We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!”

Squero di San Trovaso
Ranked #97 of 707 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
388 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 775 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The art of making Gondolas! Wow! This was such a nice surprise while getting lost in Venice. Incredible craftmanshift!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden but worth finding”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I'm glad I didn't miss this. It's great to be a tourist and ride the gondolas. But this is where they are cared for. Amazing work goes on here. Glad I had the chance to drop in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“If only I could have gone inside!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I'd stumbled across this place almost by accident looking for places nearby my B&B on the tripadvisor app.

The squero is where gondolas are repaired and new ones are made. I really had the feeling of being in Venice 200 years ago as I watched the experts at work here. I could easily have spent hours watching these craftsmen carry out centuries old techniques on their boats.

Even if you just walk by to take a phot, then it's worth a small detour

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“different atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

It was a great thing to be able to see the gondola garage. You can see the long tradition and feel the history here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeqununSeyahatnamesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenly worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“a taste of old venice”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Ideal way to spend a couple of hours watching people working you stand on the opposite of the canal as see gondolas being repaired and if your lucky a new one being made

Helpful?
1 Thank tomba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squero di San Trovaso also viewed

 

Been to Squero di San Trovaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing