We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe consider elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ostello Santa Fosca
Ranked #48 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Maybe consider elsewhere”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

I arrived early to the hostel after taking a night train. The staff were unhelpful, unfriendly and borderline rude. Their attitude was 'leave your bag go away and come back later'. I came back much later in the day. A different receptionist had much the same poor attitude. City maps seem to be given to guests periodically. With not all guest receiving one.

The hostel is very difficult to find from the train station. Once your their the location ok on one of the main islands and about 30minute walk from St. Mark's Square. The Wi-Fi only worked in reception.

The hostel is decorated with many patronising signs telling what you can and can't do. One of the signs details the 00.30 curfew which seriously limits your options. These signs make you feel as if your still at school and detracted from the hostel. The hostel is also very strict on rules many of which are dictated to you through signs on the walls.

I stayed in a 4 bed room which was ok. Set in a fairly run down outbuilding. The room had a bathroom, the shower wasn't wall mounted and flooded the bathroom within minutes of being in use. The room was equipped with two lockers (for four people) which didn't lock. The rooms could also do with air-con as it was hot and sticky at night. The hostel did have a nice garden to sit in at night and there is a supermarket close by to buy beer and food.

The value of money wasn't great considering the quality of the hostel and the payment of city tax (extra €2.50 per night). I definitely won't return and would encourage others to seek other places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Interailtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ostello santa f... o, Direttore at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
dear interailt
we have read your comment and would like to underline few aspects
- arriving in the morning in a hostel does not mean you can enter the room immediatly. we are sorry if the staff wasn't friendly enough, but we gave you the same indications we give to all; free luggage deposit at your disposal untill check in time! please consider the fact that in summer time we give hospitality every day to 100 tourist, the reception is crowded and our staff very busy!
-city maps are given to all, in case we forgott for some reason it s easy, just ask!
- the hostel is just 10 min walk from the train station, many guest on arrival say it's very easy to find, maybe it was your first time in venice and heavy luggage normally dont help. next time check out the written indications we give to all reguarding the road to follow!
- all over the hostel, as you say ,we provide general indications reguarding our timeing; we believe it s a service we offer, we are surprised you consider it a negative aspect. how else should we inform you?during check in we give basic informations since we don't what guest to wait in line so long
- we are sure you read about curfew before booking, we understand it s a limitation, maybe you should have found a cheap hostel in the historical center of venice without curfew....
thank you for remarking the fact we have a beautiful garden and several out side areas in wich all guests can relax and meat each other; the supermarket you mention is just few steps away for the hostel. we are very lucky to have it so close!
ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    70
    52
    22
    19
See reviews for
8
28
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kyyiv, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Ostello Santa Fosca is a perfect place to stay in Venice. The best thing about it is its location - just at the center of the town, although it was a little bit difficult to find it at first. We booked a room for 6 people, but somehow we were put in the one for 3, and another person didnt arrive, so we had our own room! :D The room was huge! There was a desk, small night table and shelves for each person, and still there were so much space! The bathroom didnt actually have lockers, it was a little bit confusing :D But at least it was clean. One of the receptionists wasnt very nice when we asked for another one map. Anyway, I would suggest this hostel to everyone :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha_882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

The location is absolutely this hostel's biggest advantage. The rooms are clean and the staff is fairly friendly. A big disadvantage is that the gate closes at 00.30 and you need to be back by then. The kitchen is fairly well equipped, and quite clean, but it is not open at all times. Everywhere in the hostel are notes that tell you what not to do in a way that made me feel like a child from time to time. This hostel gives you ok value for the money (considered how central it is), especially if you don't have a problem with being back before 00.30.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vildekst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had 4 nights at this place as anything else booking was not possible. In general, it is normal for the price we paid, but not the best it could be. The curfew is really uncomfortable for young people when you want to walk at night. The room and bed were also not comfortable, but not very bad. The staff was friendly, but the atmosphere of communication I did not have as in other youth hostels. Otherwise, everything was normal.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for accommodation in the annex building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmelieL0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We were staying here during carnevale venezia and the place was packed out, we were lucky we booked early. We found the place ok as we asked for a few directions and it was about a 20 min walk from the train station. We arrived just on time as they were about to close the desk for the afternoon. They have a really strange curfew system for the front desk which was very annoying as you could not use the common room either. I was in a room area that didn't have wifi either and you have to purchase 1-hour wifi codes from the front desk so in the end I had to sit outside the common room in the snow to be able to get online.

CURFEW - The worst part of the hostel though is that they kick you out of your room at 9am-midday for cleaning. We had a lot of late nights for carnival and the worst thing you can imagine is a cleaning lady coming in and telling you that you have to leave and go to the common area for 3 hours while she cleans the place. I expect that when you paid for a bed then you can stay in it during the whole length of your stay! So be wary of this if you're planning on drinking and partying late.

There also wasn't much of a hostel feel either with people gathered in the common room, but overall it was a good price for having a bed during carnival (during which most hostels charge through the roof) and it was right near a lot of good location so I would recommend it but not for extended stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. It was ok. Location is very good - close to everything - sights and supermarket. The hostel isn't wow but it's nice, with a big kitchen, inner courtyard, friendly stuff. I wouldn't stay there for a long time but for 1-2 nights especillally if you have no other options - it's a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ost-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Previous reviews are pretty spot on the curfew could be a problem if there was anything to do in Venice at night which there isn't! We accommodated in a building outside the main compound which meant there was no curfew. The bathrooms were filthy very small no place to put your toiletries, they flooded no fan or window. The room we were in wasn't too bad but one bathroom and a seperate toilet which due to the tiny size and lack of functionality meant it took 2-3 times the amount of time to actually shower meant there was some real bladder issues. The obligitory squeeky beds were in evidence. If you are after a fun time try somewhere else it speaks volumes about a town when the locals leave to have a good time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Smart Holiday Hostel
Smart Holiday Hostel
#119 of 219 in Venice
11 reviews
Cannaregio
Veniceluxury
Veniceluxury
#131 of 219 in Venice
47 reviews
Cannaregio
We_Crociferi
We_Crociferi
#9 of 219 in Venice
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Silk Road Hostel
Silk Road Hostel
#29 of 219 in Venice
78 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Castello
Ca'Sa Linger
Ca'Sa Linger
#159 of 219 in Venice
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello Santa Fosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello Santa Fosca

Property: Ostello Santa Fosca
Address: Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a cheap accomodation in the center of venice? Ostello Santa Fosca is the property for you! We offer basic double rooms and dorms ( mixed or only female) at very affordable prices. Walking distance: 10 min from Rialto bridge 15 min from SMark Square 10 min from train station SLucia 15 min from Piazzale Roma ( bus terminal) 3 min from big supermarket FREE WIFI CONNECTION FREE CITY MAP FREE LUGGAGE DEPOSIT FREE BOARDING PASS PRINTING WINTER TIME SCHEDULE ( from half September to half june) Reception time table 9am-12 3pm-8pm No curfew Breakfast service 1 euro No kitchen available 8 euro extra cost for arrival after 8 pm SUMMER TIME SCHEDULE ( from half june to half september) Reception time table from 8am to half past midnight non stop Curfew at half past midnight Big courtyard Kitchen available 8am -10am and from 1.30 pm to 11 pm 8 euro extra cost for arrival after 8 pm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ostello Santa Fosca Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing