We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pastries and savories”
Review of Marchini Time

Marchini Time
Ranked #26 of 85 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: San Marco
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic pastries and savories”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Abundant and distinctive pastries and savory snacks, fantastic coffee from Hausbrandt of Trieste. For Americans used to breakfast, Italy can be confusing: go here and try a selection!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    78
    13
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The perfect quick fix”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

To be forever remembered as the place where my daughter had her first cappuccino, this is a bustling, tiny, charming pastry shop and coffee bar in a small campo near St. Marks.

Colorfully vibrant, fresh pastries beckon through picture windows. At any time, you can spot policemen, local bankers, tourists and families enjoying a perfectly prepared, quick cup of coffee and a snack.

Convenient to our hotel, we visited daily. Back home now in The States, I miss it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The Zaleti are to die for”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We only tried the zaleti al cioccolato, the pistacchio cookie, and the Pane dei dogi. The Pane and Pistacchio were very, very good, but the zaleti (with tiny chocolate chips) were outstanding. I had heard of zaleti and was eager to try them. They are a traditional Venetian cookie -- not-too-sweet, fairly hard, and made with cornmeal. Sounds strange, but it was terrific. We had at least one (if not two) every day. We tried zaleti from another bakery for comparison; ok, but nothing special. But from Marchini the zaleti are the best! I'd love to try more of their pastries. The displays of pastries were lovely. But, as you can tell, I just couldn't stop getting the zaleti. One zaleto would fortify me until dinner.
Marchini is always busy, and filled with lots of locals. The staff always seemed to know who to wait on in which order. My turn always came around in good time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hrsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great pit stop”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Lovely place to stop for a quick coffee and patisserie. There is a large variety of cakes, chocolates and biscuits. We had the meringue choux and pastichio slice which were delicious. Only down side is there is nowhere to sit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great recommendation”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Recommended to try this bakery by our accommodation owner. We had breakfast here each of the 3 days of our stay. Lovely, lovely, lovely. Coffee great, hot chocolate fantastic, pastries and cakes superb. Staff really friendly - one of the waitresses remembered us the second day and even remembered what we had ordered the previous day! Good for early morning, lunch snacks, evening spritzers and nibbles. They work hard here and do an excellent job. Full of locals too so great atmosphere. Completely recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brick1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marchini Time also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Marchini Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing