We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torre dell'Orologio

Torre dell'Orologio
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.86*
and up
Venice Audioguide Tour with Skip the Line Doge's Palace Ticket
Ranked #21 of 586 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 14th-century clock stands on the north side of St. Mark's Square,and is known by its large clock face displaying the hours of the day, phases of the moon and movement of the sun through the signs of the Zodiac.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked tour online per Rick Steves' tour book. Definitely the way to go to avoid the line. Tour was not that exciting, but the view of St. Mark's from the top of the clock tower was awesome. Some of the best pictures we took in Venice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    541
    82
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
136 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Book a tour and enjoy the backstage of one of the nicest European clocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have booked the online tour and loved every minute of it.
Tip: to pick the tickets you'll need to go at the Correr Museum (at the other side of the square, facing the Basilica) and then your meeting point will be said.
Pictures are allowed, without flash tho.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SamanthaVlassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fascinating to see inside!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked a tour online (easy to find on google) in English. We picked up the tickets at the Musee Correr, in the corner of San Marco, and was met at the door of the Clock Tower. There is a 6 story walk up, mostly on a wrought iron spiral staircase. On that level, you are where the large numbers rotate the time. The tour guide was excellent in explaining and demonstrating how the clock works. On that level, you can walk outside left and right on a terrace overlooking San Marco. For those not afraid of heights, two more levels up on the staircase brings you outside right at the feet of the giants! Extraordinary view over the entire city, we could even see the cruise ship in port. Our photos are fantastic. This was well worth it and I'd highly recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank NOLATravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really cool, great guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

A highlight of our trip to Venice was visiting the clock tower. In order to visit the interior of a clock tower, one has to book a tour. Tickets can be purchased at the Correr museum. It was amazing to see the inner workings of the clock. Our fabulous guide was so knowledgable and intelligent. She also shared some of her personal stories, which made the experience that much better. We have two kids (age 12 and 14), and both of them loved the tour and were very engaged. I highly recommend this tour to any visitors who are looking something slightly off the beaten track, even amidst the throngs of St. Marco square!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Delightful Tour - Narrow Spiral Staircase”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I mixed up the clock tower (Torre dell'Orologio) and the bell tower (Campanille). So I first want to warn others not to do the same. The bell tower has an elevator, the clock tower has increasingly narrow sets of spiral staircases. You make advance reservations for the clock tower but must wait in lines for the bell tower. The bell tower is taller but both have great views. The clock tower would be quite difficult for any one with mobility issues.

Our clock tower tour group was small, 10 people. The guide was delightful with wonderful personal stories of having visited the clock as a child. And, climbing the spiral staircases was made easier because the tour paused on each level as the guide shared the tower's story.

We reserved and paid for the 45 minute clock tower tour, along with the Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries tour, before traveling and received a discount on both of them by purchasing together.

It's important to note that you can only tour the clock tower with one of their tours (different times by language on different days) and the tour begins at the Correr Museum, not at the clock tower. (Entrance to the Correr is at the opposite side of the Square from the church, about in the middle of that end as you walk out of the square, it's on your right.)

The first thing you do on the tour is walk back down St. Mark's Square to the clock tower. Tour ends at the tower. You receive free admission to the Correr with your tour ticket. For most expedient use of time, tour the Correr just before the clock tower. Use the bathroom at the Correr.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank mayasfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torre dell'Orologio also viewed

 

Been to Torre dell'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing