We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Chiesa di San Moise
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.23*
and up
Skip-the-Line 30-Minute Grand Canal Gondola Ride in Venice
Ranked #64 of 740 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stumbled upon this church by accident but glad I did. The artwork inside is quite beautiful and ornate. Well worth a trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    94
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
1,358 reviews
1,160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
“Beautiful facade”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Situated in Campo San Moise,not far from Piazza San Marco,this church has one of the most beautiful facade.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank zuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Add this to you tour route”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

As with a few interesting places in Venice, we tripped over this one on the way to somewhere else (Piazza San Marco).

Well worth 15-30 minutes of your time. As always with churches, you'll need to be covered up.

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“It’s baroque and roll”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Free entrance to see what could be described as an ugly church – or a superb example of baroque at work. Specifically worth seeing is the ten commandments centre piece behind the altar. Love it or hate it, that brown rocky stone mount is unusual in Venice, so pop your head round for a quick look!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brother_Cadfael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,579 reviews
872 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,694 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We generally stay at a nearby hotel when we are in Venice so we pass this church often and stop in from time to time. You will pass it if you walk the main route between St. Mark's and the Accademia Bridge. Fine carvings adorn the exterior and often there are artists sketching outside and selling their work. Not worth a detour to find it, in my opinion, but believe me, if you are in Venice for more than a day or two you WILL pass by.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LWL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiesa di San Moise also viewed

 

Been to Chiesa di San Moise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing