We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and romance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Lavena

Caffe Lavena
Ranked #35 of 85 Dessert in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service and romance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Yes of course it's expensive - it's St mark's square. We paid 52 Euros for a bottle of wine we could have had for £5 at home but if you go to one of the cafes here you go for the experience. We were served attentively and unobtrusively and we were entertained by a great band. We sat under the stars in the most romantic city in the world and watched the world go by. If you want a cheap cup of coffee stay at home. If you want to feel pampered then go to caffe lavena.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindabha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    229
    86
    60
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
swanage united kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Drinks at the bar and gelati in the square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely ice cream, excellent drinks at the bar and a charming host - what more could you ask for in this historic setting? Drink up the atmosphere and enjoy exchanging pleasantries with the sophisticated local clientele and staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reluctanttraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“above average gelato; good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had a cappuccino for 2 euros, gelato for 2.5 euros (minimum of 2 scoops), and an apple pastry for 4 euros. There are three different prices and there is quite a difference between them: 1) if you sit down and be served 2) if you take it out 3) if you stand up and eat.in the cafe.

Gelato was better than average. From experience, we order the fruit flavors. Cappuccino was good.

If you purchase something, you can use the toilet upstairs.

Laverne's is the first gelato stand to the left when one is facing the clock tower in St. Marco plazza..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice coffee, bad manners.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went there for a cold coffee and not knowing what on the coffee menu would correspond to that I asked the cashier. She barely spoke English (what I think is not an acceptable thing in such a touristic place) and was really not helpful. Luckily there was another touristy there to help me otherwise I'd have to get my coffee elsewhere! The coffee was ok, and really cold, but I think they could improve on their customer service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellen Manoela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience and live music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I love the gelatos that they served and were serenaded with nice beautiful songs. The musicians engaged with the audience very well and I was glad I chose to sit here with my friends

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank theV0ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Lavena also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Caffe Lavena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing