We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Finest in Venice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marco Polo

Marco Polo
Ranked #144 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Castello
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The Finest in Venice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

In 2005 I dined here two nights of the eight I was in Venice..this time I couldn't wait to get back...the best location, walked right to it..the Squid Ink Pasta is Fantastico...don't let the BLACK Color scare you from this dish...it is DIVINE..service and friendliness are exquisite. My friend had Lasagna which was also terrific...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    252
    69
    23
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Opposite our hotel and convenient for a quick meal before we left for the airport. Turned out to be delicious food, we enjoyed it very much

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RenaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location, nice option for venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

The menu has no suprises, but the food is honest and good. I ate spaghetti with clams and my boyfriend had lasagna. Se couldnt have the second piato, but the portion are not so big. It seems that in venice everything is expensive, but this restaurant is a good option.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average food, abysmal service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Where to begin? For Venice, the food was average, but about what you would expect for the cost. The ambiance was fine, and was part of the reason we were attracted to the restaurant in the first place, although the more salient reason being that it was close to our hotel. However, from the get-go, the service was simply awful. Our waiter did not smile, did not talk, and treated us with the cold indifference. This was in stark contrast to the many other establishments we had visited where the staff were friendly and sweet, regardless of their ability to speak English. To put it bluntly, the man was a jerk from start to finish. Attempts to hail him were acknowledged with a brief bat of the eye and then deliberately ignored. The only time he paid us any mind was when we called the floor manager to voice our displeasure and request the bill. The floor manager attempted to excuse the poor service ("we are busy and short-handed") which only increased our ire and very urgent need to leave. First time in my life I have had to call a manager to complain about service. In short: Don't go, there are many better options in the immediate vicinity of Rialto Bridge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
293 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“nice ambiente isn't everything”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The waiters and waitresses are alert but way too quick! Before you can even swallow the last bite of your pizza (which tastes sour and simply not good) they grab your plate and run away with it, trying to get the table clean and ready for the next customers before you can even move.
Fast food feeling!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globusat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco Polo also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing