We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but could have been better”

Ristorante Al Redentor
Ranked #447 of 1,425 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Giudecca
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice, but could have been better”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were the first guests on a cold October evening. Warmly welcomed, nice wine (house white). My wife had mixed seafood, and I had grilled scampi.
Probably from frozen ingredients, and a little uninspiring, but perfectly edible.
The restaurant filled rapidly after we arrived, with a mix of Venetians and tourists.

We would go back and try it again.
BEWARE: the location on the Tripadvisor map is completely wrong: this restaurant is on the island of Giudecca, almost next door to the Redentore church. Not in the middle of Venice as shown!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    73
    28
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
970 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Really good informal meal”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

2 Euro pp cover charge (coperto). House wine was reasonable, and food was good. I had spaghetti vongole and the clams were small and sweet just like I like them. My husband had a 3 meat pizza which was delicious with a wonderful thin crust and good quality ingredients. The restaurant is on Giudecca about a 15 - 20 minute walk from the Hilton Molino Stucky Hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Refused service for not ordering enough”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our accommodations were just up the street from Ristorante Al Redentor in Giudecca. Our host recommended this place for good food so we decided to give it a try since it was a rainy Sunday evening. We had a big lunch and all we wanted was a pizza so we sat down and tried to order. The waiter offered us a salad, which we kindly declined. Then he insisted we order something else but we declined once more. Then he threw up his hands as to say he wouldn't take our order. At first we were confused but once we understood the situation we left. Not only were we early for the dinner rush but there were still five empty tables in the restaurant. He didn't even give us a chance to order beer or wine. For all he knew, we could of ordered dessert. Simply put...this experience was terrible customer service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mad-Travel-Bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and tasty food”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived in Venice on a Saturday night, checked into our hotel and wandered out looking for a restaurant to have our evening meal. The first restaurant was fully booked and they expressed concern that we hadn't reserved a table. They told us to return in 50 mins and they may be able to fit us in. We did so but the place was still heaving. On Giudecca they appear to only seat people outside and the inside tables are left empty. So, we went away and came across this restaurant, we entered the courtyard which has wonderful views across to the Doge Palace and St Marks but again were told we should have reserved. I thought we would have to cross to the main island but the owner took pity on us and squeezed us in. We had a wonderful meal and shared a mixed seafood appetizer, a pizza each and a beer and a litre of house red came to 55 euros including cover charge (very normal in Venice....coperto).

On the Monday we booked a table to eat there again in the evening and we received a warm welcome. This time the bill was 66 euros but included desserts, coffees and liquers (only half litre of wine this time but two aperitifs).

We watched a lightening storm over the mountains and the night was very still on Giudecca until all of a sudden the wind whipped up out of nowhere and table cloths etc were blowing away. The staff quickly ushered everyone inside .... now I know why inside tables are left empty.... the weather change is instant.

Once again we had a lovely meal, the "light" show was a bonus and I would recommend this place but remember to book!!! Oh and it doesn't open late, no further covers accepted after 10pm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank didajolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“What a setting...”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We ate here on Saturday nite, 13 July and were lucky to get a table in the square in front of the restaurant as the place was chock a block full and we watched people being turned away time and again. We started with the most delish thin crust pizzas, made with NO cheese, but a tomato base and anchovies, followed by a really good salad and salmon linguine that was generously smothered in cooked salmon and was excellent. With some quite palatable house wine, the meal for two came to a very reasonable 40 Euros including the tip and I had no problem paying with a credit card.
The food was well prepared, good clean flavours and value for money, and the service could not have been better.
But the biggest treat is sitting facing the waterline of Venice as the light begins fading and the magic of the nite takes over. If you are staying on the island of Guidecca, a wonderful unassuming spot for a lovely meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Al Redentor also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Al Redentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing