We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, really nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #57 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, really nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights before going on a cruise. While it was a little confusing / difficult to get here from the VCE airport, the overall location can't be beat for Venice. Close to St. Mark's square, and a number of water bus stops right in front of you make it simple to get wherever you want to go, let alone just walking around and exploring Venice. The hotel is one of the most interesting (in a good way) properties I've sen. Only down side was our room was "upgraded" to a Jr Suite, but we went from a lagoon view to a room overlooking the building next door and an alleyway. One thing to keep in mind is the light controls are a little difficult to use in the room to turn lights on / off, and there is a main power switch at the door that actually controls the power for the entire suite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Colin M,
We appreciate you for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to have again the pleasure of your visit in the very near future.
Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,713
    580
    266
    143
    107
See reviews for
496
1,612
79
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Perfect location. Beautiful architecture and interior decorating. Very helpful and courteous staff.
Would return without question however very expensive.

Morning breakfast/brunch on the rooftop terrace restaurant is completely amazing with your view of the bustling Venice waterways.

Large rooms but a bit dated. Stayed one level up from standard. Believe it was deluxe.

Very expensive!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmpjmp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear jmpjmp13,
Thank you for your review, the team and I were delighted that you enjoyed the stay and found the service that you received from the team to be good.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon
Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

What can I say ! A magic place with a magic view in a magic city ! A feeling of confort in this building in which every corner is deliciously haunted by the history of Venise. One feels great walking around the floors, discovering pieces and bits of art, decoration, furniture. So go on, don't hesitate ! You will love it !

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms. They are gorgeous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igg1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear igg1806,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.
We are most appreciative of your comments and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. with best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Before our recent tour of Italy i read some reviews and i felt not so sure about this hotel,any way we booked for 3 nights,on arrival we had the pleasure of a guided tour of the hotel and to see the fantastic Doge suite,excellent!!!we stayed in the main building,a beautiful room in every sense absolutely superb!!excellent service in every department from the reception to the bar etc.we spent some lovely late evenings relaxing at the bar for a drink while listening the live music by a nice gentleman from Florence (very good).A very special place,

Room Tip: main building rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear alex m,
Thank you for your taking the time to post a review of your experience at The Hote Danieli.
It gives me great pleasure to know that you had such a wonderful stay. We take great pride in our service here at the Hotel Danieli and I am thrilled that you found the staff to be so welcoming and helpful. I am glad that you appreciated the traditional feel of the hotel and that your stay exceeded your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Danieli in every near future.
Best regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is one of those hotels where you must throw budgetary caution to the winds. If you plan on staying at the Hotel Danieli, know that it will likely stretch your pocket book and leave you feeling slightly uncomfortable. But it's well worth the initial discomfort, considering the exquisite views, central location, and top notch staff. This hotel will take you back to medieval Venice with its graceful columns, wooden floors and remnants of antiquity found in the tapestries, art and antiques that adorn the palazzo. Go ahead, splurge! Have a drink at the bar (where The Tourist was filmed). Take in the sensational view from the deck just off of the restaurant. It's a once in a lifetime opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DabblesInFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear DabblesInFun,
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guest! Your comments have been received with great appreciation and we are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BsAs
Level Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

In October I had the opportunity to go to the famous Danieli on a family trip, looking at the hotel photos it looked like the dream hotel, however on arrival things changed. From the moment we got to the hotel, late at night after taking the water taxi, we had to make our own way into the hotel with our luggagge while the hotel person at the door didnt even attempt to help us.
We had booked a 'de luxe suit' for three and we found that the third bed looked more like a camping bed than a bed suited for this 5 star hotel. The yellow foam ( which acted as a mattress ) did not even have a mattress cover. The next day when we asked for this bed to be changed, the first reaction was disbelief as if we were making this up, we had to talk to three persons till the manager came and when we showed her the photos of this 'candid camping bed' then she changed us to another room. The attitude though was still as if they were doing us a favour after what one pays for this hotel, such a shame that service is mot part of the living mission of this hotel which does not live up to its reputation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Patricia V,
Thank you for your review following your stay. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls in service during your stay with us. Please be advised that I have addressed your feedback with the relevant departmental managers especially with the Housekeeper Manager to ensure that our service is delivered in a professional manner. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to the Hotel Danieli.
Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I had a mix feeling before I started my travel to this hotel as part of our 2 weeks traveling in Italy and Austria. As other mentioned, this is an expensive hotel picked by my wife and I am the one to pay for as we watched several movies taken in this hotel and she expected that we will have a romantic experience as the actors. The fact was not too far from our expectation as the hotel is really romantic especially during the New Year's eve where all people were having dinner at the roof top and watched beautiful fire works performed from a boat in the water front of the hotel. Service is excellent although the staff are quite busy with tourist came from all over the world. They made our expectation as long as you use your romantic imaginery point of view and it last a long time to remember as a nice piece of hotel in a romantic city.

Room Tip: a nice inward room is less expensive but more quiet and choose either the old building or the new ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 29hario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear 29hario,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#43 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#46 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#23 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing