We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can I say here forever?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca' Zora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' Zora
Ranked #88 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can I say here forever?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Fantastic location. Great apartment. Cozy. Nice beds and bathrooms. Kitchen nook was more than ample for simple meals. Filippo was amazingly helpful and friendly. We will be back! Oh, we shared the place with our friends - another couple - and there was plenty of space for everyone. Our flight left Marco Polo airport really early...Filippo arranged for an early-morning boat taxi with Tony...everything worked like clockwork. Grazie mille, ragazzi!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at Ca' Zora for 2 nights and had a fantastic stay. The location is excellent, very close to the Rialto and San Marco square. The owners took us through all of the local sights and recommended some local restaurants which were both excellent and cheap (€0.80 for a glass of red wine!). Breakfast was fairly basic but did the job, and water pressure was quite low (read a trickle) but these were minor issues overall, as the service and advice of the owners more than made up for any issues. I would recommend Ca' Zora to friends and family (have already done so), and to anybody else looking for well located, reasonably priced accommodation in Venice, 2 situations that are all to rare in a town renowned for its high prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparr0w81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

The best things about this place are 1) the two guys who run the place and their incredible helpfulness and kindness and 2) the location, literally 5 minutes walk from San Marco square. We had 4 kids tagging along and stayed in the "suite" - a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom apartment - where we spent two comfortable nights. We paid EUR 30 per head per night without breakfast, which we felt was extremely good value for money. I understand that one could have breakfast if desired. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanosala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at Ca Zora for 4 nights and after spending a week in a rather average B&B in Rome this place was perfect. It is just 5 minutes away from San Marco and a major boat stop (from which you can also go to all of the islands) and there is also a supermarket next door and a public laundry.
The room was clean, the bed soft and comfortable, had aircon and wi-fi in the room and you can even choose what you want for breakfast.
The owners were were friendly and helpful.
Definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anutka_milashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Ca zora is well located with a friendly host. For breakfast we had bread with egg, cheese, ham, some fruit, and coffee. The room was as described and what we needed for our short stay. A comfortable bed and a clean bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkkki1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalvAnTourism, Proprietario at Ca' Zora, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Very very thank you for your review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay by us and you understand the essence of Ca' Zora.

We hope to see you again in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

What a treat! We wanted to do a quick, impromptu stay in Venice without spending too much on accommodations and without being stuck in a touristy hotel (despite being just that ourselves.) Ca'Zora was perfect for my husband and me. Our room was essentially a large apartment located in the heart of things, but close enough to the edge to be quiet and calming. This is not a "normal" hotel, so folks who do not stray from hotel chains with air conditioning and room service will be disappointed. Instead of air conditioning, we opened the courtyard windows and slept in the sultry summer heat mixed with laughter and conversation from the adjoining buildings and streets. That always makes me smile. Our host gave us some "out of the way" restaurants to try out in north Venice and otherwise let us alone. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalvAnTourism, Proprietario at Ca' Zora, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Very very thank you for your review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay by us and you understand the essence of Ca' Zora. And thank you again for compliments about breakfast!

We hope to see you again in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

I don't know where these good comments arise as this place is a disgrace to the bed and breakfast industry. You can not classify 'Ca Zora' a Bed and Breakfast but rather a 'hostel'

We arrived on 4th May to a dirty bedroom as the owners thought we were to arrive the next day (even after I received an email on the 4th asking my arrival time on the specific check-in day)

The room we were supposed to be staying in had a leak, so Salvatore said he would 'upgrade' us to the apartment. ( more like a degrade)

We stayed the first night, however I had to boil the kettle several times to have warm bath the next morning. I'm also confused as to where the good comments for the breakfast come from? I woke up to find a pot of jam, a half empty and used juice bottle, and a pasta packet ( containing 5 spaghetti shells in it) Oh, and espresso powder with no machine to make it in. The milk in the fridge could not be used as we weren't even provided coffee or tea?
I then knocked on the door and phoned Salvatore to enquire about the breakfast and what I should spread the jam on and how to make the espresso without a machine.

He explained this was 'Italian Style' breakfast and that the previous people must have taken the espresso machine!

Id heard enough and we instantly packed our bags to leave.

The website and reviews are nothing as they seem!!! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalvAnTourism, Proprietario at Ca' Zora, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Hi,

we are deeply sorry about your bad experience. However we think your review is unfair.

Indeed, we messed up with your arrival date and we apologized several times about that. Anyway, while you were out for the aperitif / dinner we clean it up. Anyway, in a hour your apartment was clean and ready. Giving us 1 star on 5 about cleanliness sounds to us false.

About hot water, when you left we checked and the water was warm enough to have a shower (as the one of you did, as he told us in the morning). Also some guests that have been in that apartment few days after you have got no problem at with that. It's a bathtub, not a steam bath.

About breakfast, as we told you at arrival, in rental apartments it's not a innkeepers' duty serve the breakfast. We like to give some ingredients to our Guests to prepare it by themselves as courtesy. When you knocked on our door in the morning, it wasn't a duty of ours give you the bread, but we did (as we usually do if it's available). What if you used to have exotic fruit for breakfast, would you knock to us looking for it?

As long as the coffee pot. We haven't noticed that it has been taken. However in the morning we gave you another one.

We have nice to you, when you told us we should keep the deposit (that it wasn't actually enough for one night), we accept it. We helped you in any way and you still give us 1 star on 5 about staff?

It doesn't seem to us you got any sleeping problem, so why giving us only one point for the quality of sleep?

This is why we consider your review unfair and we hope our future Guests who read this review consider that as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bed And Breakfast Ca' Luisa
San Marco
Casa Fenice
Casa Fenice
#86 of 469 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
#5 of 216 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#38 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#129 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Zora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Zora

Property: Ca' Zora
Address: Castello, Ramo Grimani 4860, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now picture this. You walk in. The photos you've seen on internet are fakes. Where you are in, it's actually a stinking dark wet hole. The bed is a bed-bugs house and the bathroom resembles a crackhouse. That's because you haven't booked my house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ca' Zora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing