We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #43 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We picked this hotel after hours of debating where to stay in Venice. What a great choice and decision. Great hotel and well located within easy walking distance of most major attractions. From the moment we entered the hotel, we felt that our stay would be something special and it was. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom large and well appointed. The concierge and staff were most helpful. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite with a view of the canal. The price was very reasonable for the quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rizz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    266
    49
    7
    2
See reviews for
223
799
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This hotel is amazing. The rooms are beautiful and spacious with spectacular bathrooms (for europe). The hotel is well located in Venice close to the local attractions and ferry. The price is reasonable for what you get. Everyone on staff took particular pride in delivering the best service (by international standards). Breakfast was great too.

My advice re: Venice is to have 80 euro available to spend on a water taxi each way. While the ferry is local to this hotel, Venice is paved and full of bridges making dragging luggage quite an exercise and the ferry is slow. Either this or leave your luggage in lockup at the bus terminal.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra doe the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseSydney_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We loved everything about this hotel. We prefer smaller, boutique type city hotels with personal service, and this is one such hotel. A former palace, the luxury feel has been maintained by fabulous period decor alongside very modern and pristine facilities. The location is perfect, midway between Rialto and St Marks on the Rio de la Guerra. We had a junior suite with a canal view which was superb. The staff on the front desk were very courteous and helpful with booking concerts (don't miss the wonderful Interpreti Veneziani ensemble) etc, and we really enjoyed the complimentary trip to Murano by water taxi to visit a glass-blowing factory. It was an amazing place, and we did not feel pressured to make a purchase. We would recommend extending this trip with a visit to Burano, a truly beautiful little island. Breakfast at the hotel was superb in terms of choice, quality and friendliness of service. I would not stay anywhere else in Venice.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a canal view unless you don't like the sound of commercial water tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea_sun_lover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Our stay in Venice was dampened by the weather (sic) but greatly enhanced by our stay in this wonderful hotel. We had a junior suite and moved to be overlooking the canal (hey when in Venice...). A word of caution however if you chose to be on the canal. The 'garbage scows' (water garbage trucks) park outside in the morning to collect the garbage and the crane on the scow is a bit noisy. This didn't bother us but if you want to sleep in, try another location in the hotel. The staff was excellent - very helpful in all ways. The room was large and well appointed. Absolutely no complaints. The location was ideal. Away from the crowds and noice (exception above) but 4-5 minute walk to Piazza San Marco and 7 minutes to the Rialto bridge.and Gran Canal.

Room Tip: Try for a junior suite overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ByrenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Our trip of a lifetime ended in Venice, Italy at the Aqua Palace Hotel. We existed of two couples (yes we are picky) We arrived early in the morning by water taxi, greeted by the hotel staff and were warmly welcomed.

Loved everything about this hotel. More than willing to make you so very happy! More like the boutique hotels that Americans are use too. The two couples were given superb rooms on the Canal. Really fun!!!

Stay here...

Room Tip: I never went upstairs to view availability. We had king size rooms, king size beds, marble bath'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonecreekmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Just back from an eight-day (anniversary trip) stay at Aqua Palace, and have to say that the hotel for the most part lives up to its incredible Trip Advisor reputation (which was basically the deciding factor in our choosing it). It's a beautiful building in an great location (< 5 mins to both Rialto and S. Marco); it is a bit tricky to find the first time (even for repeat visitors to Venice) but once you get your bearings, it quickly becomes clear how wonderfully central (yet mercifully tucked away from the hordes) it is.

The rooms are spacious, stylishly decorated, and kept very clean (the same is true for the entire hotel). The staff is professional, helpful, knowledgeable, and pleasant. The complimentary breakfast is fine and filling and presided over by a very personable waitress. And given the stratospherically high cost of top-end Venice hotels, it's definitely very good value for money.

All of which is why I've rated it as I have. That said, there are a few things that prevent the AP from truly being a five-star hotel -- some of which they could easily fix, others which are beyond their control.

First, the latter: as others have mentioned, the waterway below the hotel is a for-real working canal and the quaint Ponte Malvasia (over which our room was located) appears to the rubbish and recycling collection point for a good portion of the entire sestiere. Not surprisingly, it's really loud -- and this is coming from someone who's lived in busy neighborhoods of London and New York for the last 20 years. It was a daily thing during our visit, but it only started before 8am on one morning, so we got accustomed to it. (And it should be said that during other parts of the day -- and, most importantly, overnight -- the rooms are wonderfully quiet.)

As for little things that could actually be improved, and I offer these as constructive criticisms:

--The lighting in the rooms is romantic, almost to a fault -- a floor lamp in the sitting area of our suite would have been most welcome, as would have some slightly more useful illumination in the bathroom.
--The hotel seems to be somewhat on the fence about whether or not it wants to have a bar in the evening. It (sort of) turns the breakfast room into one by putting out candles and (sort of) making a person available to serve you a pre-dinner spritz and a little bowl of chips. Sometimes. One night we ended up lighting our own candles and rummaging around for snacks ourselves while we were killing time before a late dinner reservation. It would actually be fine if it was just a self-serve honor bar (or if they didn't have one at all), but as it is, it's neither/nor in a way that leaves guests hanging a bit.
--Finally, it would a good idea to send someone up to the rooms every month or two with a little can of paint and a brush to touch up the inevitable dings that the entryways get from luggage etc. It's obviously a minor thing, but when you open the door to your €500/night room and the first thing you see is a bunch of black smudges and scuffs on the walls (even if it's quickly followed by a glorious marble bathroom and chic fabric-covered walls) it has an outsized impact.

Both times I’ve been to Venice I’ve stayed at small boutiquey hotels (AP this time, the Ai Mori d’Oriente in Cannareggio last time) and maybe if I get back agin I’ll finally try one of the grand dames (Bauer, Gritti Palace, Danieli). But for value, location, etc, we were very happy with our choice of Aqua Palace.

Room Tip: The canal views are nice, but beware of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 days while on holiday celebrating our 30th anniversary. We were greeted in our room with a gorgeous flower arrangement and card with the best wishes of the management- nice touch!

The room was soooo Venetian: silk wall coverings, lush draperies, fabulous chaise lounge, gilded writing desk and magnificent marble bathroom!

We had a lovely canal view and we weren't at all bothered by morning noise.

Everyplace in Venice is hard to find, but we followed the directions on the website from the Rialto vaporetto stop and we had no trouble even though it was our first time in Venice. There's really no need for a water taxi - it's only a 5 minute walk and you have to learn your way around sometime!

The location is ideal: just a few minutes walk to San Marco, Rialto and the morning market, which is early but totally worth waking up for!

The hotel was great at making dinner reservations and arranging the obligatory gondola ride.

Breakfast was quite extensive, hot and cold dishes. The croissants filled with jam were the best and the waitress was among the friendliest people we met.

On the day we left, our plane was so early we had to leave before breakfast started at 7, yet when we came downstairs, our cappuccinos were waiting for us, along with an early breakfast. It was so appreciated.

Everything about the hotel gushed Venetian charm and elegance, from the Murano chandeliers to the velvet ottoman in the elvator!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenore38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 386 in Venice
2,010 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#39 of 386 in Venice
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Property: Aqua Palace Hotel
Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing