We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe inspiring like the Vatican”

Basilica di San Marco
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.42*
and up
Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica Guided Tour
Ranked #3 of 655 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Blending the architectural styles of East and West, Venice's magnificent basilica was consecrated in 832 AD as an ecclesiastical building to house the remains of St. Mark.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring like the Vatican”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I've seen numerous cathedrals and churches in Barcelona, Milan, Rome, Florence, Pisa, Naples, and Palma De Mallorca. Along with the cathedrals in Palma and Rome, St. Mark's is one of the best. The artwork in the cathedral is stunning and the architecture magnificent. If you go to Venice, you must see it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JJCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20,394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,572
    4,960
    1,473
    278
    111
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing inside”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stunning 'church' with some amazing architecture and artwork. Shame you have to pay to see some of it, but we loved looking anyway

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kels146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
180 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Take a tour late in the day - no crowds! But whatever you do, don't miss this wonder!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I took a guided tour of the Basilica around 4:30 p.m. There was almost no one else in the cathedral. It was amazing. We didn't stand in line at all. I love the Byzantine nature of the church. Don't miss the Treasury (extra fee) - great loot from various crusades. If you can, bring binoculars. You will be able to better appreciate the stunning mosaics on the domes inside. I wish that the tour had lasted longer, but there was aqua alta and this structure floods easily so we were shooed out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank pawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must see in Venice”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

St Mark's is massive and truly breathtaking. We didn't pay to go inside on this visit, but we could still appreciate the architecture and the exquisite facade that looks out onto the square.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Busy but worth it”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

fortunately we had a 'fast track' ticket so avoided the queues, would highly recommend an advance purchase.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkIngmanthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica di San Marco also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Basilica di San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing