We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see through Gondola”
Review of Canal Grande

Canal Grande
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.14*
and up
Glorious Grand Canal Tour
More Info
US$57.01*
and up
Venice Grand Canal Small Group 1-Hour Boat Tour
More Info
US$103.33*
and up
Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner
Ranked #1 of 707 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Venice's main water thoroughfare, lined with great Renaissance palaces, is a colorful and busy spectacle of gondolas and vaporetti.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Must see through Gondola”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Grand Canal is amazing and has again so much history just like the whole city and I think its beautiful. I love the old buildings and I was fascinated how the water doesn't destroy them. I heard from others that there is a smell in the Canal this was not the case for us not sure if its because of time of year we went. You have to do a Gondola ride, but my advice is don;'t purchase it in advance we did and were disappointed with the arrangement, my son and I didn't sit together which is ridiculous. Take the whole day to explore the Canal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mostic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23,120
    7,040
    1,049
    138
    77
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“don't believe the hype”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

venice is overrated and dirty! nice food and coffee on offer tho'! stayed at a lovely guest house owned and ruin by a lovely couple called Casa Rosso Veneziano,very helpful and friendly,it felt like we were staying with family or fiends with a lovely complimentary breakfast,nicely done interiors and close to amenities,literally walking distance to bus stop that takes you right in to venice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank samaarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing sight”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Coming out of the train station and jumping on a vaparetto on the Grand Canal was a grand way to be introduced to a beautiful city.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank carrmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing floating city in the world..”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Remarkable. .. I was visit this city and took a canal tour. We will see a masterpiece of Venice a floating city.... we will see how the Venice citizens doing their activity with surrounding of water starting from their house door... I was looking at one family buying a big sofa to put into their living room, the sofa is delivered by a kind of small ship from the shop to the floating houses. .. amazing. ....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Made-Edy-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Grand" doesn't do this canal justice”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Absolutely amazing - it's a huge part of what makes Venice stunning and unique. Photogenic from every angle. You will marvel at the awesome architecture and beauty around you. Highly recommend seeing it by Vaporetto - we purchased a 2 day pass for unlimited rides. Several times, we were able to get seats front and back seats for the perfect views.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank supadupastef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canal Grande also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing