We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ostello Santa Fosca
Ranked #44 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Extremely basic”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The hostel was extremely basic.
The room was very hot as the fan was so high on te ceiling it did not affect the temperature of the room.
The bathrooms were decent with a relatively powerful shower. The only problem was the large number of school groups who took over the bathrooms for up to an hour. So it was key to miss that rush.
The lack of breakfast proved an annoyance as the fridges were packed with other people's food with no room for ours.
The payment is made on arrival with a €8 city tax added to the expense.
However the hostel is in a good location on regards to vaperetto stations and a high street with many shops and restaurants.
The staff also were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImogenWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    68
    52
    22
    18
See reviews for
8
28
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hostel is located in a quiet area. It is great for meeting other travelers. You have to book way ahead in order to stay at this hostel. Most of the staff was not welcoming or helpful. You can stay at one star hotels for the same price and enjoy a private room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n00lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was a strange kind of place, it seemed to be shared university accommodation rented out as a hostel during the summer although some year-long residents were still there... The building itself was not so difficult to find from the station but the entrance was, there were no clear indications other than signs saying 'this is NOT the entry to the hostel' ! :) Rooms were very spartan and not very spacious, quite hot though there was an overhead fan on the high ceiling. The showers had nowhere to put your things inside or out while you were washing. Similarly the toilet didn't have lock. Overall, it was amusing enough for one night and very cheap for Venise. there is a curfew at half past midnight which is a real pity as Venise is lovely in the early hours of the day....Luggage can be left at reception if you are leaving later than check out time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luce_del_mattino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Location looked near on the map but was actually very hard to find. There was no specific signpost or board with the hostel's name on it, except one sign that simply said "hostel".

Requested for four beds together but upon arrival was given separate rooms to sleep in with other travellers.

Ventilation in the room was terrible and humid with many mosquitoes at night. Was also rather noisy at midnight and walls were so thin you could hear the activities of other people outside. We could even feel the floor vibrating when people moved around outside.

Kitchen was in a terrible state, cups were oily and dirty, electric kettle had strange white particles inside.

Also got a shock when a man walked into the toilet when it was supposed to be a female dorm. Not sure if this was anyone's fault, but certainly clearer instructions could have been put around to tell people that it's females only?

Perhaps the only plus side of this place is the friendly receptionists.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ostello santa f... o, Direttore at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
dear chanyyyy
thank you very much for writing about our friendly staff! it s a very importat aspect for us to be nice and kind with our guests.
we are sorry for the bad experience of the man entering the female bathroom; please let me underline we have female only areas that are on purpose far from mixed/only male areas. And indications written clearly; we can't do much more!
in summer time we offer a kitchen open all day long that is very appreciated by all guests; we take care of the cleanning of the kitchen twice a day, and ask all guests to respect and clean all items they use, unfortunatly we are not always so lucky...
ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

I arrived early to the hostel after taking a night train. The staff were unhelpful, unfriendly and borderline rude. Their attitude was 'leave your bag go away and come back later'. I came back much later in the day. A different receptionist had much the same poor attitude. City maps seem to be given to guests periodically. With not all guest receiving one.

The hostel is very difficult to find from the train station. Once your their the location ok on one of the main islands and about 30minute walk from St. Mark's Square. The Wi-Fi only worked in reception.

The hostel is decorated with many patronising signs telling what you can and can't do. One of the signs details the 00.30 curfew which seriously limits your options. These signs make you feel as if your still at school and detracted from the hostel. The hostel is also very strict on rules many of which are dictated to you through signs on the walls.

I stayed in a 4 bed room which was ok. Set in a fairly run down outbuilding. The room had a bathroom, the shower wasn't wall mounted and flooded the bathroom within minutes of being in use. The room was equipped with two lockers (for four people) which didn't lock. The rooms could also do with air-con as it was hot and sticky at night. The hostel did have a nice garden to sit in at night and there is a supermarket close by to buy beer and food.

The value of money wasn't great considering the quality of the hostel and the payment of city tax (extra €2.50 per night). I definitely won't return and would encourage others to seek other places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Interailtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ostello santa f... o, Direttore at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
dear interailt
we have read your comment and would like to underline few aspects
- arriving in the morning in a hostel does not mean you can enter the room immediatly. we are sorry if the staff wasn't friendly enough, but we gave you the same indications we give to all; free luggage deposit at your disposal untill check in time! please consider the fact that in summer time we give hospitality every day to 100 tourist, the reception is crowded and our staff very busy!
-city maps are given to all, in case we forgott for some reason it s easy, just ask!
- the hostel is just 10 min walk from the train station, many guest on arrival say it's very easy to find, maybe it was your first time in venice and heavy luggage normally dont help. next time check out the written indications we give to all reguarding the road to follow!
- all over the hostel, as you say ,we provide general indications reguarding our timeing; we believe it s a service we offer, we are surprised you consider it a negative aspect. how else should we inform you?during check in we give basic informations since we don't what guest to wait in line so long
- we are sure you read about curfew before booking, we understand it s a limitation, maybe you should have found a cheap hostel in the historical center of venice without curfew....
thank you for remarking the fact we have a beautiful garden and several out side areas in wich all guests can relax and meat each other; the supermarket you mention is just few steps away for the hostel. we are very lucky to have it so close!
ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Ostello Santa Fosca is a perfect place to stay in Venice. The best thing about it is its location - just at the center of the town, although it was a little bit difficult to find it at first. We booked a room for 6 people, but somehow we were put in the one for 3, and another person didnt arrive, so we had our own room! :D The room was huge! There was a desk, small night table and shelves for each person, and still there were so much space! The bathroom didnt actually have lockers, it was a little bit confusing :D But at least it was clean. One of the receptionists wasnt very nice when we asked for another one map. Anyway, I would suggest this hostel to everyone :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha_882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

The location is absolutely this hostel's biggest advantage. The rooms are clean and the staff is fairly friendly. A big disadvantage is that the gate closes at 00.30 and you need to be back by then. The kitchen is fairly well equipped, and quite clean, but it is not open at all times. Everywhere in the hostel are notes that tell you what not to do in a way that made me feel like a child from time to time. This hostel gives you ok value for the money (considered how central it is), especially if you don't have a problem with being back before 00.30.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vildekst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Veniceluxury
Veniceluxury
#101 of 219 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
#6 of 219 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Silk Road Hostel
Silk Road Hostel
#30 of 219 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca'Sa Linger
Ca'Sa Linger
#157 of 219 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Santa Croce
L'Imbarcadero
L'Imbarcadero
#42 of 219 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Castello
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
#124 of 219 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello Santa Fosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello Santa Fosca

Property: Ostello Santa Fosca
Address: Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a cheap accomodation in the center of venice? Ostello Santa Fosca is the property for you! We offer basic double rooms and dorms ( mixed or only female) at very affordable prices. Walking distance: 10 min from Rialto bridge 15 min from SMark Square 10 min from train station SLucia 15 min from Piazzale Roma ( bus terminal) 3 min from big supermarket FREE WIFI CONNECTION FREE CITY MAP FREE LUGGAGE DEPOSIT FREE BOARDING PASS PRINTING WINTER TIME SCHEDULE ( from half September to half june) Reception time table 9am-12 3pm-8pm No curfew Breakfast service 1 euro No kitchen available 8 euro extra cost for arrival after 8 pm SUMMER TIME SCHEDULE ( from half june to half september) Reception time table from 8am to half past midnight non stop Curfew at half past midnight Big courtyard Kitchen available 8am -10am and from 1.30 pm to 11 pm 8 euro extra cost for arrival after 8 pm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ostello Santa Fosca Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing