We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ostello Santa Fosca
Nearby Hotels
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
48
73
54
22
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
73
54
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed female dormuniversity accommodationshared roomnice kitchenaffordable stayno air concommon areaschecking intucked awaylocksinkscanalsupermarketmainlandkeyscannaregio
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My roommates were lovely, and the place is in a quiet enough area. The room was horrible (as to be expected sometimes from a hostel with such a low price) I got lost getting there as it is very hard to find and most importantly I GOT EATEN ALIVE!!!! I left Venice early because my body was destroyed by the insects that I encountered here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrotterNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ostello santa f... o, Responsabile reception at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

dear richard
we are very sorry to have read your comment
please note we are in the very center of venice, few steps away from the train station and the rialto bridge; venice can be confusing if it was your first time walking around.
the most important aspect is the matter of bedbugs; please note we take the matter very seriously and check all beds and rooms monthly. we therfour cannot accept your comment. if in the past other clients have brought bedbugs from other hostels we have immedialty called our tecnichians!
ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and was happy with it. I stayed in a 7 bed female dorm. My room was very clean and a good size, and had a mixture of bunks and single beds. We had our own bathroom, which was clean. The room doesn't have air cond, but does have a fan. Be sure to close the window at night, as we had lots of mosquitoes and moths fly in! The staff were very friendly and helpful when checking in and out. The kitchen and common room were both nice, clean and efficient. There was wifi, but it was slow and kept dropping out. The hostel had lockout times for cleaning, and night curfews. The location of the hostel was really good. I was happy with everything, and would come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend - I wish we had checked Trip Advisor first! It's located relatively central which makes it an easy base to explore Venice from, however it also means it's a long walk with bags to the trains/buses.

The room was dirty, the pillows the thinnest I've ever seen and there was no fan or a/c and it was very hot. The bathrooms were so gross I only showered out of necessity and the toilets didn't have seats on them - something I can deal with in public toilets but not a hostel.

The staff were not particularly friendly either and having a curfew was simply ridiculous - we are adults after all!

I can't say in strong enough words how bad this place it - it pretty much tarnished our view of Venice as we were so miserable in that 'hostel'.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different place. Anywhere but here!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoAngelNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ostello santa f... o, Direttore at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

dear noangelnz
we are sorry to read such comments
please note the fact that we had a curfew at half past midnight was clearly wirtten when you reserved our hostel. you could have decided before booking that this could have caused you problems.
all bathrooms and rooms are cleaned daily by our staff; since it's shared areas arriving in the afternoon you could have found them not in perfect conditions if other guests didin't properly behave.
your friend after all did suggest our hostel to you! he probably had a good experience!
we are sorry if the staff at the reception hasen't been enough friendly, and we are also sorry if you found no seats on the toilets; in fact this summer we had to change several of them because broken, and it took one day to settle them all.
we are glad you appreciated the central position of the hostel!
ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Bad rooms, awful shower, curfew, but good staff and location. Hard to find, bad atmosphere, no curtains. Use it only if you don't really have any other variants. We were staing there for 2 days and it was theworst time in our travel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HikerWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ostello santa f... o, Direttore at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

dear sashasvet
the title of your comment is not fair enough if you consider our staff and location good!
the fact you had the imprecion it was hard to find depends that it was probably your first time in venice; we are just 10 min walk between the train station and rialto bridge, behind the main road!
we are sorry curfew matter has been a problem, we are sure you have read about it before booking!
our rooms are basic, we don't undestand your comment; all bathrooms ( showers and toilets) are daily cleaned. If the situacion was so bad you could have told the reception about it, you could have checked with you and in case provided.
ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The hostel was extremely basic.
The room was very hot as the fan was so high on te ceiling it did not affect the temperature of the room.
The bathrooms were decent with a relatively powerful shower. The only problem was the large number of school groups who took over the bathrooms for up to an hour. So it was key to miss that rush.
The lack of breakfast proved an annoyance as the fridges were packed with other people's food with no room for ours.
The payment is made on arrival with a €8 city tax added to the expense.
However the hostel is in a good location on regards to vaperetto stations and a high street with many shops and restaurants.
The staff also were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImogenWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews