We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of Venice - HIGHLY recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #78 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best part of Venice - HIGHLY recommended!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Love love LOVED this place!

I have been to Venice before and thought 'meh', but this time around it was INCREDIBLE and I'm sure that is because of how perfect the accommodation was!

Janeline (our lovely and gracious host who picked us up from the boat stop at 10.30pm in the freezing cold with no complaints) made us feel very welcome. I only wish I could bring her on the rest of our trip!

The BnB could not be any more central, and the decor was 100% authentic Venice - PERFECTION! I would happily stay here again and find this accommodation VERY reasonably prices, especially given the location and fit out.

The second night we upgraded to the bigger room with the view and I could not be happier we did, worth every euro! Monica was also great to deal with over email.

Thank you so much for having us and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Room Tip: I upgraded the room on the second night and it was a fantastic choice. In saying this, the first roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridgetrose90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    38
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
101
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location near St Marks Square and within walking distance to Rialto and Accademia. The vaporetto stand is easily accessible and you don't have to lug your luggage over bridge stairs. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. A common hall with a shared TV. The breakfast is served in the kitchen. Tasteful decor. No tv in the rooms. Each room has an attached bathroom. You may even get a chance to hear a gondola with a singer.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank THCheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The B&B is located not far from St. Marco square. Our room had an amazing view towards a small canal. The room was spacious and very clean, with good size of bathroom and shower (we find that bathroom size in Italy in general is quite small but we got quite a generous size at this B&B). Breakfast was prearranged in the room, so there was no hot breakfast. But overall we were happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Venice, easy walk to st marks basilica but out of the busy crowds. The place feels like your own, great lounge to sit in and big kitchen at your disposal if need be. Only 2 other rooms. Breakfast isn't great - pre packed pastries (but that is also because the B&B owner is not here to make it for you) and our bed was squeaky but still ok. If you want peace and quiet and somewhere that feels like its your own place in Venice, stay here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I'm giving this place a top rating, in part, to get travelers past all the unusual aspects of staying here. In most cases, I wouldn't necessarily be comfortable with having to call a stranger on a cell phone upon arrival, meet on the steps of a church and then be led to a place on foot (and oh, and bring cash upfront). But in this case, it all works out fine.

Gio and Gio is a 3br apartment in an excellent location that gives you a top-notch base camp for exploring the heart of this amazing city. It's hard to find anything in this area for the price, which also might put you off, but again, I would recommend you not to worry. The apartment is on the second floor and overlooks a narrow canal and canal-side restaurant and---surprise to us---was filled with singers and musicians performing aboard gondolas as they floated by. We were able to lean out our window, listen and join in the restaurant crowd's applause.

If you rent or two of the rooms, you may find yourself sharing the quarters with another boarder. In our case, we had two rooms and a British gentlemen had the other. We didn't see other much, but had pleasant conversation in the evening when we were all home. The owners describe to you in detail the arrangement and lay-out carefully labeled breakfast breads and crackers. Each room gets a shelf in the fridge with juice and milk. Cereal is also available. You're asked to vacate between noon and 2pm as this is when they replenish the food and make the beds, but that's hardly a problem, given that... well.. you're in Venice and noon-2pm is gelati-eating time in my book! There are separate locks on all the br's, by the way, so no worries there.

Sleep quality, like lots of places in Venice, is subject to the sounds of people milling past through the narrow passageway outside the hotel. In the rear bedroom, there was an alley of sorts and we could occasionally hear locals in other apartments having conversations in Italian. But I have to say, we all slept pretty well here. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms clean and nice, and the situation pretty agreeable.

The B&B is about a 5-minute walk from St Mark Square. The location could hardly be better.

The owners suggest various ways to get here from the airport or train station. We took the advice of the bus form the airport and then the water bus. This was probably not a good idea. The bus took 30 minutes and the water bus another 45, because Gio and Gio is located a long way up the Grand Canal. After the fact, we learned that there's a water taxi direct form the airport which is pricey, but honestly, worth it. It would greatly cut the travel time.

This was an unconventional place to stay, given the cash only policy and the cell phones and meeting the owners on the steps of a nearby church. But it all works and we found the location wonderful, the apartment clean and the owners very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I researched our trip to Italy very thoroughly. I must've checked every style of accommodation available so you can stop researching because I'm sure I've found the best that Venice has to offer. Firstly Gio & Gio is great value for money. Our family of five occupied two of the three bedrooms available. Gianni met us at the vaporetto stop and walked us to the apartment which was lovely and cool on a very hot day. Gianni was very friendly and helpful and ran through everything we needed to know. The location of the apartment is fantastic, only a few minutes to St Marks Square and in the other direction to the vaporetto stop and many piazzas. We had the suite that overlooked the canal, I loved being able to look out and watch the gondolas go by and just watch all the comings and goings. We had dinner at Da Rafaella across the canal, the food was delicious but a little pricey with all the service fees added on but it was nice to sit there after our gondola ride (€80 before 7pm, €100 after for up to six people) and be just a bridge away from our apartment. The apartment is in the midst of everything and it was nice to escape inside to such a nice space, it was very, very, clean and well set up, lots of choices for breakfast and a good coffee machine. The bathroom was very modern. Other reviewers have mentioned the noise of the garbage boat, we could hear it and found it interesting to check it out but it didn't bother us at all. Also I recommend getting a pass for the vaporetto. We had a 72 hour pass which cost €35, we definitely got our monies worth. I highly recommend Gio & Gio and feel very lucky that we were able to stay there and hope to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeGios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Perfect location for a couple of days in Venice. Clean and comfortable. we stayed in room # 3 with our 2 grown kids and it was perfect, with use of kitchen and living room. Great Coffeemaker at guests disposal

Room Tip: rooms to the rear might be quieter in the am
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Novecento Boutique Hotel
#29 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#75 of 385 in Venice
698 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#45 of 385 in Venice
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo del Giglio
Palazzo del Giglio
#78 of 385 in Venice
311 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#180 of 385 in Venice
442 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#38 of 385 in Venice
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2439 | Calle de le Ostreghe, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our b & b is located in the heart of Venice, close to Piazza San Marco and Fenice Theater, in a ancient building on the first floor with private entrance who overlooks on canal de le Ostreghe, nearby of Grand Canal, where it's possible to see many gondolas and gondoliers singing, It has three comfortable bedrooms all with ensuite bathroom, tastefully decorated. The Junior suite has the seating area, windows and small balcony who overlooks on the canal De Le Ostreghe. The guests share a cozy and large lounge where you can spend moments of relaxation and the kitchen for the continental breakfast prepared with croissant, jam, biscuits, cereals, coffee, tea, milk, juice and yogurt, also available to guests throughout the day. In the Junior Suite that overlooks on the canal, breakfast is prepared on the table inside the room. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and heating, bed linen and towels. In the bathroom the hair dryer is available. Breakfast and daily maid service included. Free wi-fi No smoking b&b ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gio & Gio Hotel Venice
Gio & Gio b&b
Gio And Gio Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing