We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Place, good location”
Review of Ca' Zora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' Zora
Ranked #89 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Venice
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious Place, good location”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The size of the "apartment" was big and well equipt with mostly everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and the location was accessible to everything. It took a while for the place to warm up, which was freezing when we arrived. Also, the communication between us and the owner was near to nothing. The kitchen was the plus. The towels were very crunchy and smelt like chlorine, but clean, and the shower/bathroom had a funny smell to it. When we go back to Venice it is likely we will look for a different place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseTrotter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Ca' Zora. We had a spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment with lounge and kitchen. The Filipo gave us a map and highlighted the sights and some great places to eat. We try a few and the food was amazing. The apartment is in a great location, close to St Marks Square, but not too close so you dont feel like your surrounded by tourists. The only thing was you could only get wifi in the lounge room. Other than that, everything was wonderful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megswalendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
io_mento, Proprietario at Ca' Zora, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review, it's fantastic!

About the Wi-Fi, we are looking for a solution to power-up the signal. we hope to solve it soon!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Ca Zora is conveniently located - 5 mins from St Marks yet in cheap local area - and was a great find. Everything was clean, the air con worked well and the whole place was very spacious. The kitchen facilities were fine. Owner gave us helpful tips etc. too, which was very useful.
The only issue we really had was with wifi - we couldn't get it at all in the bottom floor apartment and had to go on the stairs (not part of our apartment) for the rest of the building to receive it. Other than that everything was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fridgebridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
io_mento, Owner at Ca' Zora, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you guys for the nice review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a spacious apartment with living area, separate bedroom, small kitchenette (included grill,sink, portable stove, pans, cooking utensils, lots of cutlery) and clean bathroom.
Filipo checked us in he was very helpful giving us suggestions to where you can find local venetian cuisine without the crazy tourist price tag.
It was easy to find,5-8 min walk from san zaccaria vaporetto stop, close to san Marco sq and close to supermarket (coop).
There are 2 improvements i would suggest to make the stay excellent:
1) bed bugs!
2) lighting was not as bright as i would have liked.
Paid 110€ per night overall i would recommend this stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
io_mento, Proprietario at Ca' Zora, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you so much for the great review!

Just one thing. There was no bed bugs! Bed bugs are a plague for any innkeeper in the world. And if you get them, you need to get the room cleaned by specialists. It happen to everyone everywhere in the world. We double-checked the room when we read this and there was no bed bugs. You probably got confused with mosquitos. About that, next time, come to us and ask to the anti-mosquito device.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This was the bait and switch place I mentioned in my glowing review of Hotel Scandinavia. We were shown photographs of a beautifully furnished apartment and given something bordering on a tenement. The only positive thing is that it was clean. There was no hot water, The TV had broken switches, the stove was broken, the plaster was peeling an concealed behind some sort of chalkboards. We asked for breakfast at a certain time. We waited 30 mintes after the appointed time and then packed our stuff and left. This one night cost us 200 euro as we had to prepay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fischerpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalvAnTourism, Proprietario at Ca' Zora, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guest,

we are deeply sorry for your bad experience at Ca' Zora. However, we'd like to point out few things that can't be true.

We want to begin saying where you are completely right: at that time the apartment where you stayed in hasn't been restored yet. So, the wall behind a decorative panel placed began to peel off. Last summer the bedroom walls has been restored, so now it is not a problem at all.

There are few points of your review that we can't accept anyway. TV and the stove that you mention to be broken have been working since we opened up on March 2010. For safety sometimes we pull the plug: of course any reasonable person in the world would check the plug in before settling with the idea of not-working device.

As the TV and the stove, the heating was perfectly working. We know the water heater sometimes can be a bit slow to produce hot water, but never gave us any trouble.

We repeat again: in our accomodation the breakfast is served ONLY if you have no an access to the kitchenette. The suite where you stayed in has it, so we wonder which kind of breakfast you were waiting for. This is always been our way, we always explained how it works. Probably with you has been a misunderstanding.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Scandinavia, they are nice people we work with sometimes.

The last thing we'd like wonder about your opinion is why you would write such a bad review almost a year later your stay.

Anyway, thank you for giving us the chance to explain how Ca' Zora works.

Regards,

Salvatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Fantastic location. Great apartment. Cozy. Nice beds and bathrooms. Kitchen nook was more than ample for simple meals. Filippo was amazingly helpful and friendly. We will be back! Oh, we shared the place with our friends - another couple - and there was plenty of space for everyone. Our flight left Marco Polo airport really early...Filippo arranged for an early-morning boat taxi with Tony...everything worked like clockwork. Grazie mille, ragazzi!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at Ca' Zora for 2 nights and had a fantastic stay. The location is excellent, very close to the Rialto and San Marco square. The owners took us through all of the local sights and recommended some local restaurants which were both excellent and cheap (€0.80 for a glass of red wine!). Breakfast was fairly basic but did the job, and water pressure was quite low (read a trickle) but these were minor issues overall, as the service and advice of the owners more than made up for any issues. I would recommend Ca' Zora to friends and family (have already done so), and to anybody else looking for well located, reasonably priced accommodation in Venice, 2 situations that are all to rare in a town renowned for its high prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparr0w81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 385 in Venice
2,100 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,348 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#135 of 385 in Venice
495 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Zora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Zora

Property: Ca' Zora
Address: Castello, Ramo Grimani 4860, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now picture this. You walk in. The photos you've seen on internet are fakes. Where you are in, it's actually a stinking dark wet hole. The bed is a bed-bugs house and the bathroom resembles a crackhouse. That's because you haven't booked my house! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing