We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service - Average Food”
Review of Marco Polo

Marco Polo
Ranked #143 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Castello
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Service - Average Food”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Don't waste your time or money - unless you have lots of both to waste. It will take forever to get served and the food is average at best. I suspect a tourist trap, since the menu is printed in 5 different languages. Go local - not here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    260
    71
    23
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem !”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service, great atmosphere and great value. I highly recommend this little beauty !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but staff not too friendly”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the food here but felt other places we had visited were as good if not better.

The service was reasonably quick and the restaurant had a reasonable number of people in it but the staff weren't overly friendly. That said they weren't impolite just not very welcoming as we experienced in other restaurants in town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sterlingp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta/Venice
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sorry for the low grade.”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This place is on the main drag a minute from our flat -- after 12 years we made our first visit last nite. And won't be back. Ridiculously overpriced and harsh wines ( we sent the first back and the second was not any better), and gummy pizzas. Voluble and somewhat condescending wait-staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank arjayeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

An accidental find but a very pleasant experience. Very nice meal for lunch and excellent service from staff, met the owner as well, he came to ask if the food was to our liking.
Great décor and atmosphere, not as cramped as some other eating places in Venice. The cost of meals and drinks was quite reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodgerskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco Polo also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing