We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #40 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Visited Venice for our wedding anniversary and glad we chose to stay at this charming little hotel.

Very welcoming staff on arrival and quick and efficient check in , we had arrived from Marco Polo airport via personal motor taxi arranged through the hotel and was a great way to start our weekend.

Room was tastefully decorated and clean and tidy with no cause for complaints.

The location of hotel is very good as you are not far from any of the main tourist hot spots but far enough so as to not feel on top of them either.

Staff we're very helpful during our stay and booked us a table for dinner at a local restaurant that we wouldn't of found unless told otherwise , great service and the food was fantastic. was so good we went back again the next night!

Breakfast buffet in hotel was very good and was made all the better by the lady who looks after the diners pleasant manner.

Wouldn't hesitate to anyone to use this hotel and look forward to one day going back and staying here and enjoying Venice again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    262
    47
    7
    1
See reviews for
218
781
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location & easy access to all main sightseeing attractions
This was our first time in venice we wanted to experience a tranquil & charming traditional boutique hotel
We were pleasantly surprised when we first walked in by its glamorous & classy decor. The lovely gentleman @ reception was very polite & distinguished.
We did not expect what followed , my husband asked to be upgraded to a suite and how much it will cost. To our surprise the receptionist replied " no problem sir there will be no extra charge" the suite was 1 st class & we were both delighted . On our return after a nice meal near the hotel we found a bucket of champagne on ice waiting for us .
What a lovely start to our first evening in venice.
The breakfast was delicious with a variety of food ranging from scrambled eggs to fresh fruit & continental assortment of pastries. To top it all up our waitress Sylvia always served us with a chat & a pleasant smile .
Thank you to all the wonderful people who made our stay a positively marvellous & memorable experience , we will indeed be revisiting the aqua palace again.

Room Tip: The bed was a little too firm but it's ok if that is what your used to ! The room 401 I has 3 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. The location is excellent, staff is great and nice size rooms. If you are not yet familiar with Venice, it may be a bit hard to find though. Coming from Rialto, we missed the small street a few times. Coming from San Marco, it was easier. Early Saturday morning, a noisy garbage boat on the canal right below us for a few hours, woke us u, which was not so pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We picked this hotel due to location and price, and it was fabulous. Looked like it had been recently decorated to a very high standard, everything you needed for a weekend break. Location wise it's perfect in between the Rialto bridge and St Marks.

When we checked in we had a room with limited view due to very high windows, so we went and asked if there was an alternative and they were only too happy to assist and found us a lovely ground floor room. Both rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff were lovely and could not help us enough.

breakfast was good, but more than the usual continental and very good quality.

Altogether I would definitely recommend this little hotel as we felt it was very good value given the standard of accommodation and service, and couldn't have been better located.

Only one point is, when there's a high tide, the private taxis can't always get under the bridge to the hotel dropoff, so ours had to leave us at the Rialto bridge, which is only a short walk anyway, but was a shame when you've paid for a private taxi - but this is only subject to excessively high tides anyway.

Room Tip: the Ground floor room was spacious and with a great view of the canal, but also a little noisy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulledandstayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We came from the airport and planned on taking the private taxi but it was 115 euros for a 15 minute boat ride. Don't bother and take the Vapporetto instead. It was my first time to Venice and I was a little nervous about finding my way to the hotel with a large suitcase but it was not a problem at all. I used my google maps GPS and it took me right there. This hotel was so wonderful. The help we received from reception was absolutely the best. They took so much time to help and were so accommodating to our every need. The room we stayed in I think was a Jr. suite and so worth being on the canal I could wake up to that view every day and be happy. The room was huge by European standards. The view was so breathtaking, I teared up. You can get on a gondola at the foot of the hotel. If you don't fall in love again here something is terribly wrong. The shower was huge and water pressure was great. The breakfast was excellent. This place is truly magical and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jones211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Aqua Palace Hotel for 4 nights to celebrate our joint 30th Birthdays (and Valentines day). We booked online in advance and we payed £111 per night for a double room which for a 4 star hotel in the heart of Venice I think represents very good value for money. The hotel was a little tricky to find but once we arrived check-in was swift and we were shown to our room on the first floor. The room was beautiful as was the marble bathroom and both were of excellent size, the only disappointment was that there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room however room service was available. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the location of the hotel is excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBarrowclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

After what seemed like an age we finally found the hotel,which was a welcome relief.
Check in was quick and our room was on the first floor.
We had booked a junior suite, the room was a good size and so was the bathroom.
But the bathroom didn't have a bath! and no coffee or tea facilities in the room either.
This was after all was a junior suite in a 4 Star hotel, a little disappointing.

Breakfast was ok a good selection of hot and cold food.
The staff were all very helpful and efficient.
With the lack of a bar or a restaurant, I cant see how this hotel gets 4stars.

Would I stay here again probably not, I'm sure there are better value hotels in Venice.

Room Tip: We were given 102 on the first floor,it gets a bit noisy first thing when the garbage men come.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicolas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#36 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali
Hotel Ai Reali
#37 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#18 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#8 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Property: Aqua Palace Hotel
Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing