We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel, Helpful Staff, Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #42 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City UT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, Helpful Staff, Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel has it all. It's not cheap, but it's on a small side canal so very quiet, not terribly hard to find (relative, in Venice!), and wonderful staff from bellmen to restaurant and front desk. We had a lovely room with plenty of space, and a view to die for. it's like Disneyland come alive outside the windows (we chose a smaller canal-view room over a larger room right on the water, which we thought would be too loud). Somehow the hotel manages to be contemporary and charming at the same time (how DO they do that?), with lovely furnishings and comfortable bed (hard, but comfy!).

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before you choose - both the rooms we saw were lovely, the smaller was fine for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    261
    46
    7
    1
See reviews for
216
775
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have just returned from a short stay at the Aqua Palace in Venice and it has left us wanting to return again as soon as possible. We arrived at the hotel, delivered to their landing by water taxi. We initially thought the taxi fare expensive, but after exploring the area over the next few days came to appreciate what a good idea the taxi was. I would have hated to have had to negotiate the many stairways, steps and narrow walkways with suitcases.
On entering the hotel the first impression how clean and beautifully presented the reception area is. Checkin was completed efficiently and in a very friendly fashion and we were shown to our room quickly. The room was absolutely perfect in every way, with a large comfortable bed and an immaculate bathroom. The room decoration was not done in wallpaper or painted but in perfect silk panels. Very Venetian!. The hotel was quiet and very tranquil. So quiet that we imagined that we were the only guests staying there. This idea was dispelled at breakfast the following day. Breakfast, which was served in a comfortable dining room consisted of a buffet of a good selection of hot and cold foods, the waitress being especially cheerful and attentive.
The hotel is well situated for walking to the many attractions of Venice and the reception offered to arrange any kind of visit or tour you could ask for. I would recommend taking up these offers as the prices turned out to be cheaper than organising them for yourself (inluding water taxis)
This hotel lists itself as 4 star but beats many claimed 4 star rated hotels we have previously stayed at throughout Europe
Venice is an expensive place overall, but we felt it worth it. Would I recommend the Aqua Palace? Absolutely

Room Tip: canal facing rooms have best views, but water traffic could be noisy if you like open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Aqua Palace Hotel is a little difficult to find but that is because it is off the main thoroughfares whilst still very close to both St Marks and the Rialto bridge, which is pretty much ideal- but it took us a couple of days to get our bearings and learn the routes back! We thought the staff were all very friendly and helpful especially the waitress at breakfast; the buffet breakfast offered a reasonable choice and was good quality. Our standard room was at the back with no view but we realised that was to be expected- there are other rooms with canal views as an upgrade- and it was nice and quiet and well decorated and furnished. We got a good deal by Venice standards but prices are generally high in the City. We would certainly consider a return stay if we were thinking of a hotel in Venice. From this central location we pretty much walked the whole city in five days and it is easy to get to the water buses which are great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfromhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at the Aqua Palace hotel for two nights in mid-October in a twin room. The hotel was not especially easy to find but then nothing is in Venice! Top tip: take a detailed map of the city with you as it is very easy to get lost and find yourself going around in circles! Nevertheless the hotel was in an excellent location at just 4-5 minutes walk from the Rialto bridge and the waterbus terminal. It's also centrally located in relation to the rest of the city so it's not difficult to explore all the adjoining quarters. If you haven't got much time in Venice it's worth taking the Line 1 waterbus which follows the route of the Grand Canal running through Venice.

This hotel clean and modern. The reception staff were not overly friendly but certainly polite and courteous. Our room was on the ground floor but we didn't have any problems with noise. In fact, the hotel is rather quiet. The room overlooked the canal and footbridge; one downside is people can look in so you end up keeping the curtain's drawn for privacy and so not much daylight can get through (minor problem when you're spending the majority of the time outside sightseeing).

The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable-we got a good night's sleep on both nights. The hotel provides free wireless internet access in the rooms but you need to ask for a username and password. The room included breakfast which was OK although the pastries were delicious. All in all, we had a wonderful time in Venice and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nors93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed in a suite facing the canal. But the canal is a garbage water way so at 7:30 am all you hear is the noise from the pick ups. Hotel is very difficult to find and you will get lost very easily. Also the staff was quiet cold and not very friendly. Sylvia in the breakfast room was the only one who was super friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the aqua Palace from 6th Oct -10th Oct in a standard room which was on the fourth floor with no view of the canal, however the room was kept very clean and tidy.
I found the reception staff very polite and Sylvia in the breakfast room was so nice and welcoming! she really is a helpful happy woman!
The breakfast selection was very good with all you could ask for.
Only thing i could moan about was that we got charged 18 euros to iron one shirt and a pair of pants!!
I didnt find Venice smelly like people say and also found things in general more reasonable on price than i expected.
If you want to indulge and dont mind the budget go to FLORIAN in St.Marks and have a proseco listening to the band, or got to the BAUER Hotel for lunch on the terrace FAB!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanyboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and just returned from an anniversary trip that included a cruise through Italy and the Dalmation Coast. We stayed at the Aqua palace for two nights and loved it! The location was superb, the staff friendly and very accomodating. The breakfast was perfect. What I loved about this hotel was how quiet it was considering the crowds in Venice. It was an easy five minute walk to San Marco or Rialto. The hotel also had a complimentary launch service to Murano. We highly recommend Aqua Palace and would return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali
Hotel Ai Reali
#37 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#8 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Property: Aqua Palace Hotel
Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing