supermarket to buy a shaving kit.
In conclusion a lovely hotel that could be perfect with more attention to details.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilanoSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Loved the hotel, staff are very friendly and great with suggesting things for us to do. It's walking distance to San Marco square, shopping all around. Don't have anything bad to say, it was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I have just returned from four nights at the Aqua Palace Hotel. I booked it having read previous reviews on Trip Advisor and was delighted by the choice. Its location is perfect, being about 3 minutes stroll from Piazza San Marco but just far enough away to avoid the madding crowds. It is a little oasis of air conditioned calm; the sort of place you can go back to for a quick cool down before heading off to yet another museum or church. It has its own canal entrance that made arrival and departure by boat easy.
Our ground floor room, overlooking a canal, was decorated in a sumptuous Venetian style and kept spotlessly clean. The marble tiled bathroom was large and well appointed.
Other reviewers have commented on the excellence of the staff and they are spot on. The reception team were exceptionally helpful and provided three superb recommendations for local restaurants where we had some memorable dinners. They also booked the restaurants for us.
The breakfast buffet had hot and cold options and was more than adequate. It was overseen by another friendly and chatty member of staff.
I would really struggle to find anything of consequence to criticise.
We will, no doubt, return to Venice and the Aqua Palace will be our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I don't really understand all ravings about this hotel. I usually stay in a 5-star hotel, but when I was in Venice, the Film Festival was going on and all hotels were sold out, so I chose Aqua Palace after reading all good reviews here. A big mistake. The hotel is "nice" only in the sense that the hotel staff would smile at you whenever they see you That is all. Our "junior suite" is in reality a shabby double, with a flat tv on the right hand side of the bed (which was by the way very small), so in order to watch it, you would need to tilt your neck and spine. The room had not been cleaned when we got back at 1 pm--and no apology. The front desk did not offer things we needed--no stamps, no water bus tickets. The breakfast is rather poor--juices from cartons, a very few selections of cold cuts, etc. etc. If you are used to a first-rate hotel with professional services, do not try here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tokyo2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr-aqua, Direttore at Aqua Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Madame,
Since our opening in May 2010 we think we have received back what we have offered, and this
review is the very first negative one.
We can only invite the community to read what was written about the room you booked
and used during your stay.

Photos and opinions can be found with this titles on TA:

Magique, Fantastic, Great Location, Best part of our trip, Stop researching and book, An exquisite well-manage modern boutique hotel.

Tripadvisor offers the opportunity to the world community to write any feedback about Hotels,
it’s a joy for us when our clients post good reviews, this is our best prize for our efforts to make their stay the most enjoyable one. On the other hand we must accept also the bad comments, because this will help us to improve our service.
You have the freedom to post any opinion as long as it is true and unbiased.

Piergiovanni Scheda
Director
Aqua Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali
Hotel Ai Reali
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#37 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Property: Aqua Palace Hotel
Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing