We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and a great introduction to Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzetto da Schio
Ranked #18 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb location and a great introduction to Venice”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were here for 5 days and were made to feel at home as soon as we stepped inside. We had Apartment 3 located on the top floor overlooking the canal and from there also had a wonderful view over the rooftops.
The Contessa greeted us so warmly and showed us around the apartment and the garden with great pride (and quite rightly so).
Anna made sure that we knew where to go for local restaurants and supermarkets so that we did not have to brave the tourist hangouts all the time. Her recommendations were excellent.
The apartment is located about a 3 minute walk from the Traghetto Giglio Salute (crossing the Grand Canal) and about 5 minutes from the Vaporetto No. 1 at Salute. Its about 10 minutes from the Bridge at Accademia (where you can buy Vaporetto tickets).
We walked from the apartment most days, crossing the Grand Canal either by bridge or Traghetto, and really had a wonderful time.
The two dogs are wonderful and definitely more bark than bite, greeting us with great enthusiasm as we went past the Contessa's door each time.
There is a lovely walk around the tip of the Salute point, with great views over to the island of San Giorgio and to the Ducal Palace and Basilica.
Our only recommendation to Contessa Anna was the introduction of a guestbook where guests could write their own recommendations rather than having to keep asking her.
We will definitely be back to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna D, Proprietario at Palazzetto da Schio, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
The idea of a guestbook is great! I am already thinking of having one in each apartment. Thank you for such a good suggestion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I were here several days in late May on the recommendation of friends who had stayed here on multiple occasions for longer periods of time. We had a top floor apartment facing the garden. It was spacious, light, and we enjoyed the garden and rooftop views. We found the location ideal. We walked to all tourist spots easily as well as the less trafficked Cannaregio and Castello districts. The Contessa and her daughter were both charming and businesslike. They had very helpful maps and recommendations (grocers, restaurants, etc) as well. While there we felt part of the neighborhood. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blair f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna D, Manager at Palazzetto da Schio, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Getting to know our guests adds fun to our job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is hard to imagine that we would ever stay anywhere but the the Palazzetto da Schio when visiting Venice. This was our second stay in as many years and this visit was just as fabulous as the first. On this visit we stayed in the two bedroom apartment that is located on the top floor. It was comfortable, roomy, and thoughtfully furnished with family art and antique furniture. The Contessa Anna da Schio, who is the owner of the property, is a delightful, welcoming hostesses. In addition to thoroughly orienting all visitors to the apartment and the neighborhood, she goes out of her way to provide friendly help, when needed. On this occasion one of the members of our group was suffering from a bad cold. She immediately offered an over-the-counter remedy to assist with the symptoms. Note: if you are a dog-lover, you can enjoy fun interactions with Webby, the Contessa da Schio's small affectionate dog.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments overlook the canal, the one bedroom apartments overlook the garden. All a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan55612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna D, Owner at Palazzetto da Schio, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I am always happy to take care of my guests, I understand that even a cold can be a big problem to solve in a foreign country and language. Webby has such a success with most of my guests that I am thinking about adding her to the attractions of Palazzetto da Schio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have just spent an absolutely blissful week in Venice, made all the more blissful by staying at the Palazzetto da Schio.

Apartment 2 at the top of the house has three charming, generously-sized rooms – an elegant sitting room, a thoughtfully equipped kitchen / dining room, and a comfortable bedroom – as well as a bathroom with a roofscape view to die for! The décor and furnishings are extremely refined but at the same time homely and very comfortable. The surroundings are quiet and peaceful, though only a stone’s throw from the hurly burly of the Grand Canal, with excellent connections to all parts of the city (and the airport) from a choice of vaporetto stops all within minutes’ walk of the front door. A stroll along the Zattere will take you past floating restaurant and pizzeria terraces, a delicious ice cream parlour (Nico) and a supermarket and there are other shops, cafés etc tucked away all over the neighbourhood, of which our host provided an invaluable annotated map of her own devising.

The Contessa da Schio is indeed the perfect host, combining the efficiency of a professional with the warmth of a friend. There was nothing we could need that she had not already thought of. Our neighbours on the top floor had been coming to the Palazzetto da Schio from the States several times a year for many years and clearly felt entirely at home, as did we, too, on what was only our first – but definitely not our last – visit.

Room Tip: The apartments vary in size. Choose the one that suits you. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna D, Owner at Palazzetto da Schio, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for the review, I am blushing up to my ears!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A delightful property in an excellent location: on a beautiful canal, but at the quieter end so not too overrun with tourists. About 5 minutes' walk to the Guggenheim, 10 to the Accademia. Self catering, but only 15 minutes' walk at most to the supermarket, along a very pleasant promenade looking over to Giudecca and two beautiful churches. 5 minutes' walk takes you to a public gondola service ('Traghetto') which operates from 9 till 6 and takes you to within 5 minutes' walk of St Mark's Square. Excellent ice cream shop Nico's is close, and some good but family friendly pizzerias. The owner Comtessa da Schio lives on the first floor and is extremely welcoming and helpful, she provides a local map with useful places marked on it. Our apartment overlooked the canal which was very pleasant. The kitchen in that particular flat was a bit small, though: one would not wish to be doing very large amounts of cooking there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna D, Proprietario at Palazzetto da Schio, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for the review and sorry for the kitchen! It is a peculiar feature of this house that the largest apartment has the smallest kitchen and the smallest apartment has the biggest, which was the original kitchen of the house when we lived in it as one home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a most enjoyable 10 night stay in Apartment 2 in the Palazzetto da Schio from 23 March to 2 April 2014. Contessa Anna gave us excellent directions for finding the Palazzetto which were easy to follow. The apartment is on the top floor, which is about 45 steps from street level, and overlooks a lovely garden which is available for use by guests. We were the first guests to use the Contessa’s luggage winch, which worked well. The Contessa greeted us warmly on arrival and gave us a very thorough briefing on the apartment. She also gave us a detailed map with local restaurants, cafes, shops, supermarkets and sights marked on it, which proved very handy.

The apartment itself is lovely and light and very tastefully decorated, and in early spring it was great to have the afternoon sun shining into the three rooms. Having the large kitchen enabled us to take advantage of the offerings at the well stocked local Billa supermarket, the various fruit and vegetable markets and the Rialto fish market. Having a washing machine and huge clothes drying rack was also a great plus. The bed was extremely comfortable and the apartment was very quiet. The lounge room has two very comfortable chairs for reading and an equally comfortable sofa. There’s also a comprehensive library with books in a range of languages and the cleaner comes in every few days.

We enjoyed the Dorsoduro area very much. It has more than its fair share of interesting sights, and in our view is a much nicer place to be than the crowded San Marco area. Even so, it’s only an interesting 15 minute walk to the Piazza San Marco.

Prospective guests should note that the apartment is just that, and you need to provide all of your own supplies, such as salt and pepper, cooking oil, gladwrap, etc. and only initial supplies of toilet paper, washing powder and dishwashing powder were provided. For this reason it may not suit short stay guests.

The only problem we encountered was with the intermittent internet connection, seemingly a common problem in Venice. Asking the Contessa to reboot the router usually improved things, at least temporarily.

Overall Palazzetto da Schio is a wonderful place to stay, and we’d happily come back for a longer visit, particularly if we could be guaranteed the fabulous weather we enjoyed during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctrunfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna D, Proprietario at Palazzetto da Schio, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
I am grateful for such a wonderful report. I'm doing my best to improve internet connection, notwithstanding the difficulties I want to bring it up to specs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My family and I loved staying at Palazzetto da Schio. The location was perfect, walking distance to just about everywhere, yet very close to the waterbus if desired. Dorsoduro is not too crowded, and has some interesting shops, galleries and restaurants.
The apartment was spacious, which was lucky as we encountered 3 days of non stop rain, fortunately we had a lovely sitting area and spacious bedrooms with canal views, so when we didn't feel like going out, we didn't feel like we were missing out on the tourist experience, we also enjoyed the use of furniture that would be in museums in Australia! On a practical note, the washing machine and dryer was another bonus.
Contessa da Schio is an interesting and very thoughtful host.
Venice was my favourite city in Italy, and I am sure such great accommodation influenced this decision. I would love to stay here again one day.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MarelleDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna D, Proprietario at Palazzetto da Schio, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
I am happy when my guests feel comfortable and at home in my apartments, even on rainy days. I am also proud of my family forniture and I am glad to share it with my caring visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#8 of 385 in Venice
646 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#35 of 385 in Venice
1,566 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Salute Palace
Hotel Salute Palace
#182 of 385 in Venice
43 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,906 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzetto da Schio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzetto da Schio

Property: Palazzetto da Schio
Address: Fondamenta Soranzo (Rio della Fornace) | Dorsoduro 316/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzetto da Schio has been my family residence in Venice for a few centuries; the house is XVIth century, and I have completely restored it dividing it into 5 apartments, for myself, my relatives and for my guests.Apt N.1 «PIANO NOBILE» is my own home and it is available for all kinds of parties and receptions.Apt N.2 «TOP FLOOR/WEST» is on the top floor, at the back of the house: the view is very pleasant on the rooftops of Venice and the garden below. It has a bedroom with queen size bed, one bathroom, one sitting room (with a comfortable bed-sofa for a third guest) and a big livable kitchen. Apts N.3 and N.4 «TOP FLOOR/EAST» AND «MEZZANINE-CANAL» are, respectively, on the top floor and on the mezzanine floor. They are available all year round.The plans of these two apartments are very similar: two bedrooms (one with queen size bed, the other with two or three single beds), 2 bathrooms, one sitting room and a small kitchen.The top floor apt. has also a sofa trundle bed for two extra guests.All the rooms are on the front of the house with a very nice view over the canal and plenty of light and sun.Apt N.5 «MEZZANINE-GARDEN» is on the mezzanine floor on the back of the house ; it is very quiet, with a restful view of the garden with its medieval well. It has a bedroom with queen size bed, a living-room with an alcove (elevated from the floor) that has two extra beds, a bathroom and a kitchen.The furniture of all the apartments is mostly antique ranging from the XVII century onwards, but water, gas, electricity and telephone systems are all modern and independent.Each apartment is completely equipped with linen, blankets, kitchen ware, etc.We have Wi-fi Internet connection in the house, free for all the guests.The little garden is at the disposal of all the guests.We are in the Dorsoduro area, very close to the Salute, on Rio della Fornace, which is the second canal joining the Grand Canal to the Giudecca Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Palazzetto da Schio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing