We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzetto da Schio
Ranked #26 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We agree wholeheartedly with all the praise for the Contessa da Schio and the Palazzetto da Schio. We have just completed a wonderful visit there, and without question, it opened up a new Venice for us, one in a picturesque and quiet residential quarter that nonetheless is conveniently located to just about everything. The Contessa is extraordinary, a warm hostess who makes one feel at home in the lovely palazzetto that has been her own home since childhood (one of the apartments used to be her nursery). The apartments themselves (she took us on a tour through all of them) are spacious and comfortable, decorated with family antiques and supplied with what you need exactly where and when you need it. Lots and lots of storage space, appropriate kitchen equipment and utensils (not just left-overs), and hooks in just the right places. She obviously has given a lot of thought to what her guests might need or want, and this shows--in the apartments themselves, and in her graciousness and good humor. What more can we say, except that we plan to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mjmack08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is our second time at the Palazzetto da Schio. On my bucket list is to stay once in all four of the apartments. They are all unique and wonderful, each with its own charm. It is so comfortable and away from the maddening crowds of San Marco, but at the same time easy to access all the attractions in Venice. The owner, the Contessa, is so knowledgeable and helpful, one forgets that we are guests and not family. Ideally located, comfortable/elegant, a perfect place to stay in Venice. One of our favorite travel finds in Italy.

Room Tip: Two apartments are two bedrooms and two are one bedroom. If stairs are a problem, then choose from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BG1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I have just returned from spending the month of October at Palazzetto da Schio, where we felt as if we were honored guests in a sixteenth century palazzetto, which, in fact, we were. Contessa Anna da Schio is charming, quite professional, and very caring. When I sprained my ankle on our first day in Venice, she appeared with ace bandages and anti-inflammatory ointment. Since we were there for four weeks, she had our sheets and towels changed frequently, rather than weekly; at times we would come back from an excursion, only to find that her staff had been there to pick up the kitchen and make our bed for us, none of which we expected. In addition to our being included in a lovely cocktail party one evening with her other guests, I was invited twice for morning coffee with her in her apartment, which is filled with family antiques and other historic mementos. Actually, all of the apartments are furnished with family antiques and art work. When it came time for us to depart, she insisted on waiting for the water taxi with us, at 4:45 a.m.; this is just one example of her graciousness. We could not have been more pleased with our stay at Palazzetto da Schio and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ourselves and another couple stayed here in mid September, when Venice was heaving with the cargo of enormous cruise ships. What a pleasure to stay somewhere so close to the centre, yet just beyond the orbit of the madding crowd. The apartment which overlooks a small canal, consists of two large bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, a lovely sitting room and a well equipped kitchen with laundry facilities. The Contessa was absolutely charming and couldn't do enough for us, whether offering advice about Venice itself, or making sure we had everything we needed to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We had only a bare 10 minute walk to the Accademia Bridge if we wanted to cross the Grand Canal, but better than that, we spent most of our time exploring the Dorsoduro, discovering its many treasures and avoiding the majority of the tourists. We take away with us wonderful memories of a great stay in Venice and hope to return to Palazetto da Schio again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARDENJAUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in apartment #4 for 1 week. Contessa Anna da Schio is quite efficient at running the place and is very accomodating. The bathrooms were nice and the beds were comfortable. We really didn't use the kitchen but it looked amply equipped. If you enjoy the beauty of antiques the apartment will be a treat.
The apartment is on a beautiful canal in Dorsoduro that many stop to photograph. Many people pose on the bridge in front of the palazzetto. Short walks to the Zattere and Santa Maria della Salute, both about a 5 minute walk, makes vaporretto access convenient. Vaporretto line 1 goes from Salute right to Piazza San Marco. The l'Accedemia is a 10-15 minute walk and the Guggenheim is less than 10. The neighborhood charm of Dorsoduro can't be beat.
While staying there we ate locally and afar. Had great meals at Enoteca Ai Artisti (not cheap but so worth it), Ristorante Ribot (great John Dory and Seppia a Neri), and an old favorite Al Giardinetto di Severino (love the gorgonzola gnocchi!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank straightboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

After reading the other TripAdvisor reviews of the Palazzetto da Schio and the Contessa Anna, I have to admit being stumped for anything more I can add, except possibly to say, “Believe them all!”

My wife and I stayed in Apartment 2 for five nights in early April, 2013, and enjoyed every minute. As others have noted the Contessa Anna da Schio makes everything easy--from quick responses to e-mail questions to settling us into the apartment. She is a true jewel, and staying in her home in perhaps the loveliest part of Venice was a very, very special experience.

The apartment is very peaceful, with great afternoon sunlight, lovely furniture, and a terrific, large kitchen--equipped with just about anything you might need. The location just cannot be beat: You are in a very quiet part of Venice, minutes from vaporetto stops on both the Grand Canal and the Zattere, the traghetto stop on the Grand Canal, and with marvelous walks, through the streets and squares, or along the Zattere. The sunset strolls along the Zattere are a memory for a lifetime.

If you are the type of traveler who wants to merge into the daily life of a culture and a place, the Palazzetto da Schio will satisfy you much more than any ordinary hotel experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iaidesignpds, Owner at Palazzetto da Schio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you so much for your kindness: making my guests comfortable is my job but also a great joy when I hear that all went well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed over Easter 2013 for 6 nights with my husband and 16 year old daughter. Everything was made easy by Contessa Anna da Schio from quick, informative replies to my e-mails, excellent directions and lots of useful information to make our stay easier. The apartment was very well equipped with everything we needed, including wellies and a mobile phone and even some english books. Nothing was too much trouble and we really enjoyed our stay here and would definately stay again. Dorsudoro is a lovely part of Venice and we enjoyed walking along the Zatterre to shop, enjoy the atmosphere or get an ice cream, meal or drink. Thank you so much for making our first trip to venice so special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loraine518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Suite in Venice Ai Carmini
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#258 of 476 in Venice
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,170 reviews
Hotel Laguna Residence
#268 of 476 in Venice
50 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzetto da Schio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzetto da Schio

Address: Fondamenta Soranzo | Dorsoduro 316/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range: £115 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzetto da Schio has been my family residence in Venice for a few centuries; the house is XVIth century, and I have completely restored it dividing it into 5 apartments, for myself, my relatives and for my guests.Apt N.1 «PIANO NOBILE» is my own home and it is available for all kinds of parties and receptions.Apt N.2 «TOP FLOOR/WEST» is on the top floor, at the back of the house: the view is very pleasant on the rooftops of Venice and the garden below. It has a bedroom with queen size bed, one bathroom, one sitting room (with a comfortable bed-sofa for a third guest) and a big livable kitchen. Apts N.3 and N.4 «TOP FLOOR/EAST» AND «MEZZANINE-CANAL» are, respectively, on the top floor and on the mezzanine floor. They are available all year round.The plans of these two apartments are very similar: two bedrooms (one with queen size bed, the other with two or three single beds), 2 bathrooms, one sitting room and a small kitchen.The top floor apt. has also a sofa trundle bed for two extra guests.All the rooms are on the front of the house with a very nice view over the canal and plenty of light and sun.Apt N.5 «MEZZANINE-GARDEN» is on the mezzanine floor on the back of the house ; it is very quiet, with a restful view of the garden with its medieval well. It has a bedroom with queen size bed, a living-room with an alcove (elevated from the floor) that has two extra beds, a bathroom and a kitchen.The furniture of all the apartments is mostly antique ranging from the XVII century onwards, but water, gas, electricity and telephone systems are all modern and independent.Each apartment is completely equipped with linen, blankets, kitchen ware, etc.We have Wi-fi Internet connection in the house, free for all the guests.The little garden is at the disposal of all the guests.We are in the Dorsoduro area, very close to the Salute, on Rio della Fornace, which is the second canal joining the Grand Canal to the Giudecca Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Palazzetto da Schio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing