We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat here”
Review of Raging Pub

Raging Pub
Ranked #988 of 1,435 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: This bar was formerly Bar Salus da Franco.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Do not eat here”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This place might be OK for a quick drink, but the food is little more than reheated frozen meals prepared in a microwave in the back. I would avoid eating here at all costs, especially given the many other options nearby.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A welcome seat in the shade”
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

The day we walked around Venice it was around 40C so finding spots of shade was a task as they were all full! We saw the tables under the awning and I just insisted on sitting down and ordering a LARGE Peroni. The staff were all young Japanese girls. The beer was fine and best of all cold;there was a group of Italian studenty types on the next table having an animated conversation which made it feel very local ( as in not so touristy). we were not rushed to finish and there is a loo so you can knock
€2 per person off the bill saved from the public loos. Interesting bit of graffiti / street art on the wall.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ydnewyrrap
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beware”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Reading the earlier reviews, it looks like this bar/restaurant has changed hands.

Four of us stopped for a drink, two draught beers & 1/2 litre of white wine. My mate who knows his beers took the beers back because they were not up to scratch and changed them to Peronis, with the barman still telling him that the beer was OK. The Peroni was OK.

Unfortunately the white wine was undrinkable....we tried adding ice because it wasn't chilled enough, but to no avail and most of it was left.

When presented with the bill, it included the first two beers that had been sent back.

Needless to say we didn't pay for them, but it caused a very unpleasant situation, in an otherwise fantastic trip to Venice.

Didn't eat there.....maybe that's OK ????!!!!...but places do need half-decent house wine.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayer41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for people watching”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We visited this pub on several occasions during our stay in Venice. It was nice to get a drink and sit outside and people-watch. The drinks are varied and the prices are fairly reasonable.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank zactyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A friendly place to get a late drink”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Edward the Bar manager is a nice Albanian guy who speaks excellent english. Beer of good quality with the odd free nibble thrown in.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raging Pub also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Raging Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing