We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #65 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel was our second destination of a week in Italy celebrating our thirtieth wedding anniversary and, quite simply, it was superb. Our suite was sumptuous, the surroundings beautiful, restaurant Danieli magnificent and the hotel staff were delightful.

From entering to leaving the hotel oozed pure class and we would most gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear ChrisMartyn,
Thank you for choosing The Hotel Danieli for your visit to Venice, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Danieli in the near future.
With best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 3,192 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel is beautiful. It's located right on the Grand Canal. The rooms are fantastic. The service is top notch. Venice is without a doubt the MOST romantic city in the entire world. Danieli is the best hotel in Venice. I have stayed in others and this is the best. They make movies here for a reason. If you are in love or want to be, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear paul1009,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your observations from your last visit with us
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future,
with best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It's a superb location for breakfast, but for dinner it's poor quality and grossly over-priced. The cover charge at 16 euros a head is scandalous given that you are already a guest of the hotel. Nobody's bread and grissini are worth that and the service is average at best. When they ask you if everything is alright, the waiters do not really listen to the answer! I ate fish and chips Danieli style which was like Marriott pool bar food, yet more greasy, 49 euros for a mercilessly small portion. If this is the best you can do Starwood, hand over this property to someone who will do it justice. Shameful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Mark H,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the challenges you had with your F&B experience. We are very concerned about the service breakdowns and have taken the steps necessary to ensure it does not happen again. We have also shared your comments with our team so that they can see how their actions impact our guests. Please contact us directly so that we can start on restoring your faith in our hotel.
Best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is not only an incredibly well located hotel, it is beautiful as well. Although it does not have as large a loby as some, it is well appointed and gracious. We were received with great warmth and smiles. The staff could not have been more welcoming.

Be sure to have breakfast in their charming breakfast room overlooking the Grand Canal - not only was the food and service excellent, the view was stunning!

Room Tip: Spacious rooms with large balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank believerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear believerdeb,
Thank you for your taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Hotel Danieli.
It gives us great pleasure to know that you chose to stay with us and that you had such a nice stay. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
The Hotel Mangement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

...the Hotel Danieli was a distinguished flagship property of the esteemed CIGA (Compagnia Italiana Grandi Alberghi) Hotel group. It was a living legend, one of the world's most famous, with 12th century roots. The chandeliers in the lobby were polished with pride. Celebrities flocked. The gentlemen at the front desk grinned with pride as they handed over a heavy key hung from a tassled brass knob. It was a five-star hotel performing as a six-star hotel. That was a few short years ago. Danieli, my pink palace, where have you gone?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
1  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Lauriefarr1,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site for us for which we are very grateful.
Needless to say, we are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay. From your comments it is evident that we could have done a better job. We are deeply sorry that we were not completely able to meet your expectations.Your comments are invaluable in helping us create the ideal customer service experience for the future and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you that your experience has been an exception to a rule of dedicated and bespoke service. Best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband booked the danieli as a surprise for my 40th birthday. It was a amazing, the staff were extremely helpful and polite they couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was brilliant lots of choices and you could even have a lovely glass of prosecco. If you can, book a lagoon view too as this was truly breath taking!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Suzanne A,
We appreciate you taking a moment to let us know about your recent experience at our property. It is great hearing about your stay and knowing we helped to make it special. We do hope that we can serve you again in the future.
Best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is the most lovely hotel in a fantastic location. The public rooms are beautiful, and our bedroom in the old palazzo facing the lagoon was exceptional. The staff were friendly and helpful. The views from the breakfast room were exceptional, as was the quality of the food. If only we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Our room was in the old palazzo - it had great character and furnishings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear MalcCirencester,
I have passed your kind words to all the team who are indeed very grateful and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Venice.
Best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,600 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#62 of 385 in Venice
1,664 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £230 - £668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing