We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitable, inexpensive, tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Al Redentor

Ristorante Al Redentor
Ranked #436 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Giudecca
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hospitable, inexpensive, tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

For anyone staying on the Guidecca, especially those on a budget, Al Redentor is a great resource. The waitstaff does not speak English but manages fine anyway, and they are very warm and hospitable. The menu is remarkably full. We have tasted various pizzas, some seafood, and the spaghetti, all of it excellent. And the prices are very reasonable. Recently I brought a group of 11 to eat there, and they provided well for all of us. My wife and I have also enjoyed several more intimate meals here. This is mainly frequented by locals and has a nice vibe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatherandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    64
    24
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple Italian dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were staying at the Hilton stucky hotel in Venice and the first evening we were there we decided to walk from our hotel to find somewhere to eat for the evening.

Across the waterfront there are several bars and restaurants and we decided to try this particular one.

From the moment we approached the menu board outside we expected to be jumped on and asked to come inside. To my surprise we were not. We then approached the door and were warmly greeted and seated.

The staff are very nice and welcoming. They do not speak much English however neither I or my wife speak any Italian. Language barriers aside we understood each other and ordered our meals. I had a Parma ham pizza and my wife had a calzone with ham tomato and mushroom.

The food was then prepared where we could see them.

The food was exquisite and very tasty.

Drinks were served promptly and without any up selling.

Overall great value for money. Excellent service and would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Unlockgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice food , no pretentions, simple dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Just a short walk from the Hilton, very relaxed dining. Delicious pasta, perfect sized portions and not swamped with sauce which is the tendency back home in England. I had the Raghu with Spaghetti and my wife had the tagliatelle with Salmon. Looking around the pizzas looked excellent as did the fritto misto. Try the Venetian Pilsner

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice, but could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were the first guests on a cold October evening. Warmly welcomed, nice wine (house white). My wife had mixed seafood, and I had grilled scampi.
Probably from frozen ingredients, and a little uninspiring, but perfectly edible.
The restaurant filled rapidly after we arrived, with a mix of Venetians and tourists.

We would go back and try it again.
BEWARE: the location on the Tripadvisor map is completely wrong: this restaurant is on the island of Giudecca, almost next door to the Redentore church. Not in the middle of Venice as shown!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
935 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Really good informal meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

2 Euro pp cover charge (coperto). House wine was reasonable, and food was good. I had spaghetti vongole and the clams were small and sweet just like I like them. My husband had a 3 meat pizza which was delicious with a wonderful thin crust and good quality ingredients. The restaurant is on Giudecca about a 15 - 20 minute walk from the Hilton Molino Stucky Hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Al Redentor also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Al Redentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing